Nito Tv & Seas0npass

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
i've jailbroke my atv dozens of times but never with seas0n pass. It always came equipped with nito & xbmc..etc. But on the latest jailbreak of 4.4.4 i can't seem to ssh nito tv to install.

It is jailbroke it has the FC symbol in the corner. I can ssh into it. I follow the commands

apt-get install wget
wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16129573/com.nito.deb
dpkg -i com.nito.deb
apt-get update
apt-get install com.nito.nitotv
killall Lowtide

and i have tried 10 other ones similar but it keeps installing then it locks up Winscp and i have to hit abort and never get to do the killall lowtide command. I cant give a log because i dont have xbmc on it yet or nito tv...unless there is a log hidden somewhere after you jailbreak.
I have been doing this for some time and have had ups and downs but does anybody know of a way to get nito tv on with a package installation instead of ssh commands? thanks and sorry if there was a way to paste a log without xbmc being installed.
find quote
pooh Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=99315
find quote
Marc100 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
echo “deb http://atp.awkwardtv.org ./” > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/awkwardtv.list

apt-get update

apt-get install com.nito.nitoTV

killall Lowtide
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Marc100 Wrote:echo “deb http://atp.awkwardtv.org ./” > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/awkwardtv.list

apt-get update

apt-get install com.nito.nitoTV

killall Lowtide


i tried those exactly cut and paste 15 times...and it gets to the part about
apt-get install com.nito.nitoTV and then locks up my winscp program. I then have to abort and it seems like nothing happens. I then log back in and try killall lowtide and it does reset the apple tv but no nito tv appears.

i tried the link you gave pooh....i am clearly jailbroke and it does have the red FC logo in the corner. It just seems nito tv commands are not working for me.
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
i am now getting the error E "type Deb is not known on line 1? seems i cant run any commands?
find quote
barrmy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
have you tried any other ssh programs like putty?
find quote
crawl Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #7
It might be easier to get the new aTV Flash(black) app, and run that from a computer on the same network as the AppleTV. That should install nitoTV. When you run it from another computer, it scans the network for any AppleTV, identifies it, and installs the Maintenance tab in the regular AppleTV menu. You can then install nitoTV from the Maintenance tab.
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I didn't want to drop 40 bucks for the atv flash when I've never had to use an outside program before. Just wondering if anyone on here was on 4.4.4 and had nito tv working
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
barrmy Wrote:have you tried any other ssh programs like putty?

I did look at putty but It was no where near as easy as winscp. I have used winscp for a year or two and never had trouble. This is the first jailbreak I ever did that didn't have nito preloaded and I don't know why the commands aren't finishing
find quote
brownbear1984 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Post: #10
I've found in the past when using winscp to ssh it tends to lock up if the device asks you a question back (Are you sure? etc) best bet is to use putty from here, typing the ip address in and clicking open. Then all you have to do is type your username and password and then copy and paste the commands above.
find quote
rayble Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
I had same problem but I used putty and it was easy took maybe 5 min. I only use winscp to put icefilms and navi-x on the atb2
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
i know i risk sounding like a moron...but what username and password would they be asking for? i dont really have any kind of password protection for the internet or logging on as administrator. If i sound stupid sorry but i've always used winscp and all you have to do is add the ip address and alpine.
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
username and passwords for what? because i dont have any on my computer for the internet or logging on
find quote
brownbear1984 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Post: #14
kucarachi Wrote:username and passwords for what? because i dont have any on my computer for the internet or logging on


Username: root
Password: alpine

They're the default ones for the Apple tv.
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-04 10:57 by brownbear1984.)
find quote
kucarachi Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
thanks bear that did get me in...sorry i didnt realize it was the same easy way to get onto the apple tv as winscp. But now it says line malformed when i get to the apt-get update part of it...the same thing it says when i do it on winscp only it says e: error in line.

am i supposed to leave out the " " quotation marks? i've tried with or without and am getting line errors....
find quote
Post Reply