Android how do I slow down the internet speed?
Hi, I am new with and android box and Kodi and was wondering if there is a way to slow down the speed that shows stream in at. I have set the internet speed as low as it will go in Kodi, I think that is 512 kbps. Now if I watch an one hour show it uses up 2 gb which I think is wrong. I am using the Kodi 16.1 rc seeing that is what came with the box.
The speed has nothing to do with how much data is consumed overall, and 2Gb for an hour sounds reasonable if it's higher quality.

But the question I have to ask is where are you getting your stream from? Via a PVR (wiki) or via an add-on, and in either case which one?
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
I am getting my stream from an addon. The android box is hardwired to the internet. But if 2 gb an hour is a reasonable usage then I will have to live with it.
I only thought that like with Netflix that lowering the speed would cut down on the internet usage. I only get 150 gb a month to use so I better start watching streams with a lower quality display.
Thank you for the answer..
(2017-02-14, 22:53)Selohssa Wrote: I am getting my stream from an addon. The android box is hardwired to the internet. But if 2 gb an hour is a reasonable usage then I will have to live with it.
I only thought that like with Netflix that lowering the speed would cut down on the internet usage. I only get 150 gb a month to use so I better start watching streams with a lower quality display.
Thank you for the answer..

You are still confused.

Firtsly, legitimate services such as Netflix and Amazon video use "dynamic streaming" which yes, will adjust the bitrate / resolution of your stream ON THE FLY to suit slower internet connections. This is what you are getting at but: