[RELEASE] Weather Underground (default xbmc weather addon)

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,157
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #1
Weather stopped working ?

not really... in the last version of the addon, you will have to enable weather retrieval.
go to Settings > Weather > Weather Underground - Settings


[Image: enabled.jpg]

older versions of XBMC (Eden) are no longer supported by this addon.
if you are still using XBMC Eden, please switch to the Yahoo! Weather addon.



[Image: wxBanner?bannertype=wu_bluestripes_metri...anguage=EN]
Weather Underground is the default weather addon that ships with XBMC.

a big thumbs up to the people at Weather Underground for being so cooperative
and for allowing us to use their excellent weather api.


the weather.wunderground addon should fulfill everyones basic weather needs...
and if your skin supports it, there's a bunch of goodies for the advanced weather freaks as well:
  • automatic location selection based on geoip
  • 10 day weather forecast
  • hourly forecast
  • weather alerts
  • satellite images
  • weekend weather
  • ability to fetch weather from personal weather stations, airports and much more...


if you have issues, please follow these steps:
1. enable debuglogging in xbmc. (settings > system > debugging)
2. enable logging in the weather addon (settings > weather > - settings > advanced options)
3. restart xbmc, go to weather screen and wait for the error to occur
4. upload the contents of your xbmc.log file to xbmclogs.com and post the url here



FAQ:
- why do i get my temps in C when they should be in F (or the other way around)?
this is handled by xbmc and depends on this setting: System > Appearance > International > Region

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-07 12:30 by ronie.)
find quote
brightsr Offline
Fan
Posts: 351
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Post: #2
Wow, great work! Smile
They finally allowed us to use their api!
This must be much more stable and speedy than Weather+.
Cheers!Big Grin
find quote
castalla Offline
Fan
Posts: 554
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
If you use geolocation then please make this selectable - automatic could mess up a lot of locations!
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,157
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #4
castalla Wrote:If you use geolocation then please make this selectable - automatic could mess up a lot of locations!

of course, you can still set up your locations like you're used to.
only if you don't select any location, the addon will fallback to geoip.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
newclaud Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I've installed XBMC Live Dharma... how can I install/configure this new add on (replacing the old one)?

Thanks!
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #6
not doable in dharma.
find quote
newclaud Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
spiff Wrote:not doable in dharma.

I'm installing Dharma version (I'm still fighting in order to correctly use all the HTPC components)... which one do I have to install in order to have weather functionalities? And what are the cons?
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #8
you need an eden-pre build.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,234
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 162
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #9
newclaud Wrote:I'm installing Dharma version (I'm still fighting in order to correctly use all the HTPC components)... which one do I have to install in order to have weather functionalities? And what are the cons?

It won't work in Dharma. It will only work in the latest nightlies (Eden) version.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
newclaud Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Ok thanks. I'll wait for the Eden stable release to have the weather functionalities.
find quote
redzot Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Big Grin  Fahrenheit
Post: #11
I have the Eden Pre-build (love it so far!) and I have configured weather to my city via zip code just fine. Works great except for one thing - My Wife and son have no idea about Celsius. The walked into my office from the living room all Shocked and I was all Wink till i couldnt figure it out and now I am all Confused. How do I enable Fahrenheit so this makes sense to them?
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,157
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #12
redzot Wrote:I have the Eden Pre-build (love it so far!) and I have configured weather to my city via zip code just fine. Works great except for one thing - My Wife and son have no idea about Celsius. The walked into my office from the living room all Shocked and I was all Wink till i couldnt figure it out and now I am all Confused. How do I enable Fahrenheit so this makes sense to them?

whether you get C or F depends on this setting:
Settings > Appearance > International > Region

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Roman_V_M Offline
Fan
Posts: 548
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 14
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Post: #13
The plugin seems to be not fully compatible with translations. Most strings are taken from the main strings.xml as they should, but others like some wind directions and weather descriptions are taken from God knows where.

For example:

[Image: attachment.php?attachmentid=935&...1325108351]

3rd and 4th rows show "Chance of" in Russian translation. I've worked on corrected/updated Russian translation and I'm sure that I haven't missed anything - those strings are not in the main strings.xml or in Confluence skin or even in the plugin's own strings.xml.

AMD A4-3300 + AsRock A75M-ITX
XBMC-DSplayer 13.1 (custom build) on Windows 7
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,157
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #14
Roman_V_M Wrote:The plugin seems to be not fully compatible with translations.

true, there's a pull request on git to correct this:
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/575

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,157
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #15
in case you're wondering why weather retrieval fails in xbmc at the moment:
Quote:Weather Underground
As some of you have noticed, we are experiencing a network problem and are working to resolve the issue. Apologies for any inconvenience.

update:
the issue is fixed now.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
(This post was last modified: 2011-12-31 17:45 by ronie.)
find quote
Post Reply