Mac Mini fans, please report in on your XBMC experience!
Nod

Hi everyone. I have been using a trio of Boxee Boxes in my home now for the past 9-10 months, but Boxee seems to have taken a detour from fixing issues for people who largely do local streaming (like me) and I am entertaining again the idea of either building an HTPC to run XBMC or purchasing a Mac Mini to do so.

I realize that the Mini is the more expensive option, but I do like Macs and I think that the Mini hardware, as elegant as it is, is worth a bit of a premium also.

So, what I am wondering is, are there users here who have their Mac Mini hooked up to a full home theater via HDMI and use something like a Harmony to control it? If so, what are the current issues? Likelihood of seeing things fixed in the next 6-12 months such as lossless audio support, and other features for "home theater" type users like myself?

Or, would I be better off sucking it up and getting something I can run windows on?

Thanks.
I run a previous generation Mini, using HDMI and a Harmony 650. Works great, plays everything I throw at it, no issues for me at all. I don't care about lossless audio so I can't speak to that, but in every other aspect it is a perfect XBMC machine. A little bit more expensive, but I was willing to pay a premium for very nice off-the-shelf hardware.

Watch the Apple Store for refurbs and you can get the last generation for $469, which is not much more than what you'd pay for an ION/CoreiX machine with similar capabilities, and much nicer hardware. Based on my browsing here I think the previous gen is a better XBMC box than the new 2011 Minis anyway (no Lion issues, more XBMC-friendly video card).
Thanks, that is good advice. I guess I was hell bent on getting the newer model but you make a valid point. As long as it plays my 1080P rips without issues (such as 24fps bug) then there would not be a lot of reason to have to fork over the extra cash for the 2011 one.