Where do I start for PVR knowledge?
I have been using XBMC for about 2 months IN ADDITION TO my standard cable box (Time Warner SoCal).
I have learned an amazing amount about XBMC and am in love with it. I currently have windows 7 w/ Pre-Eden installed. I have no cable card installed and have no clue which one to even get. I do want HD. I just have absolutely no idea what is needed to run a pvr instead of my standard dvr from TW.
for windows, you'll need a card which has BDA drivers available and you'll have to install and configure one of the supported PVR backends. afaik, that's only mediaportal and fortherecord.
opdenkamp / dushmaniac

xbmc-pvr [Eden-PVR builds] [now included in mainline XBMC, so no more source link here :)]
personal website: [link]

Found a problem with PVR? Report it on Trac, under "PVR - core components". Please attach the full debug log.

If you like my work, please consider donating to me and/or Team XBMC.
Any recommendations for a card?
It depends on whether you decide for Linux or Windows. Here is link for hw device information for Linux. I think all of them work for Windows too.
http://linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hardwa...nformation

Do you have an extra PCI/PCIe slot or need to connect via USB? If I had had an extra slot, I would have decided for PCIe. With a little crafting I connected my USB card to the power supply of my HTPC.
I'm running Windows 7 and I have pci-e slots available
Here is a list of cards supported by MediaPortal:
http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIA...d_TV_Cards
I do apologize, my knowledge is non existent when it comes to pvr/ capture cards. Will I be able to use my htpc nearly exactly as I do my current cable box?
I have no idea how you're using your cable box Smile
opdenkamp / dushmaniac

xbmc-pvr [Eden-PVR builds] [now included in mainline XBMC, so no more source link here :)]
personal website: [link]

Found a problem with PVR? Report it on Trac, under "PVR - core components". Please attach the full debug log.