[RELEASE] Radio Add-on (rad.io, radio.de, radio.fr) Music Plugin

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Smile  [RELEASE] Radio Add-on (rad.io, radio.de, radio.fr) Music Plugin
Post: #1
Hi,
[Image: icon.png]
I'm happy to announce my newest addon "Radio". It is a music plugin to provide quick access to more than 7000 international radio broadcasts (powered by the websites http://www.rad.io (English), http://www.radio.de (German) and http://www.radio.fr (French)). I hope it is a good replacement/addition for the shoutcast and icecast addons. Please note that there are more then just "only internet radio stations" accessible via this addon.

The root-Menu contains:
- Editorials Recommendations
- Top 100 Stations
- Browse by genre
- Browse by topic
- Browse by country
- Browse by city
- Browse by language
- Local Stations
- Search for Station
- My Stations

You can browse the stations via 115 genres, 59 topics, 94 countries, 1010 cities or 63 languages (all translated to English, German and French).
You can also put any station to the list of "My Stations" (with context menu) for quick access.

If you have any comments or feature requests feel free to reply here, do it on github or write me a mail to sphere@dersphere.de

The addon is present in the official xbmc.org addon repository (dharma, eden, frodo).

Changelog:
Code:
2.3.0 (29.11.2013)
    - added playback for asx playlists (e.g. BBC)
    - added blayback for xml playlists
    - improved station search

2.2.1 (11.08.2013)
    - updated translations
    - added new addon.xml tags

2.2.0 (11.03.2013)
    - better station logos
    - better add-on icon
    - changed to xbmcswift2 v2.4.0
    - small code improvements
    - use random server on playlists (instead first one)
    - update translations

2.1.3 (26.12.2012)
    - better station logos
    - fix unicode error
    - change to xbmcswift 1.3.0

2.0.2 (16.12.2012)
    - fix no genre available (resulted in script error)

2.0.1 (03.11.2012)
    - added migration code to convert old my_stations to new system
    - fixed unicode in custom station title
    - Added spanish translation (thx to Patrizia)
    - Added french translation (thx to stombi)

2.0.0 (unreleased)
    - Code Rewrite
    - Possibility to add custom (user defined) Stations
    - Thumbnail View (You can disable in the add-on settings)
    - Change to the xbmcswift2 framework
    - New Icon
    - Possibilty to add Stations to the XBMC Favorites

1.1.1 (Unreleased)
    - Added spanish translation (thx to Patrizia)

1.1.0 (13.07.2012)
    - New My Station logic (listing should be much faster after initial migration)
    - Small fixes

1.0.7 (unreleased)
    - Fixed: error in language_guessing
    - Fixed: routes (fix xbmcswift-xbox usecase)

1.0.6 (05.03.2012)
    - Fixed: error if a station was added to the list of mystations but has become unavailable
    - Improved error catching
    - Improved: Show bitrate in "kbit/s", not "B"

1.0.5 (26.02.2012)
    - Fixed .m3u playlists with empty lines (thx to Malte_Schroeder)

1.0.4 (18.02.2012)
    - Fixed python <2.5 error
    - Added french translation (thx to stombi)

1.0.3 (07.02.2012)
    - added workaround for streams with .m3u and .pls files
    - changed: show full context menu

1.0.2 (29.01.2012)
    - Fix error with UTF-8 characters in search string

1.0.1 (13.01.2012)
    - Initial Release

Thanks,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-29 09:50 by sphere.)
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #2
I assume "no feedback" is "no issues" Smile

So if there are no feature requests I will request a pull to the official repo in a few days...

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #3
Most of the Greek FM Radios missing while present in TuneInStare
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #4
phileas50 Wrote:Most of the Greek FM Radios missing while present in TuneInStare

OK.

So there are just 5000 radios available with this addon - and of course, it does not list all worldwide available stations.

But I'm happy for your that the radio stations you want to listen are present in _any_ xbmc addon Smile

If this addon would have identical content like the tunein addon i wouldn't have dont it: No one wants two addons with identical content...

If you want a station to be added you can try to write either the radio station an email with pleasing them to be added to radio.de (or rad.io or radio.fr) or you can write direct to radio.de.

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
BlaY0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hi sphere,

Thanks for this useful plugin but I have a problem with it.

