Anyone running RAM Disk?
Star 
A ram drive XBMC would be a pretty interesting project, which might be possible to set-up as an add-on script/program. If I'm not mistaken Dameon Tools can be set-up to survive a soft boot. The idea would be to set-up an (expandable/select-able) ram drive using a batch script, copy the contents needed from the XBMC folders, and do some sort of symbolic link.
Whats the story of this in Windows? I have a new Zacate system but browsing through the library with a fan art view/posters is kinda slow at times on my non-SSD drive. I have plenty of RAM to spare as it has 4GB. I'm very new to this so I have a few questions.

1- Would I need to do a new install onto the RAM Disk?
2- How do I point my userData folder to reside only on the RAM Disk
3- What software is recommended for creating/managing RAM disk in windows
4- What is needed to safely keep XBMC's library sync'd in the RAM Disk.

Sorry if I'm spamming the linux page.
svinyard Wrote:Whats the story of this in Windows? I have a new Zacate system but browsing through the library with a fan art view/posters is kinda slow at times on my non-SSD drive. I have plenty of RAM to spare as it has 4GB. I'm very new to this so I have a few questions.

1- Would I need to do a new install onto the RAM Disk?
2- How do I point my userData folder to reside only on the RAM Disk
3- What software is recommended for creating/managing RAM disk in windows
4- What is needed to safely keep XBMC's library sync'd in the RAM Disk.

Sorry if I'm spamming the linux page.

+1...also interested in trying this for Windows.
Quote:+1...also interested in trying this for Windows.

You need to install a software to get a ram drive. Use google and do not post any further in this thread.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------