[RELEASE] Weather Underground (default xbmc weather addon)

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nessus Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 807
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 23
Post: #151
Ronie... i think (?) i found a couple bugs in v0.1.4

1. Icons are not showing and i think because of this. When removed the "128x128" from scripts code they show up
before
Code:
WEATHER_ICON     = xbmc.translatePath('special://temp/weather/128x128/%s.png')
after
Code:
WEATHER_ICON     = xbmc.translatePath('special://temp/weather/%s.png')

2. Predefined temp unit for feels like label in hourly page is missing
Code:
set_property('Hourly.%i.Temperature'     % (count+1), item['temp']['english'] + TEMPUNIT)
set_property('Hourly.%i.DewPoint'        % (count+1), item['dewpoint']['english'] + TEMPUNIT)
set_property('Hourly.%i.FeelsLike'       % (count+1), item['feelslike']['english'])

Of course i am not python coder i just saw those, i edit the script, and they work.


Cheers
Nessus

PS. I am not seeing any third day in weekend page yet...Big Grin. (This is not a bug. Just a request Blush)
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #152
(2012-04-30 00:37)tinybutstrong Wrote:  Working fine by now.

Any skin already is supporting new features listed by you in page 7?

ps: you forgot to update version in changelog and description, still 0.1.3.

good catch Smile
will fix!

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #153
(2012-04-30 11:23)nessus Wrote:  Ronie... i think (?) i found a couple bugs in v0.1.4

cheers mate Smile
will fix those right away

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #154
(2012-04-30 07:57)Nuka1195 Wrote:  @Ronie I have a module over at xbmc4xbox that handles conversions of various things. It has some moon phase icons also. Does this weather provider support that.

yup, wunderground provides the current moon phase:

Code:
"moon_phase": {
    "percentIlluminated":"73",
    "ageOfMoon":"10",
    "current_time": {
    "hour":"17",
    "minute":"02"
    }


edit:
see utilities.py, i have some code there that converts the percentIlluminated/ageOfMoon values
to a string (ie. 'full moon'). i guess the same code can be used for icon matching.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-01 17:16 by ronie.)
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #155
(2012-04-30 00:37)tinybutstrong Wrote:  Any skin already is supporting new features listed by you in page 7?

I have modified weather pages for Confluence (standard and vertical) that have many of the features (all based on the Weather+ support in Confluence).

https://github.com/downloads/pkscout/ski...eather.zip
find quote
Nuka1195 Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 3,910
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 18
Post: #156
pictures please.

@ronie. i'll see about gathering the modules. i made changes and lost them when i lost my main computer. but one of the ideas i had was (if i understand correctly) don't force weather addons to pass to xbmc as celcius and then have xbmc convert to the proper local. the module takes care of that and then you don't get thos weird glitches. the moon icons are 0.png to 34.png or something like that. i made them in photoshop, based on the old weather icon's clear night. may not match the new icons. but if the skin takes advantage of the moon phases they're ther temporarily.

For python coding questions first see http://mirrors.xbmc.org/docs/python-docs/
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-02 02:11 by Nuka1195.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,352
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 165
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #157
Perhaps tree_jammer is interested in doing moon phases that match the icons he did

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
nessus Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 807
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 23
Post: #158
I have a strange behavior with v0.1.4. Labels 36Hour.%i.TemperatureHeading and 36Hour.%i.Temperature they are not showing in some languages selected in XBMC International Settings. For example, "English (US)" and "French" are not working and "English" and "Italian" they are working fine. i didn't test more languages to have a complete list but if i remember correctly this was not happening in previous versions.

Here is a debug log that includes addon's log enabled in settings which is rather big (700kb) and that's why pastebin doesn't accept it.

Cheers
Nessus
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-02 11:48 by nessus.)
find quote
dnairb Offline
Donor
Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #159
(2012-04-30 11:23)nessus Wrote:  2. Predefined temp unit for feels like label in hourly page is missing
Code:
set_property('Hourly.%i.Temperature'     % (count+1), item['temp']['english'] + TEMPUNIT)
set_property('Hourly.%i.DewPoint'        % (count+1), item['dewpoint']['english'] + TEMPUNIT)
set_property('Hourly.%i.FeelsLike'       % (count+1), item['feelslike']['english'])

This is the only instance where the temperature unit is dealt with by pkscout's modifications of the Confluence skin rather than the script.

If the tempunit is added to the script as above, the skin mods need to be changed to avoid °C°C appearing
find quote
donabi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 3
Location: germany
Post: #160
I've played arround with it...

[Image: photo-532-4277f93e.png]

[Image: photo-537-b3c8a11a.png]

i still get an "error", but the plugin works as it should. mayber a skin-problem (i haven't yet looked into my log)

http://www.xbmcnerds.com - german xbmc community
find quote
sector72 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #161
Since animated maps are no longer free, I'm curious... How about shifting the animation responsibilities onto the script? That is: let script to construct its own animated maps by downloading the static map every 15-30 minutes and assembling the last 7-10 static images into an animated image?
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #162
weather.wunderground-0.1.6.zip

fixed:
- removed the 128x128 from the weather icon location
- added temp unit for the hourly feels-like value
- 36 hour heading and temp for certain languages

added:
- provide 3 day weekend forecast <- just to get everyone off my back ;-p
- keep 4 hours worth of satellite images to create an animation



@pkscuot: sorry, you'll have to adjust the weekend code in your mod again...

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #163
weather.wunderground-0.1.7.zip

fixed:
- delete cached images when user changes weather location
- clear alert properties when there are no more alerts

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
nessus Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 807
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 23
Post: #164
Ronie... i get an error with latest version. Do you need a full debug log ?
Code:
05:07:16 T:3192  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
05:07:19 T:3192   ERROR: JSONRPC: Failed to parse '{ "jsonrpc" : "2.0" , "method" : "Files.GetDirectory" , "params" : { "directory" : "C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\addon_data\weather.wunderground\map​" , "sort" : { "method" : "file" } } , "id" : 1 }'
05:07:19 T:3192   ERROR: Error Type: <type 'exceptions.KeyError'>
05:07:19 T:3192   ERROR: Error Contents: ('result',)
05:07:19 T:3192   ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\weather.wunderground\default.py", line 544, in <module>
                                                forecast(location)
                                              File "C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\weather.wunderground\default.py", line 144, in forecast
                                                properties(data,loc)
                                              File "C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\weather.wunderground\default.py", line 490, in properties
                                                if (json_response['result'] != None) and (json_response['result'].has_key('files')):
                                            KeyError: ('result',)

P.S. cheers for the 3 day weekend.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 04:13 by nessus.)
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,197
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 158
Post: #165
should be fixed in:
weather.wunderground-0.1.8.zip

- fixed: escape slashes in path

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Post Reply