How to Power ON/OFF your HTPC using a Remote?

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #16
poofyhairguy Wrote:You don't need a high end mobo with SLI, USB3, or even DDR3, but do try to get a good brand mobo like Gigabyte even if its the lowest-end model.
i found myself enjoying usb3 external drive than usb2. usb3 is quicker than usb2. i'm glad that most major brands included usb3 in their mobo now!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #17
i agree tho, you might not need built-in WiFi / SATAIII / eSATA features too!
find quote
outatouch0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 647
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 3
Location: NC - USA
Post: #18
Yes but everyone needs something to have a good argument about Rofl

My first HTPC build
My UnRaid Server
Kingston rebates and ASUS warranties are WORTHLESS FRAUDS
find quote
rufrothy Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Silicon Valley, CA and Huntsville, UT
Post: #19
Hmm....

So this would work with the new ASRock and the AMD A4-3400

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IR-Receiver-w-Ca...4cf82c7a64
find quote
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,103
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 21
Post: #20
rufrothy Wrote:Hmm....

So this would work with the new ASRock and the AMD A4-3400

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IR-Receiver-w-Ca...4cf82c7a64

That is great, as I just found out that the Asrock motherboard has a CIR but does not come with the remote.

What I am more interested in is this;

http://asrock.com/mb/spec/Card.asp?Model=Smart%20Remote

It uses an external USB IR unit (that plugs into a USB port and the CIR header via internal cabling) rather than having to drill your case. I just need to find a place I can buy it from and I need to make sure it will work with XBMC.

The
find quote
rufrothy Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Nov 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Silicon Valley, CA and Huntsville, UT
Post: #21
voip-ninja Wrote:That is great, as I just found out that the Asrock motherboard has a CIR but does not come with the remote.

What I am more interested in is this;

http://asrock.com/mb/spec/Card.asp?Model=Smart%20Remote

It uses an external USB IR unit (that plugs into a USB port and the CIR header via internal cabling) rather than having to drill your case. I just need to find a place I can buy it from and I need to make sure it will work with XBMC.

The

Cool. Keep us posted how this works out.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #22
voip-ninja Wrote:I just need to find a place I can buy it from

and thats the hard part,,,
better to get a motherboard that comes with it by default,,,
find quote
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,103
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 21
Post: #23
rufrothy Wrote:Cool. Keep us posted how this works out.

Will do. I emailed tech support to see if they knew how I could get it. I found an internal USB header on eBay that is about $28 shipped so that will be my backup option if ASRock cannot hook me up.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #24
voip-ninja Wrote:Will do. I emailed tech support to see if they knew how I could get it. I found an internal USB header on eBay that is about $28 shipped so that will be my backup option if ASRock cannot hook me up.
most asrock mobos included cir option. their mce remote control and usb multi-angle cir remote receiver are the best option. some of their mobos included these options in the package. you should be able to contact asrock to aquire it!

the cir in e350m1 is located next to usb8-9 and certain models bundles with mce remote control/multi-angle cir receiver (asrock Z68M-ITX/HT- cir located next to usb6-7).

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2011-10-03 18:25 by bluray.)
find quote
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,103
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 21
Post: #25
bluray Wrote:most asrock mobos included cir option. their mce remote control and usb multi-angle cir remote receiver are the best option. some of their mobos included these options in the package. you should be able to contact asrock to aquire it!

Thanks! I did inquire as to how I could get this. All I really need is their USB IR unit and then just wire that USB port to the CIR/USB headers on the case. I already have a Harmony One.

I would also imagine there are some ASRock owners who do not use the CIR unit at all, so I have inquired on Tweak Town's ASRock forum about anyone willing to sell it to me.
find quote
blackbango Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #26
eskro Wrote:The Power ON and OFF feature seems so wanted in the HTPC market nowadays...
I have to admit that i enjoy this feature very much on my own HTPC!
Since i've been asked alot on how I've done it,
i thought i'd simply share the 'known' ways to achieve this...
Note that there's probably other ways too,
but those are the ones i know,.,
Ok, Here we go...



