XBMC 11.0 Eden: Beta available now

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
kadeschs Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #121
Only things I've really noticed is some occasional video play studdering, Internet video streaming crashes, and many skins not updated yet and available on the repos. All in all, I've found it to be pretty good.
find
gismo22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Big Grin   
Post: #122
Hey, when is XBMC Eden v11 final?
Maybe you can estimate?!
Or when the xbmc-team offers a new beta (beta 2 or something like that?)


PS: Maybe a Admin of this forum can change my name from "gismo22^" to "gismo22". in the registration-field i enter the name with a "^" but i dont really want it. Smile THX
find
cmoi_jeff Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #123
Works perfectly on ATV2
find
tekdoc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #124
Hi guys. I am new to XBMC and the forum. Hope someone can help me. I was running 10.1 without any problems but installed Eden and now cannot get thumbnails with any new movie files I add. My old ones are still there. Is there a way to edit info for the movies in Eden? I have spent all evening trying to figure it out. Thanks in advance.
find
negubill Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #125
11 beta did not help XBMC loaded from TMDb
find
tekdoc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #126
? But is there a way to edit the info in Eden like there was in Dharma? Also if I select "Movies" under "Videos" instead of Movie names and thumbnails I get the generic film icon and a synopsis of the movie even though I have name and thumbnails chosen. I have to go to "Videos" then "Files" to see the names and thumbnails although only the movies I added pre Eden show thumbnails.
find
DravenGSX Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #127
I am loving Eden..

I did notice one bug - Setting the option to allow AirPlay caused the load time for XBMC from less than 5 seconds to a couple of minutes. Removing this setting does not resolve the problem. I had to uninstall and then reinstall to correct.

machine:
i5-2500k
8GB RAM
SATA III SSD
find
jabohn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #128
Got it on my AppleTV, connected via AFP to my mac. Seems to have trouble playing videos. It randomly stutters and then does one of the following:

- stops playing and goes back to the video list. If I try to the start the video again, it freezes for awhile then gives me an error message that the video is no longer there and would I like to remove it from the list
- stops playing and XMBC crashes, taking me back to the AppleTV interface
- complete freeze, requiring a reboot.

Sometimes I can get through entire 1/2 hour shows, other times it seems to happen more often.
find
RichH Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #129
RichH Wrote:Other query, is there likely to be a 64 bit release of XBMC, got 8 gig of RAM in the HTPC going to waste Rolleyes

baldmosher Wrote:OK, so I'm answering very late, but XBMC works fine on W7 x64. If you're on Linux I guess that's another kettle of fish...

Begall Wrote:Works perfectly on x64 Ubuntu too. No idea what his problem is!

No problem at all, it is just that as a 32 bit app it does not fully utilise all available RAM. System has 8 gig so only way to fully use that was if XBMC was a 64 bit app. Hence my question, if there was any plans to release a 64 bit version at some stage.
find
PaulC2K Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #130
I dont know if this is the wrong place to ask, seems fairly inappropriate to make a new thread about it though, nor could i find one that seemed relevant (to 'Recently Added'/'Latest Ep/Film' widget)...

I recently found out that home screen widget for 'Recently Added' widget (Confluences settings call it 'Recently added Videos', but on the home screen it shows as 'Latest Films/Episodes') no longer removes items which have been viewed, and its a change made directly to the core functionality.
Will we ever have the option to revert to the previous style? I liked being able to quickly see what had been added and hadnt been viewed yet, now it kinda feels exactly the same as the 'Recently Added' search type, except it shows far far less.

Maybe there was an important reason for this which im overlooking, but im hoping that even if there isnt (ie general preference), then maybe we could perhaps add the option to show or hide watched items from the widget?
It wouldnt be so bad if I could go into the 'recently added' view and disable viewed items, and it just influence that viewtype, but its a global change (or at least to that content-type) Sad

It becomes particularly annoying if i have to redo a section of library and repopulate it with old content, and it floods the 'latest' list, and previously i'd just re-set it as viewed and order would be restored, now it doesnt care if its new or old, seen or unseen, its just a visual but less effective 'Recently Added' viewtype which has the convenience of 1 button press less, but shows far less items (Confluence shows just 4 items).
find
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,182
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #131
Another issue/room for improvement with this is that pressing 'i' on the recently added items on the Confluence home screen should ideally take one to the info for that episode/movie but instead takes one to system info., which kind of breaks the use-case for the i key.

My XBMC stuff:
find
RavenNL Offline
Fan
Posts: 311
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Netherlands
Post: #132
PaulC2K Wrote:I dont know if this is the wrong place to ask, seems fairly inappropriate to make a new thread about it though, nor could i find one that seemed relevant (to 'Recently Added'/'Latest Ep/Film' widget)...

I recently found out that home screen widget for 'Recently Added' widget (Confluences settings call it 'Recently added Videos', but on the home screen it shows as 'Latest Films/Episodes') no longer removes items which have been viewed, and its a change made directly to the core functionality.
Will we ever have the option to revert to the previous style? I liked being able to quickly see what had been added and hadnt been viewed yet, now it kinda feels exactly the same as the 'Recently Added' search type, except it shows far far less.

Maybe there was an important reason for this which im overlooking, but im hoping that even if there isnt (ie general preference), then maybe we could perhaps add the option to show or hide watched items from the widget?
It wouldnt be so bad if I could go into the 'recently added' view and disable viewed items, and it just influence that viewtype, but its a global change (or at least to that content-type) Sad

It becomes particularly annoying if i have to redo a section of library and repopulate it with old content, and it floods the 'latest' list, and previously i'd just re-set it as viewed and order would be restored, now it doesnt care if its new or old, seen or unseen, its just a visual but less effective 'Recently Added' viewtype which has the convenience of 1 button press less, but shows far less items (Confluence shows just 4 items).

+1 I also noticed this and I completely agree with you.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find
sedmy1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #133
Hi developers,

I'm curious - when is going to be a next beta release? There is a lot of bugs fixed since beta 1 release.

Thanks for your great job :-)
find
Alexqw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #134
sedmy1 Wrote:I'm curious - when is going to be a next beta release? There is a lot of bugs fixed since beta 1 release.

I am not a developer, but it looks like the next beta is quite near...

---Alex
find
MidnightWatcher Offline
Fan
Posts: 310
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #135
I'd love the ability to hide the on screen volume level meter. I don't wanna see it every time I touch the volume control on my remote.

HTPC1: Q6600 4GB GTS 250 OS: Linux Mint 17 SKIN: Aeon Nox #1 ADD-ON: Cinema Experience REMOTE: XRMT

HTPC2: Zotac ND22 4GB 40GB SSD OS: OpenELEC 4.x SKIN: Bello #1 ADD-ON: Cinema Experience REMOTE: XRMT
find
Thread Closed