[Mini-ITX] A6-3600 (4x2.1Ghz/2.4Ghz) + HD6530D

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,286
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #16
r1lee Wrote:Just got my setup up and running with the 3500, and all i can say is OMG. It's damn fast and smokes the E350 in every possible way. When Bluray stated the E350 was sluggish, i totally understand what he means now.
With faster core, it should be faster and better performance as expected.

r1lee Wrote:I'm hoping when it goes into the receiver tonight/tomorrow that it doesn't give me this problem.
You can connects it this way when you are ready to connect it to AVR: HTPC-->AVR-->HDTV via two HDMI cables and set AVR to pass-through video. You should be able to see HDMI option in W7 control panel and XBMC audio output, and you should be able to bitstream too.

If you want to bitstream HD audio with external player, you can use this guide- Another External Player Code, but Very Simple to Setup.

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
r1lee Offline
Donor
Posts: 147
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Kleinburg
Post: #17
bluray Wrote:You can connects it this way when you are ready to connect it to AVR: HTPC-->AVR-->HDTV via two HDMI cables and set AVR to pass-through video. You should be able to see HDMI option in W7 control panel and XBMC audio output, and you should be able to bitstream too.

[/url].

I'm pretty familiar with how the setup goes, the only new thing to me is the HTPC portion. Just hoping that I didn't do something wrong and when i plug it in it gives me the option of 5.1 instead of just the 2 speaker stereo it shows now.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #18
when u got time r1lee, shoot a little video showing XBMC's interface and how speedy it is!
Smile
find quote
flipped cracker Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 238
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: anaheim, ca
Post: #19
What's a good cpu cooler to go with this?

Contribute to TheTVDB.com - The Online TV Database
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,286
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #20
flipped cracker Wrote:What's a good cpu cooler to go with this?
Scythe SCKZT-1000 80mm Kozuti CPU Cooler

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #21
u cant use anything else higher then 40mm...
hence, the max u can go with is the Scythe SCKZT-1000
find quote
Nasp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Very nice setup...

This quad-core cpu it only this motherboard is very good for heavy emulators ? And a few games on windows, like the Valve's Steam Indie Games ?

If yes, maybe i buy one of this..
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-18 01:39 by Nasp.)
find quote
rpo83 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #23
Hi Eskro,

Thanks for these great threads : )

I currently have a 2011 Mac Mini but i have decided i will replace it with a A6 or A8 running XBMC with a couple of Blu Ray drives.

Do you know of any small cases that can accept 2 optical drives? I have many Blu Ray discs some local Australian discs and some US Blu Ray discs. Instead of trying to find firmware hacks to allow multi region playback, i thought 1 drive for Aus discs, 1 drive for US discs would be a nice clean solution, i just can't find any nice cases.

Cheers

Steve
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #24
all u need is --> AnyDVD HD

** Removes region codes from Blu-ray media. **
http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvdhd.html

Smile
find quote
publicENEMY Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
eskro Wrote:you have no idea?

that HTPC will eat win7 + any skins for breakfast!!

your ATOM/iON has a CPU passMARK of around ~700,,,

this A6-3600 CPU has a passMARK of 5247!!!

Thats great information.

Thanks.
find quote
Lejla Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Hi eskro
Thank you for your effort and hard work, this is the first I like to wrote you. Wink
Please one question I have.
AMD A6-3600 4x2.1Ghz/2.4Ghz HD6530D FM1 65W
didn't exist here anymore here where I live.
I can buy
AMD A6-3650 APU, 2.6GHz, Socket FM1, 4C/4T
Is this the follower version? With more power?
Can I buy this AMD CPU?
With the same Motherboard >
ASRock A75M-ITX FM1 CIR USB3.0 SATAIII UEFI mITX
??
Thank you
Lejla
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #27
actually Lejla, i suggest u get the AMD A6-3500 Triple-Core instead.
find quote
Lejla Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
@eskro

Hi eskro, thank you very much for your fast respond.
I will do what you say, sir. Wink
Bye
Lejla
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #29
you wont regret it!
the A6-3500 is the best current HTPC APU in my opinion!
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,286
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #30
Lejla Wrote:I can buy
AMD A6-3650 APU, 2.6GHz, Socket FM1, 4C/4T
Is this the follower version? With more power?
Can I buy this AMD CPU?
With the same Motherboard >
ASRock A75M-ITX FM1 CIR USB3.0 SATAIII UEFI mITX
??
Thank you
Lejla
Yes, and you will end up with a more powerful HTPC too!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Post Reply