How to Install XBMC PVR Xvba for AMD/Nvidia/Intel GPUs

  Thread Rating:
  • 23 Votes - 4.52 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #961
@surfziggy:
For the 12.6 installation we created a howto. Linked on the first page.

Concerning your issue 1) Which settings do you currently have enabled?

For a really great playback, we suggest to enable "Adjust Refresh Rate to match video" _and_ "Sync Playback to Display".

Having "Sync Playback to Display" enabled without "Adjust Refresh Rate to match video" is foobar for every video != current refresh rate.
find
guilmxm Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: France
Post: #962
Hi,

Could you please confirm xbmc-xvba has been built without VDPAU support ? I'm currently testing this version in of my system but i can see in XBMC settings the VDPAU option available...which songs strange!

I can't check my other system right now (running xbmc-xvba-eden) but i'm pretty sure VDPAU is not shown in setting screen.

My testing system is running the good version:
sudo dpkg -l grep xvmc
ii xbmc 2:12.0~git20120727.1343-268d6a0-0precise XBMC Media Center PVR Xvba Edition (arch-independent data package)
ii xbmc-bin 2:12.0~git20120727.1343-268d6a0-0precise XBMC Media Center PVR Xvba Edition (binary data package)

I deactivated it and quickly tested HD movies, everything seems to works fine.

Thks!

Please support my Blog, XBMC and Linux related :-)
http://youresuchageek.blogspot.com
find
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #963
I cannot confirm. We also build vdpau support in the testing and therefore xbmc-xvba branches.
Eden was indeed built without vdpau support and it was AMD only.
find
guilmxm Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: France
Post: #964
@fritsch

Ok :-) Tks for your answer, that's clear now, and logical.
Just wanted to understand.

Please support my Blog, XBMC and Linux related :-)
http://youresuchageek.blogspot.com
find
Redfoox Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #965
I have a problem when I enable both "Adjust display refresh rate to math video" and "Sync playback to display" with video clock (drop/dupe audio). I suffer from audio lag of approx. 125ms. When I disable "Adjust display refresh rate to math video" the lag is gone.

What could cause this, my tv.

My setup is as follows HTPC --> HDMI --> reciever (Yahama rx-v371) --> TV (samsung le37a656)
find
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #966
@Redfoox:
Which version of the ppa are you using? Can you provide a log? This sounds as a pulseaudio issue, but it can also be that your TV does special things for 24p. In this case you can tweak the advancedsettings.xml.

For my TV (Samsung), I use the following audio offset settings:
<video>
<latency>
<delay>0</delay>
<refresh>
<min>23</min>
<max>25</max>
<delay>100</delay>
</refresh>
<refresh>
<rate>50</rate>
<delay>25</delay>
</refresh>
</latency>
</video>
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-03 21:06 by fritsch.)
find
Redfoox Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #967
@fritsch:
I am using wsnipex-xvba-testing

Here's my log http://pastebin.com/N5q2JpFs

Oke so for different video types you have different audio delays. You added this in advancedsettings.xml?
find
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #968
@Redfoox:
yes.

Link to wiki: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Use...ttings.xml
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-03 21:25 by fritsch.)
find
Redfoox Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #969
@fritsch:
Oke I will look into that since that is probably the case.

Thanks
find
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #970
If the delays differ from time to time, please remove pulseaudio and libasound2-plugins.
find
antovolk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #971
Hi, been lurking around here for a while, decided to register.
Planning to get the Acer Revo RL70, and I'm guessing this XVBA build would work better than OpenELEC (even though this has a Ubuntu install as well). So, if I follow the instructions on the first post (for preferably Eden, although do the tested git builds - that's Frodo, right? - work well as well?) I should all be set? Will be using it over HDMI on a Sony BRAVIA, streaming 720p (up to 6MBps) with mostly Dolby 5.1 (although I have a couple of movies with DTS) from XBMC Eden UPnP server on my Mac, and using plugins for streaming web video (YT, Apple Trailers etc.) Just listing all these details down so if there are any other bits I need to sort out aside from what's already in the first post, someone can point me in the right direction? Thanks a lot guys Smile
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-04 09:39 by antovolk.)
find
FernetMenta Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,368
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 66
Location: Munich
Post: #972
You would also find XvBA in OpenElec: http://openelec.tv/component/k2/item/245...l51-videos
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-04 10:09 by FernetMenta.)
find
antovolk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #973
(2012-08-04 10:09)FernetMenta Wrote:  You would also find XvBA in OpenElec: http://openelec.tv/component/k2/item/245...l51-videos

Okay thanks, so if I go for the latest OpenELEC Fusion beta I would get the same features XvBA wise as here, but without the whole Ubuntu UI/backend? I'm just currently confused which method at the moment is more stable - going down the OpenELEC beta route, or by manually installing everything on top of Ubuntu here (and people in this thread said before that this works better than OpenELEC)
find
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,329
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 144
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #974
@antovolk:
if you need a stable an reliable system, go with openelec. They already have the fifths beta and beta 6 will be released the next days, that fixes some outstanding bugs.

Our eden branch misses some fixes, the openelec guys integrated in their source, for example ASIC hang fix, youtube search workaround and so on. If you don't need the Desktop go with openelec.
find
guilmxm Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: France
Post: #975
Hi,

I have tested Openelec when looking for a stable and reliable system, it is very good and easy to use / upgrade, but finally preferred to revert to a normal Ubuntu installed with XBMC xvba, i encountered many boring bugs in Openelec making it not yet stable enough...

@fritsch
"Our eden branch misses some fixes, the openelec guys integrated in their source, for example ASIC hang fix" ? Do you mean this bug has finally been corrected ? (that would be great!)
@Fermenta
I posted something in a solved post (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=133071&page=2) i really need your help with zotac remote control and your lirc build :-)

Thks!

Please support my Blog, XBMC and Linux related :-)
http://youresuchageek.blogspot.com
find
Thread Closed