NAS Drive / ATV2 Help
Hi Guys,

Complete Newb when it comes to XBMC but I have jailbroken my ATV2 and am currently streaming to my TV using XBMC from my Mac and an external hard drive.

I now want to get a NAS Drive (this one http://uk.insight.com/en-gb/apps/product...NGEGA06QOI) as I have been offered it for a very good price but I want to make sure it will work without me needing to have my mac/PC running.

Can any one advise please...

Thanks for your time

Brad
I use this exact device for downloading from TV Torrents, and playing on the ATV2/XBMC using the nightly builds, which I update about once a week. I have them networked using Solwise Ethernet over Power adapters, and it's a fantastic setup. The only issues I have found are playing some ISOs which can stutter if there is any other network traffic. I'm sure that if I was to physically cable the ATV2 it may fix this, but I primarily watch TV shows from TV Torrents, and I'm very happy with the setup.

I have 2x500GB drives setup as mirrors (RAID1) - means you only get 500GB total storage, but if a drive goes down (and I had one do that not long ago), you can just pull it out and plug in the new one.

There are lots of add-ons for the Netgear device - for example - MySQL - which now stores my XBMC database giving me access to it from other XBMC devices besides the ATV2.

I'd recommend it - especially for the money - but that said I haven't used any other NAS devices in the past...
Hi,

Thanks for the response, a little lost the "Solwise Ethernet over Power adapters" what does that allow it/me to do?

Well I have been offer the Drive with 4TB for £150.00 through the company I work for and my plan was to have it set up for Raid.

Looking like a goer then...

Thanks again.