On my HTPC with Ubuntu Karmic (9.10) and XBMC 10.1 I'm getting this exception:
Code:
19:25:15 T:140022481103120 M:1543614464  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136  NOTICE: Radio addon: get_stream started with id=8744
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136  NOTICE: Radio.de scraper: get_station_by_station_id started with language=english, station_id=8744
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136  NOTICE: Radio.de scraper: __get_json started with path=broadcast/getbroadcastembedded, gets={'broadcast': '8744'}, language=english
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136  NOTICE: Radio.de scraper: __get_json opening url=http://rad.io/info/broadcast/getbroadcastembedded?broadcast=8744
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136  NOTICE: Radio.de scraper: __get_json ended with 681 bytes result
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136   ERROR: Error Type: exceptions.TypeError
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136   ERROR: Error Contents: coercing to Unicode: need string or buffer, tuple found
19:25:17 T:140022481103120 M:1543643136   ERROR: Traceback (most recent call last):
                                              File "/home/xbmc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.audio.radio_de/addon.py", line 286, in ?
                                                plugin.run()
                                              File "/home/xbmc/.xbmc/addons/script.module.xbmcswift/lib/xbmcswift/plugin.py", line 330, in run
                                                self.dispatch(self.path)
                                              File "/home/xbmc/.xbmc/addons/script.module.xbmcswift/lib/xbmcswift/plugin.py", line 129, in dispatch
                                                return view_func(**items)
                                              File "/home/xbmc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.audio.radio_de/addon.py", line 208, in get_stream
                                                station = scraper.get_station_by_station_id(language, id)
                                              File "/home/xbmc/.xbmc/addons/plugin.audio.radio_de/resources/lib/scraper.py", line 112, in get_station_by_station_id
                                                if station['streamURL'].endswith(('m3u', 'pls')):
                                            TypeError: coercing to Unicode: need string or buffer, tuple found
19:25:17 T:140022958069824 M:1543643136   ERROR: Playlist Player: skipping unplayable item: 7, path [plugin://plugin.audio.radio_de/station/8744/]
Am I missing something (it's rather stripped down installation of Ubuntu)? Python is 2.6.4.

I also tried your plugin with latest stable OpenELEC (Python 2.6.6) and it works there just fine.

Any idea?

Thanks,

BlaY0
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #6
BlaY0 Wrote:Am I missing something (it's rather stripped down installation of Ubuntu)? Python is 2.6.4.

I also tried your plugin with latest stable OpenELEC (Python 2.6.6) and it works there just fine.

Any idea?

Thanks,

BlaY0

Hi,

thanks for the report. I already found (and solved) that issue. The Pull is also already requested but still not on the repo. You can wait for the update or - if you are able to - you can fix it yourself, see here for the needed change.

Requested for pull is dharma 0.0.4, eden 1.0.4.

Btw. pydoc says: "Changed in version 2.5: Accept tuples as suffix". And so I assume that you have python v2.6.x installed on your ubuntu box but xbmc is using its own python v2.4.x for the execution of the addon code. In openelec xbmc is compiled with the "use external python"-flag and shipped with python v2.6.x.

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
BlaY0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Ahh, disregard Wink

I applied commit 4e735e1dc70b15947e... from you git. At first I wasn't sure coz it says "fixed error with python <2.5" and I have 2.6.4. But it worked Smile

Thanks again for your contribution.

EDIT: Ewh... your response was fast! Thanx again for the clarification.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-19 21:38 by BlaY0.)
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #8
BlaY0 Wrote:Ahh, disregard Wink

I applied commit 4e735e1dc70b15947e... from you git. At first I wasn't sure coz it says "fixed error with python <2.5" and I have 2.6.4. But it worked Smile

Thanks again for your contribution.

Cool, thanks for the report Smile
And you are right, my commit message was not good chosen Wink

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
BlaY0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Well, regarding that Ubuntu XBMC package uses its own python 2.4 (which I wasn't aware of till now), I guess that message is OK Wink
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-19 22:03 by BlaY0.)
find quote
emagin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
This is probably a skin question but I'm a bit of a Noob here.
How would I move "My Stations" to someplace high up on my Music area?
I just wish to punch into a couple of radio stations each day and I have to do a lot of clicking down to get to My Stations.
Can one feature these or link them to the home screen somehow?

Thank you.

| Frodo| Windows7 64b | Acer Aspire Revo 3610 3GB |
| Frodo | PeppermintOS 3 | Dell Dimension 3100 | 2GB |
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #11
emagin Wrote:This is probably a skin question but I'm a bit of a Noob here.
How would I move "My Stations" to someplace high up on my Music area?
I just wish to punch into a couple of radio stations each day and I have to do a lot of clicking down to get to My Stations.
Can one feature these or link them to the home screen somehow?

Thank you.

Hi,

yes, this is primary a skin-question. But I can tell you what is available for the skin:
- You can add folders or entries ("My Stations" is a folder, each station is an entry) to your (xbmc-)favourites. Favourites should be available in the home screen of each skin.

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
djteaser Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I'm found out today that "my stations" isn't working anymore. I get a script error in addon.py

I have to mention that i'm running xbmc eden RC2 as of yesterday.

any solutions?
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #13
djteaser Wrote:I'm found out today that "my stations" isn't working anymore. I get a script error in addon.py

I have to mention that i'm running xbmc eden RC2 as of yesterday.

any solutions?

Hi,

It is working here. Please update your xbmc.log (no debug needed) to pastebin and send me a link via PM or reply here.

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
MeC!as Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hi,

and thanks for the plugin.

Is it anyhow possible to report not working radiostations and add stations they are not listed in the plugin?
find quote
sphere Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,205
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 50
Location: Germany
Post: #15
MeC!as Wrote:Hi,

and thanks for the plugin.

Is it anyhow possible to report not working radiostations and add stations they are not listed in the plugin?

Hi,

please report not working stations to me - then I will investigate the reason. If it is related to the addon I will fix it. If not I report it to the station aggregator.

I am working on the possibility for adding new stations - but this will take some time. I can write you a PM if there is something for beta testing if you like.

regards,
sphere

My GitHub. My Add-ons:
[Image: IOoywq0.jpg]
find quote
Post Reply