New User - Need a little setup help please
Question 
Hello all,

I am new to XBMC so I was hoping it would be ok to start this one thread and ask various questions in getting it setup (to provide close to the functionality I had with my MediaPortal system).

I do not need TV or TV card recording or support any more. For now, I really just need to be able to play my locally stored audio and video files. I will try to use the WiKi and search the forum before asking.

This is what I have done so far ...
Stopped MediaPortal from AutoStarting on Windows boot
Installed XBMC for Windows v10.1
- Setup Media Folders for MP3s, Video Files, and DVD Folders (VIDEO_TS)

Looks good so far ... your developers are doing a great job here ... very nice. Plasma display and Amp are working. I think the MCE remote needs some setup, but I will check the Wiki before asking about that.

Questions:
1. It's my understanding that XBMC uses it's own codecs, right? Nothing I have installed for MediaPortal to work (FFDShow, PowerDVD, etc.) should interfere with XBMC, right?

2. So far, most videos are fine (AVI-Divx/Xvid). 720p MKVs seem to be ok also (briefly tested). HOWEVER, I'm getting some pretty bad video skipping on all my 1080p MKVs. Isn't the machine described below good enough?

My HTPC config:
Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H miniATX (AMD 780G + SB700 Chipset)
- ATI Radeon HD 3200 (similar to HD2400) VGA-DVI-HDMI (Currently Disabled)
- Realtek ALC889A HD-Audio (Analog, SPDIF, HDMI)
AMD Athlon-64 X2 4200+ (2.2 Ghz) Dual-Core
2 x 1gb = 2gb : PC2-4200 DDR2-533 Hynix RAM (in Dual-Channel Mode)
AMD-ATI XFX 5670 1gb PCIe (HD-567x-ZNL3) VGA-DVI-HDMI
WD 4 x 1-TB (Black-7200) Sata HDD (1 via eSata)
DVD-ROM Nec ND-3500AG (IDE)
Happauge WinTV-HVR-1600 MCE PCI MCE 1183
Ultra LS-400 Power Supply

Windows XP Pro (32bit) SP3
MediaPortal 1.1.x
SAF 5.02 (FFDShow and other various codec helpers)

Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 7.2 HDMI Audio/Video Amplifier/Receiver (630 watts)