I need help with python scripts
i've been looking for the definition of what a python script is to no avail, finally i concluded it had something to do with streaming. ok by this point u are either laughing or rolling your eyes, by now u know i have no idea about pythons. please help me with this thing, i am an absolute noob to most of the terms related. is there a set up change i need to make, is there something on my pc or router i need to change. i don't ftp i'm still working on clearly understanding what i can do on my xbox modded and what i can't do. all i really want is to be able to stream some entertainment besides the preloaded webcam etc crap that came with my modded box. the guy that modded my box had very limited knowledge of the usages. so i'm looking for someone to share their gained knowledge with me. please, i've been trapped for a week figuring this out.

[email="[email protected]"][email protected][/email]
uhm,

new too...

python is a programming/scripting language and there is an interpreter for that language on the xbox (or at least through xbmc). this gives us the ability to write little programs, like streaming clients or servers, but also lots of other stuff.

you wouldn't need to change anything to use a python script on your xbox, you only need a xbmc build that is new enough and supports python.

it might be nessecary to open up ports on your router/firewall to use some of the scripts; if it uses a port to obtain content (streaming media) and that port is blocked on your router it won't work of course.

does this make any sence?

cheers
cactus
thanks for replyin' cactus.

yeah my router ports are all open, i'm just wondering how do u add new ones. like where do u put the information etc. do you need to transfer from the pc into the xbox or can you just add through the xbox?