XBMC: a future in cars?
First of all: this is not a feature request, but a discussion to hear what people thinks about this.

As we can see on the development of cars, probably all mainstream cars will have some kind of smart technology/media center/computer in just a few years. This software ain't always the best of the best, and the user experience is often bad.

I would love to use XBMC in my car, but it lacks some important features for use in a road environment. Map drawing and GPS support is the main feature I would say. Telephony (hands-free), car data etc. I could intergrate through addons. I could use a thrid-party software for the map/gps functionality, but then you don't get the feeling of tight cooperation between the various modules of the carputer. Think of the possibilities with a open source community driven map in the car..

I have no experience with such programming and little experience with map plotting and maps at all, so I'm not quite sure how much work it would be to intergrate something like this as some kind of map player for the XBMC. I guess there might be some open source project one could use. For the actual map one could maybe look at openStreetMap?

I'm aware some will just say that XBMC is not an operating system, and don't will have all kinds of features. I agree in this, but maybe this also could widening the marked for XBMC and maybe also get some sponsors from a completly new marked?

Personally a think this is a marked that will peak in a few years when a computer connected to the internet are standard equipment in most cars.

Social networks connected with gps position plotting, live updates on maps through friends, playing video while waiting for the green light, all sorts of great statistics, visual car data and more... all in a nice XBMC wrapping Smile
I am running centrafuse in my car.

http://www.centrafuse.com/
HTPC
PC: Home Built
Processor: i7 6700k
GPU: GTX 980 ti
Ram: 16GB DDR4
XBMC: Kodi Jarvis
Skin: Aeon Badnox Beta