[RELEASE] 4oD (Video) Addon - UK Channel 4 on demand

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
OccupyCouch Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #106
Does this addon work if you're not in the UK?
find
edwinchester Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #107
mikey1234 Wrote:here is working default.py i have uploaded to mediafire

just over write existing please backup old first

http://www.mediafire.com/?vpxz3k6fxbbxp7n


Copied mikey's default.py and back up and running again sort of, plays a bit then cuts off, still not right

btw, lusephur what section is The Word under? Can't see it under music
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-10 01:21 by edwinchester.)
find
castalla Offline
Fan
Posts: 555
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #108
OccupyCouch Wrote:Does this addon work if you're not in the UK?


Only if you have a vpn or suchlike.
find
lusephur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #109
edwinchester Wrote:Copied mikey's default.py and back up and running again sort of, plays a bit then cuts off, still not right

btw, lusephur what section is The Word under? Can't see it under music

It's not The Word per se, but The Best Of The Word, look under chat shows
find
debully Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #110
can honestly say that since installing the default.py above it's the best it has ever been for me.

Can actually watch shows all the way through, such a 10 o'clock live, without cutting off after x amount of minutes or adverts.

I am a registered user of the 4od website, but I have been for ages and still had problems with the plugin.

wierdness afoot.

UK/be/Win7x86sp1/Installed from Repo/mikeys default.py/edenrc2
find
torch1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #111
debully Wrote:fantastic, cheers.

The Hoobs are now back in town which gives me more time to make the dinner which gives me more time to do the vacuuming which gives her more time to play with sprog which increases my chances of getting some marital privileges. I s**t you not!

Saving lives man.

This made me and the missus laugh A LOT. Laugh
find
torch1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #112
Back on topic, still having issues here even after using mikeys default.py

Doesn't seem to make much sense either, missus is trying to watch one born every minute (oh god) and some will play fine, some just script error and some will kick out after a second but then be ok if you go back in to 'now playing'

ATV2/Eden RC2
find
thebearnecessit Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #113
I HAD A PROBLEM WITH THIS ADDON BUT MADE PROGRESS A FEW MINUTES AFTER I POSTED SO THIS POST HAS DETAILS OF MY PROBLEM AND DETAILS OF HOW I MADE SOME PROGRESS:

PROBLEM: I'm getting a minute or two and then the stream finishes and puts me back to the 4od menu.

Can anyone help? My log is below.

http://pastebin.com/pRTcQVzx

I'm using windows xp, eden beta 2 and using 4od ver 1.0.1 from the repositry, and i have downloaded the rtmp zip and pointed the addon towards the exe. I have also replaced my default.py file in the addon folder (as per 24th feb post here: http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=2)

there is a more recent issue here: http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=3 but its unclear from that page exactly what the problem is, whether its fixable or how to fix it)

am i supposed to run the exe at any point? or just point the add-on towards it?

SOLUTION:


Quote:
(2012-01-30 19:59)deaddox Wrote:  I can report a bit of new strange activity.

I tried the plugin again today and it was still not working.
I then decided that i would create a log file. So i first went to the 4OD site to check it worked on the PC.

I then enabled debug.

Selected a file that 5 min earlier stopped after a min or so and it now played for over 10 min before i stopped the file.

I tried a few more and they all seem to work now.

I have no idea why its suddenly working. Off the top of my head it was either random chance. Or either visiting the 4od site some how authorised my IP address or debug mode fixed it.

Can some 1 try going to the 4od site from a computer that's behind there router but not there XBMC device and see if that helps.

Dox

Thanks, this worked for me. I wonder if I have to do it every time I want to use the addon? sorry i shouldve tried it from my laptop as per the last line of your post but somehow i didnt read the last line of your post till now.

SUMMARY: i had problems with this addon, followed various fixes etc (including simply watching a minute of a 4OD stream using my browser prior to trying the addon in xbmc), and its working at the moment. but obviously going to the 4OD website using my browser every time is not practical and defeats the purpose of xbmc with a remote from the couch.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 16:11 by thebearnecessit.)
find
njtaylor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #114
(2012-03-12 12:25)thebearnecessit Wrote:  I'm getting a minute or two and then the stream finishes and puts me back to the 4od menu.

Can anyone help? My log is below.

http://pastebin.com/pRTcQVzx

I'm using windows xp, eden beta 2 and using 4od ver 1.0.1 from the repositry, and i have downloaded the rtmp zip and pointed the addon towards the exe.

am i supposed to run the exe at any point? or just point the add-on towards it?
You only need to point the add-on to the rtmpdump.exe.

From your log...

ERROR: RTMP_HashSWF: swfurl http://www.channel4.com/static/programme...11.8.5.swf not found

If you read back through the forum, you will see that 4od site changed and 4odplayer-11.8.5.swf became 4odplayer-11.21.2. See issue 2 in this list...

http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo/issues/list

Issue 2 also contains updates attached which can be downloaded. Or there is an update available to be downloaded in the forum.

There is no update supplied for Issue 3 in list.
find
thebearnecessit Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #115
Thanks for taking the time to post back.

I think I came across the issue 2 info after I posted (and ive since edited my post to say that I tried the issue 2 solutions).

