Release - PlayIt service : Play hosted video url remotely on XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Votes - 4.9 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nokiac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #316
Hi AJ, thanks a lot for your awesome addons. I used PlayIt with XBMC 12.2 a lot on my RPi.

I recently had to move to XBMC 13 alpha as my new Wandboard is supported only by these XBMC versions. I am having trouble getting PlayIt to start . I get the error.

Error Type: <type 'exceptions.NameError'>
Error Contents: name 'TurtleService' is not defined
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/root/.xbmc/addons/service.playitx/TurtleMain.py", line 14, in <module>
TurtleService.start('service.playitx', 'PlayIt', '/PlayIt', 8181, [8100, 8199])
NameError: name 'TurtleService' is not defined
-->End of Python script error report<--


I tried a lot of things, including removing all repos and just adding AJ repo again, and also installing PlayIt from Zip file, each time starting with a new XBMC data dir (.xbmc in home dir) , it doesnt help.

Is PlayIt expected to work with XBMC 13 ? ANd is there anything special I need to do for it?

Thanks Smile
find quote
ajay Offline
Donor
Posts: 938
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 34
Location: Matrix
Post: #317
I will be releasing a new version of playit that will fix it.
find quote
nokiac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #318
Cool Smile Looking forward to it.
find quote
gpetersons Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #319
Hi
problem for me
Raspberry Pi; Openelec 3.2.4

I have selected "1080"

This url max quality is 480p
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vU30FW7B...F6501FC04E
I think Playit sends to my TV 144p because quality is really bad - firefox plugin "send to xbmc" is working perfect here but don't have the play list function.

I think this is just for youtube movies below 720p

This is important for me because lot of cartoons my daughter is watching have quality below 720p

I love this addon (fast and simple)

EDIT:
I changed
/storage/.xbmc/addons/script.module.turtlex/lib/snapvideo/YouTube.py
VIDEO_QUAL_LOW to VIDEO_QUAL_SD

Code:
elif(qual == '18'):  # 270p/360p MP4
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)
            elif(qual == '22'):  # 1280x720 MP4
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_HD_720, url)
            elif(qual == '34'):  # 480x360 FLV
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)
            elif(qual == '35' and video_info.get_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD) is None):  # 854\\327480 SD
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)
            elif(qual == '36' and video_info.get_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_LOW) is None):  # 320x240
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)
            elif(qual == '37'):  # 1920x1080 MP4
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_HD_1080, url)
            elif(qual == '38' and video_info.get_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_HD_1080) is None):  # 4096\\3272304 EPIC MP4
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_HD_1080, url)
            elif(qual == '43' and video_info.get_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_LOW) is None):  # 360 WEBM
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)
            elif(qual == '44' and video_info.get_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD) is None):  # 480 WEBM
                video_info.add_video_link(VIDEO_QUAL_SD, url)

I know this is not right but it helped for me
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-19 00:40 by gpetersons.)
find quote
sachila Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #320
Youtube plugin works just fine with vevo videos (through a fix) but with PlayIt fails vevo video and shows nothing.
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-24 06:01 by sachila.)
find quote
mujunk Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #321
(2014-01-07 06:28)ajay Wrote:  
(2014-01-05 19:13)mujunk Wrote:  Hi Ajay, Any chance the Youku addon could be supported by Play-It?

Is there any other add-on parses Youku which could be used?

Found one finally Here...and tested that Youku links work!
Fingers crossedSmile
find quote
wowowow Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Smile  RE: PlayIt service : Play hosted video url remotely on XBMC
Post: #322
This is amazing! Thank you so much!
find quote
cosmic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #323
Hello Aj
Youtube streaming and such works perfectly, nice job there, even if it was quite hard to get the add-on installed correctly.I almost gave up... Only, I still look for a solution for Viaplay.se, for which there is currently no working add-on for XBMC either for Windows, Linux or NAS devices. Via Android phone and HDMI adapter to TV it works, but is not the smartest solution. I thought your add-on would solve it, but that is not the case.

Viaplay uses Silverlight for streaming film, but Flash for the OS 2014 sport. It's the latter one which I firsthand try to get working.
I have a payed account at Viaplay, and am logging in to the account via Firefox.(Playing in Firefox works of course.)
find quote
flappy81 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #324
(2014-01-11 11:15)ajay Wrote:  
(2014-01-11 07:03)angad16 Wrote:  I cannot install the addon. I added the repo but in xbmc it shows up nothing.

Force Refresh repository

Having the same problem, even after refreshing. Also I have tried to install the plugin .zip directly, but only got: "dependencies not met".

Sorry if this is a noob question. Huh
find quote
kruykaze Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #325
Is it possible to add more XBMC devices and switch between them in the addon?
find quote
masinad Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #326
can you add 9gag.tv support, so that I dont need to go youtube to play in xbmc.
find quote
nokiac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #327
Hi AJ,

I was wondering if you had a chance to fix PlayIt for XBMC 13 Gotham version, since we are looking at a beta now.

Thanks for your awesome work here Smile
find quote
jackfifield Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #328
(2013-12-28 15:35)tinybutstrong Wrote:  How to disable the message "Playit Service has started" when XBMC is starting?

I would also like to be able to do this, as it happens every time I turn on my media centre as well as making an annoying noise. My current workaround is to just disable the add-on until I need to use it, but this is cumbersome. Otherwise, I love the add-on Smile
find quote
ajay Offline
Donor
Posts: 938
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 34
Location: Matrix
Post: #329
(2014-03-09 03:30)jackfifield Wrote:  
(2013-12-28 15:35)tinybutstrong Wrote:  How to disable the message "Playit Service has started" when XBMC is starting?

I would also like to be able to do this, as it happens every time I turn on my media centre as well as making an annoying noise. My current workaround is to just disable the add-on until I need to use it, but this is cumbersome. Otherwise, I love the add-on Smile

it will be disabled in next release.

(2014-03-08 06:39)nokiac Wrote:  Hi AJ,

I was wondering if you had a chance to fix PlayIt for XBMC 13 Gotham version, since we are looking at a beta now.

Thanks for your awesome work here Smile

It will be ready by then..
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-10 00:13 by ajay.)
find quote
jackfifield Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #330
Thank you Smile
find quote
Post Reply