ATV2 XBMC Jittering, Choppy Playback SMB

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
rostic83 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello, this is my first time writing here even thou i follow the forum when troubleshooting issues.

Just wanted to share a few things which some people might have already realised and sorted on their own.

Biggest concern to me when using XBMC on HTPC or ATV2 was an issue when watching a movie hosted from NAS or PC over the network.

I am very picky and always noticed that my video playback is never smooth.

i done heaps of test to get it sorted but never did.

One of the biggest notices recently was when watching Cowboy vs Aliens movie. At the begging theres a slow motion picture of Desert and it seems very choppy.

After lots of trial an error i found changing Audio/Video in ATV2 to 16Bit and Coaxial/Optical in XBMC fixed the problem imediatly also found that using Sync Back DropDupe option really leaned out the quality.
Video now plays exactly the same as it does when rented from iTunes store.

i rebooted ATV2 heaps of times to verify the fix and it works.

Does anyone else experience such issues and fixed it same way i did?

regards

Ross
find quote
GnarusLeo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Hi Rostic,

I have my ATV2 set to 16 bit and use coax/optical in XBMC.

However, Sync Back DropDupe, whats this? How do I set this?

Thanks in advance.

G
find quote
Maxtrin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
If i understand you right your picture quility wasent good, if so i have the exact same thing when watching on my apt2 xbmc the picture is bad, if i watch it on the computer it is perfect what can that be?
find quote
Jester Offline
XBMC for iOS* forums Moderator
Posts: 979
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 10
Post: #4
GnarusLeo Wrote:Hi Rostic,

I have my ATV2 set to 16 bit and use coax/optical in XBMC.

However, Sync Back DropDupe, whats this? How do I set this?

Thanks in advance.

G

It's under video settings a/v sync method Video Clock (Drop/Dupe audio)

Current XBMC Platform: ATV2
Extra XBMC Platform: Raspberry Pi
Read the iOS FAQ
find quote
GnarusLeo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Yes!!

The Drop Dupe option took away all of my stuttering worries. Amazing, thank you! Big Grin

However, I am unfortunately still experiencing the ocasional buffering.Eek

Sometimes with intervals on 1-2 minutes, but then suddenly, on the same movie, it playbacks for 10-15 minutes running fine. And the it may get it on again and so forth. Angry

Dont understand this. I dont believe its buffering because the ATV2 is out of spec on the file (how will it then play smooth for 15 minutes straight?).

It has something to do with how XBMC utilize network (or perhaps how the ATV does it ..)

However, SMB is a pain for me, and AFP (using now) is somewhat better ..

Greetings, G

EDIT note:

I have my ATV on stone cold wire directly to a 1TB Time Capsule with all my movies.
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-04 00:56 by GnarusLeo.)
find quote
Rtificial Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2003
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
GnarusLeo Wrote:Yes!!

The Drop Dupe option took away all of my stuttering worries. Amazing, thank you! Big Grin

However, I am unfortunately still experiencing the ocasional buffering.Eek

Sometimes with intervals on 1-2 minutes, but then suddenly, on the same movie, it playbacks for 10-15 minutes running fine. And the it may get it on again and so forth. Angry

Dont understand this. I dont believe its buffering because the ATV2 is out of spec on the file (how will it then play smooth for 15 minutes straight?).

It has something to do with how XBMC utilize network (or perhaps how the ATV does it ..)

However, SMB is a pain for me, and AFP (using now) is somewhat better ..

Greetings, G

EDIT note:

I have my ATV on stone cold wire directly to a 1TB Time Capsule with all my movies.

Couldn't that just be related to variable framerates, which means some scenes have a higher bitrate, and therefor need for bandwidth, than other scenes?
find quote
GnarusLeo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
It could, yes.

But my point being that I have run several other media centers (including WD TV Live) on this very same connection for years. Not one single time has the video stopped to buffer - which makes me wonder ...
find quote
Benjopa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Maybe the time capsule the cause of your problem? I red about this in other topics, where people had same problem and all had a time capsule network. Have you tried with another source for your movies, for example strem from a computer?
find quote
DStu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I had major issues with my Time Capsule (on a wired network). Don't know why, maybe someone hear can give a reason (or tell me I'm chatting rubbish).

But I eventually gave it up, got a new router with a USB host, and have a 1TB portable drive connected.
Now it works like a dream, even over Wireless-N.
find quote
Benjopa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
As i have red in other topics, you are not the only with this problem. It's very strange that time capsule can give so many problems. I wonder waht can be the cause...
find quote
GnarusLeo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Hm ... it must be a XBMC+Time Capsule issue, or ATV2+Time Capsule issue.

As stated before, I have run several other devices through smb, nfs (and so forth), and not experienced this issue before.
find quote
scottc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
got ATV2 streaming from a windows based NAS over SMB and was having exactly the same problem. Changed to DropDupe and it's unbelivable the difference in quality. No choppyness, no mid film buffering.

Thanks.
find quote
Palmerjay Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Hi, I've sent a pm but just in case does anyone know where the setting is that is referred to in the statement: "You mention "changing Audio/Video in ATV2 to 16Bit and Coaxial/Optical in XBMC" I can't find it.

Thanks
find quote
deanmv Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 877
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 10
Location: UK
Post: #14
The first part (16bit) is under the settings tab in iOS (NOT XBMC), then the Audio & Video menu and it is in there. The second bit (Coaxial/Optical) is in XBMC -> Settings -> System -> Audio output.

Set Up
Raspberry Pi running Raspbmc - XBMC 12.2
40" Samsung ES6800 LED Smart 3D 1080P TV
Onkyo HTS3405 5.1 DD True HD and DTS-HD Surround Sound
ReadyNAS Duo with 4TB (2 x 2TB X-RAID) Western Digital Caviar Green using NFS
find quote
Palmerjay Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Thanks for reply. I hadn't realised it for was iOS, must have missed that bit.
find quote
Post Reply