I replaced my default.py with the default.py in the issue 2 page. I've searched my default.py for 11.8.5 just to double check and found no reference to it. so I have the right default.py. but i was still getting thrown out of every stream after a minute or two.

The only solution i've found is to look up 4od in my browser before trying the addon and that worked!

I'm not sure if i have to do that after every reboot because i havent tried it yet.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-12 15:43 by thebearnecessit.)
find
njtaylor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #116
These are my results for test of 4od play/downloads on Windows XP running XBMC Eden RC2, using updated version of 4od plugin I created. Every time the play/download started without problems within a few seconds, there were no script errors, and no stopping after a few minutes.

I did not visit the 4od site using a browser, I haven't registered with 4od, or signed on or selected parental guidance options. Used no other PC to access the 4od site, while running the tests.

This matches the experience when using get_flash_videos on OpenBSD, once the 'll' CDN fix had been made 4od programmes all downloaded without issues generally on the first attempt as was the case prior to the latest 4od site change.

The things I did :
  • The existing XBMC Eden Beta 2 was uninstalled, and the XBMC Eden RC2 installed.
  • I made sure I used a good version of rtmpdump/librtmp.dll (librtmp.so.0 on linux/OSX). The rtmpdump I installed into c:\rtmpdump I know this is an up to date version. The old librtmp.dll versions installed with XBMC Eden RC2, where renamed to librtmp.dll.old, and the librtmp.dll was copied from c:\rtmpdump into the two directories where the older versions had been found (there shouldn't be two/three copies in the first place). Old rtmpdump or librtmp can cause a number of different issues, including the video playing for a short time and stopping, it can also be tricked into working using a different PC accessing the same site, or not work at all.
  • The zip file from http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=3 was used, extracting into c:\Documents and Settings\Nigel\Application Data\XBMC\addons
    on the overwriting prompt response was yes to all files. (the plugin had been installed previously with Eden Beta 2 - uninstalling XBMC doesn't remove it). This solves the issue with the Script Errors when the 'll' CDN is used, and includes the previous 4odplayer-11.8.5.swf to 4odplayer-11.21.2.swf change without which, downloads stop after a few minutes.
The updated plugin.video.4od zip file or default.py is available from
http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=3

Zip file is also attached here
.zip  plugin.video.4od-1.0.1c.zip (Size: 24.56 KB / Downloads: 46) ,
default.py is attached
.txt  default.py.1.0.1c.txt (Size: 13.04 KB / Downloads: 36) , this need to be renamed and replace the existing default.py.

For anyone willing to try on other systems. This should cure the Script Errors.
find
falafael Offline
Fan
Posts: 498
Joined: Aug 2006
Reputation: 1
Location: Nottinghamshire, united kingdom
Post: #117
hi talyor, i got you zip file, and installed, it works upto the point where it asks to download or play, i click play and the working wheel comes on for about 2 seconds and then nothing happens, this has always been the case with 4od and demand five too, all other plugins work just fine..any ideas anyone?

[Image: widget]
find
thebearnecessit Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #118
so the instructions t get this addon working are something like this?

ADDON ZIP: download & unzip the zip file from this page http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=3 (unzip into your xbmc addons folder)

EXTRA FILES: download rtmpdump from http://rtmpdump.mplayerhq.hu/ (windows download is halfway down that page and includes a "librtmp.dll" file too). put rtmpdump anywhere (as long as the path doesnt have any spaces in it so maybe put it in its own folder directly onto the c:\ drive just to be sure) and then use the addon settings to tell the addon where you have saves rtmpdump. then replace your existing librtmp.dll (do a search of your computer if you dont know where it is) with the new librtmp.dll that just downloaded above.

is that about right?
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 19:31 by thebearnecessit.)
find
njtaylor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #119
(2012-03-13 15:47)falafael Wrote:  hi talyor, i got you zip file, and installed, it works upto the point where it asks to download or play, i click play and the working wheel comes on for about 2 seconds and then nothing happens, this has always been the case with 4od and demand five too, all other plugins work just fine..any ideas anyone?
The xbmc.log should give a clue to the problem, as demand five is not working either that suggests your rtmpdump / librtmp libraries version are old. BBC Iplayer uses rtmp, only rtmpe streams used by Demand 5 / 4od fails on the handshake. Upload you xbmc.log to paste bin and include a link in your then someone can find or confirm the problems. If windows as don't use a path with spaces, rtmpdump.exe will not be found
(2012-03-13 16:24)thebearnecessit Wrote:  so the instructions t get this addon working are something like this?

ADDON ZIP: download & unzip the zip file from this page http://code.google.com/p/nibor-xbmc-repo...etail?id=3 (unzip into your xbmc addons folder)

EXTRA FILES: download rtmpdump from http://rtmpdump.mplayerhq.hu/ (windows download is halfway down that page and includes a "librtmp.dll" file too). put trmpdump anywhere and then point the addon in xbmc towards it in the addon settings. then replace your existing librtmp.dll (do a search of your computer if you dont know where it is) with the one that you downloaded.

is that about right?
About right, the rtmpdump path should avoid spaces, I used c:\rtmpdump as the directory.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-13 19:09 by njtaylor.)
find
dan98 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #120
Thanks for clarifying - seems to work great again.
find
Thread Closed