Squeezebox Player
Hi all

I'm quite new to XBMC but I absolutely love it.
Thanks to all of you who created such a nice piece of work Big Grin

I was wondering if it could be possible to have XBMC acting as a Squeezebox Player?

The Server part of Squeezebox is open source and there are other projects that created players.
I'm not an experienced programmer but have some time to give it a try.

Unfortunately I have no clue where to start or even if it's a good idea...
Any suggestion would be appreciated!

Cheers
That would be a great feature!
I have 3 Squeezeboxes around the house, and with this I could play the same music all over the house with player syncronisation.

But I have no clue on programming, so I cannot help you Sad
My Livingroom - Samsung LE46A656 - Yamaha RX-V2067 - Klipsch - DIY Audiopulse 12" Subwoofers (Norwegian thread)

HTPC: Win7 + XBMC, Silverstone LC17, Asus P5K-E, Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 @3ghz, 40GB SSD, 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD5450
SERVER: ubuntu 10.10, Fractal Design Array R2, ZOTAC M880GITX-A, Corsair 4GB, Intel SSD 40GB, Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB (x5 in RAID5)
Yes, that's maybe the most important thing for the user: It would allow to use it as multiroom player with other squeezeboxes.

It's kind of a different story but in the XBMC music library the most important band is missing: AC/DC. Squeezebox server has no problems Huh
Maybe I could resolve the problem on this way (maybe a bit overkill just to solve this issue but as you wrote there will be other advantages too) Smile
Now that Logitech released the Logitech Media Server 7.7 (Replacement for Squeezebox Server) it has built in UPnP/DLNA support. This means you can play your library from within XBMC by setting up a Music Source as UPnP to your Server. This should get you your missing music.

The main thing that is missing is the ability to synchronize with the SB hardware. If someone could get that working, my setup would be complete.