WHS 2011+ Ubuntu + xbmc
Guys and gals,

I really reaching out of frustration here. I'm relatively new to Ubuntu so please keep that in mind. I have a home built whs 2011 which does a fine job of sharing files to my win 7 boxes in the house however, I'm really struggling to figure out how to get this working with my Ubuntu boxes!! Are there any write ups on this or am I on my own?
Can u not just browse to your whs from in XBMC using add source ? I found it useful to create a user xbmc with password on whs giving read & write permissions.
Noli illegitimi carborundum

Unfortunately, no. I've set up an NFS share now so I think I might just try to map that.... I've been running into issues getting it to map but that has more to do with me being a noob at ubuntu I think. I'm going to keep looking around for a solution. Doesn't eden support NFS shares ootb?
I also run a WHS 2011 and got it to work like this:

Add a new video source and click browse:

Add a network location:

Enter the hostname or ip of your windows home server 2011 box: (note i didnt enter any user / pass as all my share are accessible to "Guests")

It should now appear as a share:

You should be able to see any of the shared folders inside that:

I have no idea why but Windows Home Server 2011 will not appear in the SMB network with any other Windows machines, however adding it fine like that works perfectly for me on the 10.1 release of XBMC running on Linux.

Its worth mentioning the 10.1 release patched a bug where XBMC running on Linux could not view network shares on Windows Vista / 7 / Server 2008 and WHS 2011. If you are on an older version of XBMC that could also by why.