"connection timed out"
Hi All.
I'm using XBMC Live 10.1 installed onto my HDD.
I have been having a problem where after boot, I can't access any samba shares.
They come up with "connection timed out" followed by "cannot connect to network share" or something similar like that.
I ran it with the debug log and the log showed connection timed out coming back from the underlying OS when I checked it in the shell.
If I go to System->Network Settings->SMB Client and edit the "Workgroup"
Focus the field, don't change it, leave it as "Workgroup", hit done, then the X
Then XBMC prompts me to restart it to reload networking.
After this edit and restart (I call it the shuffle, I've been doing it for about 6 months) every single time the network shares work flawlessly until next time I boot up.
I've taught everyone who uses XBMC in the lounge here how to do it because it seems to be the only way to get it working.
Out of frustration, tonight I went digging through the advancedsettings.xml file located in /home/xbmc/.xmbc/userdata/advancedsettings.xml
and searched for "workgroup"
This is what I saw:
<smb>
<wins></wins>
<workgroup>WORKGROUP</workgroup>
</smb>
I edited this to remove the empty <wins> tag, so it was just
<smb>
<workgroup>WORKGROUP</workgroup>
</smb>
After reboot, network shares worked flawlessly without the shuffle.
I wonder if this is a bug, writing a WINS server out which is empty causing the network lookup/DNS lookup to fail?
The shares I couldn't access were both guest (non password protected) shares, with full read/write on both a windows 7 machine (security tweaked to allow guest in & smb2 turned off & no windows live signin assist) and a ubuntu 10.10 linux machine running fully upgraded samba via aptitude (also guest shares)
Neither would work without the shuffle, and they would work from other machines on the network.