DIY Ambient Lighting

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
drwprtcht Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: TX
Post: #46
technocoma Wrote:Sorry I still haven't written up a guide. Haven't actually done anything with them for a while but have now built up a PCB for it now and am able to have 8 channels (LED strips) instead of 4.

I will be re-setting it all up at the weekend with new LED strips (to get rid of the dip in the middle) as the old ones were really just a prototype.

So while i'm doing it I shall take some pictures and hopefully be able to explain how it all works Smile

Hey - any updates? I'd REALLY like to know your hardware setup.

HTPC: AMD Phenom II X6 1100t Black Edition | Radeon 6870 | 8GB DDR3 | 450GB Velociraptor | 3TB external

Next up, server build...
find quote
fodster Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
does anyone want to build this as a kit to be sold i am sure there will be demand for it !!
find quote
steve2493 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
i would !!
find quote
fodster Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #49
have got it working currently ?
find quote
illiac4 Offline
Fan
Posts: 486
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #50
I think rainbowduino needs too much soldering and is not user friendly to build.
Adalight is based on ws2801 which is much easier to build and noob friendly to solder.

Has someone already build Adalight with boblight? If someone did, can you please share the .pde for arduino and boblight.conf.

Is this https://github.com/adafruit/Adalight/blo...alight.pde code compatible with boblight? As far as i can see only a few changes must be done to expand the numbers of leds in .pde.
find quote
TerranQ Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #51
I'd be really interested in this, but I'd need step by step instructions. Anyone have an "explain it to me like I'm five" guide?
find quote
SolidCactus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
Wow looks awesome!

If you write a step by step it would be much appreciated!
find quote
N3MIS15 Online
Donor
Posts: 495
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Post: #53
I have started gathering/building everything i need to achieve this. just built my 'power board' for my leds baased on the Amblone arduino board. I am waiting for my led strips to come from china ($60 each is aus).
I was able to test just a small section of the screen with a 10cm strip on boblight but it seems to react to the screen nicely.

Here is my board.
Im grabbing 12v from htpc
Bottom headers are outputs to led
Side headers are inputs from arduino mega
Added a switch to turn light on and off
Added a led to tell me if its on or off (because i can Tongue)

BTW, i have no idea if im going about this the right way Smile but from what ive been able to test it seems to work
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-06 02:27 by N3MIS15.)
find quote
illiac4 Offline
Fan
Posts: 486
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #54
N3MIS15 Wrote:I have started gathering/building everything i need to achieve this. just built my 'power board' for my leds baased on the Amblone arduino board. I am waiting for my led strips to come from china ($60 each is aus).
I was able to test just a small section of the screen with a 10cm strip on boblight but it seems to react to the screen nicely.

Here is my board.
Im grabbing 12v from htpc
Bottom headers are outputs to led
Side headers are inputs from arduino mega
Added a switch to turn light on and off
Added a led to tell me if its on or off (because i can Tongue)

BTW, i have no idea if im going about this the right way Smile but from what ive been able to test it seems to work


This one is the same as in my tutorial http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...=Ambilight

Pictures of my board: http://www.flickr.com/photos/64262741@N03/

I assume that you will use Arduino Mega.

Now this one is even easier to build because there is also a chip with transistors included so no need for too much soldering and even less soldering skills are required. It replaces transistors and resistors.

There is the schema http://fritzing.org/projects/uln2003a-amblone/
The chip is ULN2003A and you need two for four channels. It is available on eBay.
find quote
N3MIS15 Online
Donor
Posts: 495
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Post: #55
yea, same design. i only have an arduino uno on hand, i have ordered a mega and waiting for it to come in the mail. I tested each output 1 by 1 and all seems good.
Just waiting on my leds and arduino mega to arrive so i can get this thing running.
find quote
XELOR Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
That's insane! The sky really is the limit.
find quote
echoniner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
bobo1on1 Wrote:The protocol described at https://github.com/adafruit/Adalight/blo...am.pde#L42 might be compatible with boblightd, if a custom boblight.conf is used, and as long as you use boblight from http://code.google.com/p/boblight/ (the old boblight doesn't support a custom prefix).
The only thing I'm not sure about is the checksum value, it says "high byte XOR low byte XOR 0x55", but doesn't specify the high and low bytes of what exactly, if it's the high and low bytes of the number of leds then it should work with boblight, since the number of leds is static.
If that fails I could always add custom support for adalight.



I suggest just trying it out, you should be able to run the software without having any hardware attached, as long as you have a serial port to write to.


I can confirm this works. I wrote a boblight.conf to work with the arduino running adafruit's LEDstream.pde using a prefix nessesary for a 25 LED strand of WS2801.

http://pastebin.com/W2N3PMAk

*EDIT*
Bob, to answer your question, the high and low byte is a count of the lowest LED to use (going to be 0 for just about everyone) and the highest is the total count, 25 (18 in hex). The bit after that is a checksum of the latter 2, so it will not change unless the LED count does.
(This post was last modified: 2011-11-07 21:34 by echoniner.)
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 881
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 22
Post: #58
Great first post echoniner :-)
find quote
TheAstronaut Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Michigan
Post: #59
Does anyone know if there is a similar project that makes use of a photosensor or other similar component instead of the Boblight software? I'm looking for something that will work with my ATV2, and possibly my Popcorn Hour and satellite box. I've been searching online with no luck so far. Does anybody know of such a thing?
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 881
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 22
Post: #60
TheAstronaut Wrote:Does anyone know if there is a similar project that makes use of a photosensor or other similar component instead of the Boblight software? I'm looking for something that will work with my ATV2, and possibly my Popcorn Hour and satellite box. I've been searching online with no luck so far. Does anybody know of such a thing?

Set up a laptop with a webcam pointing at the tv. Set up boblight hooked up to the arduino. Display the webcam feed fullscreen. Voila, it will work with whatever is playing on the tv. Just don't walk through between the webcam and the tv
find quote
Post Reply