XBMC on Raspberry Pi - Wonder if this will work out? (Historical Discussion Thread)

  Thread Rating:
  • 11 Votes - 4.91 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
tdw197 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #376
(2012-04-03 17:55)krish_2k4 Wrote:  Still nobody has got one? when do people get them?

how can a product get so much hype then not deliver?! classic example of how not to launch a product.

Seems a classic launch to me, lots of hype, small stock, create demand, lots of publicity etc, etc
find quote
lordindy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #377
Ordered mine. Will most likely get it in 6 months or so Smile Hoping to replace the WDTV Live in my bedroom with XBMC # 2 and share the DB Smile
find quote
jesterod Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #378
same tho i dont know if i can call it ordering they havent taken the money... its still im my bank yet i have an order confirmation
find quote
saintalan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Windsor, UK
Post: #379
(2012-04-05 04:13)jesterod Wrote:  same tho i dont know if i can call it ordering they havent taken the money... its still im my bank yet i have an order confirmation

I think with 'Distance Selling' they can not take your money until dispatch.
find quote
bboo Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #380
http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/945
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #381
Looks like few people have started receiving their raspberry pi units ... http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/1022

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 17:21 by CrashX.)
find quote
PaulC2K Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #382
I got mine on Monday, only fired it up for the first time 30min ago, as when i came to burn the OS image to an SD card on Monday it kept coming up with an error. Figured about an hour ago i'd put in on a USB stick to try (ive got a pair of 8gb cards which should arrive tomorrow) and that failed with the same error. I'd found nothing last time i googled for ages, and it turned out the path it was using to get the image was too long. Now why it cant say that instead of just 'Error 8' ive no idea. It was on my home server PC, with everything else i download from my main machine, so once i moved it over to my c: it was fine, and we were in business... ish.
It didnt quite like my keyboard. It worked, but sporadically, and sometimes seemed to lock on a keypress, so typing a pw to get into the OS was tough, esp as it doesnt show *** etc for each character, so no way of knowing if i was in or not.

I was using a USB KVM, so removed that from the equation and it didnt even work anymore, i suspect it was drawing power from my PC to help power the KVM, and that was helping power the kb/m. Different USB kb, same mouse, and everything was fine and moments later i was in Debian 'Squeeze'.
Havent done anything with it yet, but nice to see a desktop enviro, and i'll have a bit of a play and look at the alternative OS's with the other SD cards.

The paperwork that comes with is very comprehensive, theres an A4 (single sided) of the compliance & safety info, and another which says:

Quote:
Raspberry Pi

GETTING STARTED
For your free download go to raspberrypi.org/downloads

element14
So i might be a while going through all that first Wink
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-18 04:39 by PaulC2K.)
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #383
Makes sure that raspberrypi is getting enough power on it via usb. Some of the usb charger don't give enough power.

Post the power requirements for the usb keyboard. It should be less than 140mA.

Cheap usb cable issues with raspberry pi:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/trouble...-30seconds
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/trouble...usb-cables

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-18 07:01 by CrashX.)
find quote
PaulC2K Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #384
(2012-04-18 06:52)CrashX Wrote:  Makes sure that raspberrypi is getting enough power on it via usb. Some of the usb charger don't give enough power.

Post the power requirements for the usb keyboard. It should be less than 140mA.

Cheap usb cable issues with raspberry pi:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/trouble...-30seconds
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/trouble...usb-cables
Yeah, i was reading those while trying to get it to work at the time.
Im using a 5" Nokia data cable, its all i have, i didnt realise it was the really tiny one, i just saw it mentioned and thought i'd be the common one. Havent tried networking yet, and im just running H2Testw on the eBay SD card to ensure its legit and then i'll have a look.
The USB cable issue really is stupid though, the foundation knew its a problem, there should have been better attempts to either include a cable or have the new distributors offer a bundled card+cable they've ensured is to the required standard. Instead were waiting for people who've got good ones to tell us what they are (brand) and hope they're right about them, and they're not all £30 mobile phone chargers.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-18 14:38 by PaulC2K.)
find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #385
http://elinux.org/RPi_Hardware#Power

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
stefan8bc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #386
Can't wait to order mine Smile Has anyone tried deinterlacing 1080i? Or is that to heavy for the RPi? I would like to watch IPTV with it (1080i MPEG-2 MP@HL)...
find quote
tsddave Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #387
I ordered mine last night. Farnell has opened up orders again but the delivery time is for start of July haha.
Still I ordered it on the basis that if I dont get my order in now then the wait will be even longer.
At least ordering it now you have some idea of when you will be getting it unlike the 1s order batch.

Hopefully by the time mine arrives the xbmc version will be up and running and solid Tongue
find quote
Mick1152 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #388
Post on raspberrypi.org today says everybody who ordered through Farnell before the 18th will DEFINITELY receive theirs before the end of June regardless of what the estimated date said. Orders from now going forward will be delivered in July. So glad I ordered a few weeks ago and don't have to wait until August!

HTPC 1 - AMD A8-3870K, ASRock A75M, Silverstone ML03B, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Crucial M4 64GB SSD
HTPC 2 - AMD A6-3500, ASRock A75M-ITX, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Patriot Torqx 2 32GB SSD
HTPC 3 - Intel Celeron 847, OpenELEC
RV HTPC - Intel i3-2120 Mini-ITX, 12TB Storage
3 Raspberry Pis
unRAID 5 Server - AMD Sempron 145, 4TB Parity, 16TB Storage

find quote
rflores2323 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,916
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #389
has anyone received theirs yet and got xbmc running on it??

ATV1 with crystalbuntu (12.2 frodo) as main theater. Theater remote URC MX-810, droidx with xbmc remote, or transformer tf101 with YATSE. 3 x ATV2 (V12.2 frodo).

find quote
CrashX Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,164
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #390
Instruction on how to build XBMC for Raspberry Pi:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/forum/project...spberry-pi

The normal XBMC log IS NOT a debug log, to enable debug logging you must toggle it on under XBMC Settings - System or in advancedsettings.xml. Use XBMC Debug Log Addon to retrieve it.
find quote
Post Reply