Xbmc freezes lock-ups when starting videos

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
alfton Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
I to experience this problems some times, with fresh installed XBMCbuntu. And it happends more offen when you try to start movie from a point there you stopet the movie.
I will try to reporduce this error when i come home and post the crashlog here.

I have a zotac ion2. So I think this is not hardware problems, its software.

(latest version of the NVidia driver installed)
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-13 12:59 by alfton.)
find quote
schbmmd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
Encountering same exact issue on a Dell Inspiron 630 with Geforce 8600GT.

Can post logs .
find quote
Tolarian Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
Got the crash again today, I had debug logging enabled. Default skin enabled. This is not the complete log as it did not fit on pastebin. The last line looks interesting: http://pastebin.com/AwWa06tG


17:08:02 T:2919234416 ERROR: GetDelay - snd_pcm_delay, alsa error: -32 - Broken pipe
find quote
Pyromaniac Offline
Donor
Posts: 157
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Germany
Post: #34
Maybe I've found something for the "alsa 32 error":

http://rivendell.tryphon.org/wiki/Garble...run_errors

its with a Workaround, but its for Ubuntu 8.04, so I don't know if it's working for other releases.
find quote
Tolarian Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
rd.conf seems to be a config file only for rivendell, the linux radio program. I would not know where to put the correct options for XBMC.
find quote
stephb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
To the XBMC devs. I'm experiencing the same issue where the audio starts for about 5 seconds but no video (besides the timer, etc.) and then freezes hard. Here are a couple log files I've copied after a couple crashes.

I'm using a Acer Revo on Ubuntu 11.10 x64

http://pastebin.com/Lyh6pDAz

http://pastebin.com/bvTuE15A

Hope this helps find a cure.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,370
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 66
Location: Munich
Post: #37
(2012-04-18 02:54)stephb Wrote:  To the XBMC devs. I'm experiencing the same issue where the audio starts for about 5 seconds but no video (besides the timer, etc.) and then freezes hard. Here are a couple log files I've copied after a couple crashes.

I'm using a Acer Revo on Ubuntu 11.10 x64

http://pastebin.com/Lyh6pDAz

http://pastebin.com/bvTuE15A

Hope this helps find a cure.

Code:
21:59:33 T:139756802205568   DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 40, sym: 0134, unicode: 0000, modifier: 0
21:59:33 T:139756802205568   DEBUG: OnKey: leftalt (f0d4) pressed, action is
21:59:33 T:139756802205568   DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (Pointer.xml) ------
21:59:34 T:139756802205568   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnQuit from xbmc

This look weird. Might be caused by your MCE remote. Can you try with lirc and your mce disabled?

Please post only full debug logs.
find quote
stephb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Hmm... the wife won't like not being able to use the Harmony remote. Smile

I'll do some testing with it disabled and hopefully it will happen for me. It's odd that sometimes it'll happen every second video we start then other times it will last through a bunch. The funny thing is it has never happened for me when switching to the next video in a playlist (like hitting play on a show folder to queue up all the episodes).

Sorry about the abbreviated logs. They were pretty big and I didn't know it mattered. I'll post the full file next time.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,370
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 66
Location: Munich
Post: #39
You can do a quick test. Open a terminal in you X session and press numerical keys on you remote. Do the characters show up in the terminal? If this is the case you should setup Xorg to ignore this device.
find quote
crutzi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
(2012-04-18 02:54)stephb Wrote:  To the XBMC devs. I'm experiencing the same issue where the audio starts for about 5 seconds but no video (besides the timer, etc.) and then freezes hard. Here are a couple log files I've copied after a couple crashes.

I'm using a Acer Revo on Ubuntu 11.10 x64

http://pastebin.com/Lyh6pDAz

http://pastebin.com/bvTuE15A

Hope this helps find a cure.

I could reproduce those freezes; especially when you trigger a video while a slideshow is running (or from a python Window/XML), those freezes (no video, but ~5 seconds audio) happen really often...

Now i found something strange. As I've been developing, I used Unity in Ubuntu 11.10. When I re-login into XBMC standalone, or Unity-2D, I don't get those freezes. If I use Unity (3D) again, they are back after 5-10 tries?!

Downgraded nvidia from 295 to 280, no effect.
find quote
hernandito Offline
Fan
Posts: 456
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #41
Please I am having the same issue on my Acer Revo Aspire 1600... anybody have an idea what could be done about this? I would hate to have to downgrade my 2 HTPCs after all it took to get them on Eden.

Thanks,

H.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-23 03:48 by hernandito.)
find quote
alexvanniel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
Has anyone tried to upgrade to 12.04 (beta) yet to see if that fixes the issue? If not, I think I will try and do this as soon as I get some time free... been swamped with work at the moment.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-23 09:06 by alexvanniel.)
find quote
mikeboss Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
I am having the exactly same issues with eden! downgraded yesterday to 10.1 and everything's fine again...
find quote
Michiel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
(2012-04-23 10:15)mikeboss Wrote:  I am having the exactly same issues with eden! downgraded yesterday to 10.1 and everything's fine again...
@MikeBoss: Did u by any chance downgrade your XBMCBuntu XBMC to 10.1? If so, can u post a guide?

Im having the same problems on a Intel P4 system with a nVidia G210, disabling VDPAU fixes the isseu but brings big lag deu to my slow CPU. Also never had these problems with XBMC Live on version 10.1

Started debugging with nVidia driver 280 and upgraded to 290.40, had no effect on the VDPAU problems.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-23 14:22 by Michiel.)
find quote
ubiq Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
I'm having this exact same problem :/ And like said before, disabling VDPAU seems to fix it. Sadly it is not really an option.
find quote
Post Reply