METHOD#1
I guess i could start by saying that depending on the case you buy,
if it comes bundled with a remote control and some sort of IR Receiver LCD Screen,
like the SST-GD02B-MT case,
chances are that you'll be able to Power ON and OFF your HTPC...
So you'll have to do your own research here before buying your case...
Like me, i bough the Antec MicroFusion350 htpc case,
and it was bundled with a remote control...
it works hand in hand with its LCD Screen which is also an InfraRed Receiver...
So after putting all my htpc together and installed all needed drivers,
i was able to Power ON and OFF my HTPC...
Of course, it even works with my Harmony 300i remote!
so, yeah, thats 1 way to do it,,,


METHOD#2
to continue a bit about ANTEC here,
ANTEC released some InfraRed Receivers you can use to enable such a feature....
To name a few:
*Antec VERIS Basic Infrared receiver
*Antec VERIS Elite Infrared receiver
the basic version fits in an external 3.5" Drive bay
while the Elite version fits in an external 5.25" Drive bay...
so keep that in mind before buying either of them,,,
Anyhow, once you hook them up,
you'll be able to Power ON and OFF your HTPC...
Of course, it'll even work with any Harmony remotes aswell!
so, yeah, thats another way to do it,,,


METHOD#3
SIMEREC.COM's PCS-2 Universal IR Remote Switch
is a neat little InfraRed Receiver that once installed,
you'll be able to to Power ON and OFF your HTPC...
There's a little bit of work involded here to make it work,
as you need to drill a tiny whole in your HTPC case to install the IR receiver..
But on the other hand, it comes fully assembled and no soldering is required!
this thing works with 99% of IR remotes on the market including Harmony's!
But note that as of today, this wont allow you to control your HTPC,,,
I've talked with the guys at simerec.com and they said that by the END of october,
they should release a version of their 'Universal IR Remote Switch'
which will also enable users to actually control their HTPC's!!
This is great news! good job SIMEREC!!


METHOD#4
you now what a CIR enabled motherboard is?
CIR stands for 'Consumer InfraRed'...
Not all motherboards have a CIR header though...
Becareful when buying your motherboard if you want such a thing...
Anyhow, once you found a CIR enabled motherboard,
all is left for you to buy is a compatible CIR module to plug it in!
And thats usually the hard part,, these modules are very hard to find..
Ebay is probably your best chance but even then, good luck,,,
After doing some research, i stumbled upon ASROCK's website,
and i saw at least 3 CIR enabled motherboards
but the greatest thing here is that they also bundled them with not only an IR remote
but also with a compatible CIR module!!
Nice job ASROCK!!
Here are those 3 CIR enabled ASROCK motherboards that i know of...
*ASRock H67M-GE/HT (B3) LGA1155 Micro-ATX
*ASRock Z68M-ITX/HT LGA1155 Mini-ITX
*H67M-ITX/HT LGA1155 Mini-ITX
Again, this should also compatible with any Harmony remotes aswell!



Finally,
i hope you've enjoy'ed the read and learned something along the way!!

~peace~
Smile

Hi eskro, first time post so a bit of a newbie but would this do.http://www.pulse-eight.com/store/product...apter.aspxBig Grin
find quote
Subliminal Aura Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
Location: UK
Post: #27
blackbango Wrote:Hi eskro, first time post so a bit of a newbie but would this do.http://www.pulse-eight.com/store/product...apter.aspxBig Grin

I see a lot of talk on ocuk about these ... why don't you get stuffed and go back there Laugh

{ Yes that's my way of saying welcome to the forums Wink }
find quote
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,103
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 21
Post: #28
eskro Wrote:and thats the hard part,,,
better to get a motherboard that comes with it by default,,,

I just heard back from ASRock support in Chino, California. They will provide the USB CIR receiver for only $8 which includes shipping. Rather glad now that I did not spring for an extra $50 for a higher end motherboard that included it.

I'm not sure if it will work with other, non ASRock motherboards but $8 is a heckuva lot cheaper than anywhere else for this thing.
find quote
blackbango Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #29
Subliminal Aura Wrote:I see a lot of talk on ocuk about these ... why don't you get stuffed and go back there Laugh

{ Yes that's my way of saying welcome to the forums Wink }

Well erm...... thanks for the welcome I think. Laugh
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #30
voip-ninja Wrote:I just heard back from ASRock support in Chino, California. They will provide the USB CIR receiver for only $8 which includes shipping

thats great news then!
http://www.asrock.com/support/faq.asp?id=275
all you need is a htpc case with front USB and your good to go!
(This post was last modified: 2011-10-03 21:38 by eskro.)
find quote
Post Reply