[RELEASE] OzWeather - Australian Weather Addon using BOM data

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
RedWizard75 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #436
motty - I can't see xbmclogs.com properly.

Check with:
dpkg -l python-imaging

I get:
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Conf-files/Unpacked/halF-conf/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name Version Architecture Description
+++-==============-============-============-=================================
ii python-imaging 1.1.7-4 armhf Python Imaging Library

Note: I had to put the skins in the directory:
/opt/xbmc-bcm/xbmc-bin/share/xbmc/addons/skin.confluence/720p

I'm using Gotham too - v13.1

Cheers
Craig
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #437
@motty that log isn't loading...try again.

Basically if you have PIL and have put in all the codes right, it pretty much works.

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
motty Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #438
I figured it out. Peerblock was stopping the connection to the BOM site
Thanks anyway guys
find quote
brian_muz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #439
I've been trying to scan the last couple of pages of this thread but can't make head nor tail of it. I'm wondering how I get BOM rain radar views to show in XBMC? I'm currently using OzWeather (in Aeon Nox) and it shows me a static weather image that is pretty useless. Would love to get the animated BOM maps in there. Can this be done? How?
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #440
You should be reading the wiki (see first post) - I think there are some aeon skin files there you can use (otherwise they're not too hard to make really).

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
brian_muz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #441
The only files I could see where for Confluence and Neon. Does anyone have Gotham Aeon Nox files? I wouldn't know where to start making my own.
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #442
Search this thread for aeon (see box at top of screen, under 'post reply' - there are some aeon versions mentioned. But you can take the confluence ones and make very minor tweaks for font sizes etc and it works fine.

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
sparkydave1981 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Post: #443
hi all. bossanova808, what you have created looks awesome but with me not being too great on linux, I'm struggling to get this working. could you please tell me where exactly I need to put the skin files and what to change in the addons.xml file? (as well as its location?)
I'm running OpenElec so I cant put the files in the skin directory (as you had mentioned it wont allow this), so I was confused as to exactly where else to save them and how to change the correct settings to make it all work. sorry, I suck at this. i was trying to use WinSCP to navigate the pi remotely but couldnt see a way to copy directories...
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #444
Very busy, but...

In my repo (https://github.com/bossanova808/reposito...-0.1.9.zip) - is a version of Confluence with OzWeather pre-integrated. You could download that, and use that as an example (or even just use that skin!). If you ask at the OE forums about how/where to put your skin, they'll help you get going

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
sparkydave1981 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Post: #445
hi bossanova, thanks for your quick reply. i downloaded your file and tried to install from zip in the addons section of settings but when i look at it to try and enable it, it is apparently 'broken' and i get a message that 'dependencies not met'. i realise you are busy but if you don't mind helping me out a bit, i would greatly appreciate it. cheers
find quote
sparkydave1981 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Post: #446
ok, i got it sorted. i updated openelec to the latest version and now it installs fine. one thing i have noticed though is that the OpenElec tab under the settings tab is missing when using this skin.... was that intentional?
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #447
Given I don't only use Openelec...yes. You can still get into the settings via the main settings bit.

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
uksa007 Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #448
(2014-03-27 11:26)bossanova808 Wrote:  Well, it's a wiki. Might as well just pop it straight up yourself, if that works for you?

Doesn't seem like you can add files to github any more, where do you propose we should host the skin zip file?

Regards
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,181
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #449
If you flick it to:

bossanova808
at
gmail
etc

I'll put it in a spot...

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
uksa007 Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #450
(Yesterday 08:52)bossanova808 Wrote:  If you flick it to:

bossanova808
at
gmail
etc

I'll put it in a spot...

Done!
find quote
Post Reply