PicoPSU Power Kits

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #46
Dougie Fresh I just noticed this 90W PICO is only a 20 PIN VS a 24 PIN.....

Would I have any issues?

"The extra four pins give two extra ground pins and two extra 12 volt supply pins. The extra pins on the motherboard are paralleled with the other existing ground and 12 volt pins, so the motherboard will operate without the four pin plug connected. However the extra pins give extra current carrying capacity (which is particularly important if you have a high power graphics card) giving improved reliability over the longer term. Failure to use the four pin connector can result in the 20 pin connector burning up."

also

http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/thread/674602.aspx


The extra 4 pins are additional 3.3V, 5V, 12V, and ground connections. They shouldn't be necessary with that board unless you try to add a 2nd slot powered video card, but the extra wires wouldn't hurt your voltage regulation.

Is this true....


Anyways.....

I read the manual on my board and it says:

Though this motherboard provides 24-pin ATX power connector, it can still work if
you adopt a traditional 20-pin ATX power supply. To use the 20-pin ATX power
supply, please plug your power supply along with Pin 1 and Pin 13

I was just worried a bit that it's an APU and it might need the extra 4 pins....Confused??
Or is it more when you add a PCI GPU?

I just tried the 20 PIN on the 350W ATX PSU and it seems to be running just fine.....

JAJA I forgot that I took off that YELLOW sticker off....

[Image: A75M-ITX-1.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 14:02 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #47
no need for the 4 extra pins Beer40.

i went through this with Poofy at the time and,

he said if u dont use a GPU, your totally safe with 20pins.

stop worrying.

Smile
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #48
Well, there is that and the fact you need to 4 pin Motherboard connector for the CPU.Though you could get a molex splitter for that.
find quote
filthycatbox Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #49
He already said that it comes with a p4 atx adapter.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,309
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 77
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #50
The nice thing about the picoPSU-90 is it comes with the P4 ATX already.

No worries on the 20-pin. You won't be using dual video cards with your setup Smile.
Budget picoPSU recommendation:
picoPSU-90 / 12V 90W AC adapter combo
http://www.ebay.com/itm/picoPSU-90-12V-7...0834084341
$54.95 @ Short-Circuit.com

Gold standard picoPSU recommendation:
picoPSU 120-WI-25 wide input (12V-25V)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/picoPSU-120-WI-2...0400959046
$50.00

Anker 120W 19V 6.3A AC adapter
http://www.amazon.com/Anker-PA3717U-1ACA...004D1AS7W/
$17.99

Johnny Guru picoPSU round-up:
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?nam...y&reid=207
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 16:38 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,298
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #51
20-pin is fine for APU......if you ever want to crossfire "AMD Radeon Dual Graphics" in the future, you might run into problem with 20-pin........just a thought!

This one "PicoPSU-150-XT ATX Mini Power Supply + 108 W Adapter" have the round DC connector with 24-pin ATX connector......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #52
Ok thank you guys the 90w PICO Rocks.....

That is what I thought if your are going to crossfire you need the 24 PIN......

Thanx......

Been running the 20 PIN 350 ATX for the past hours no problems..... Just making sure.....

Ok thank you.

It's crazy all this headaches came down to the crappy antec power supply.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #53
cant believe antec is craps out like that....

what about the ISK110 VESA and its built in PSU, wonder if its poop too...
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,298
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #54
(2012-05-12 18:21)eskro Wrote:  cant believe antec is craps out like that....
I think that we are asking too much of the internal 65W PSU.....it's probably over-powered by AMD APU......it's probably fine for the CPU with 35w ranges......

(2012-05-12 18:21)eskro Wrote:  what about the ISK110 VESA and its built in PSU, wonder if its poop too...
If you recall CptHook in this thread "XBMC Slim-2100", he is still enjoying it.......the wrong case "Antec 300-150" that he bought for his A6-3500 is still working fine too.....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 18:40 by bluray.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #55
pico de gallo FTW!!
find quote
smiffy1989 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
Could anyone tell me if a picoPSU could power this set up:

Zotac NM10-FE with 2GB DDR2 RAM (http://www.zotac.com/pdbrochures/mb/NM10...5)_v1.pdf)
XFX Radeon HD 6450 625M 1GB DDR3
2.5" SATA Hard Drive (Not SSD)

Also would I be able to do 3D 1080p playback with that setup using openelec?

Thanks.
find quote
Xexiz Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Boucherville, QC, Canada
Post: #57
So, basically if we build the A6-PACK, but want to add a slim blu-ray or DVD burner, I need an additional molex to sata like this?
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produc...1&format=2
[Image: 87971.jpg]

Having a hard time figuring this (from the pico90W specs)
[Image: picopsu90-90w-acdc-lg.jpg]
2x peripheral connectors (1x 4 pin molex/IDE/PATA and 1x SATA) (so this would be the 4pin white crap, and a sata power for the SSD)
1x P4 connector (this would be for the mobo)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,298
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #58
(2012-10-19 05:06)Xexiz Wrote:  So, basically if we build the A6-PACK, but want to add a slim blu-ray
This might be more suitable- picoPSU-120/10A 120W AC-DC + 6in LP4 to LP4 SATA Power Y Cable Adapter

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,309
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 77
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #59
For a slim blu-ray burner you need "Slimline SATA to SATA with LP4 Power Cable Adapter " that looks like this:

[Image: SlimSATA.jpg]

The 2-pin molex on the cable connects to the 4-pin molex power on the picoPSU and the SATA cable to one of the SATA ports on your motherboard. The other end plugs into the bluray drive.

I usually get mine from monoprice.com or Amazon.com, e.g.: http://www.monoprice.com/products/produc...1&format=2
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-19 05:43 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
Xexiz Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Boucherville, QC, Canada
Post: #60
(2012-10-19 05:40)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  For a slim blu-ray burner you need "Slimline SATA to SATA with LP4 Power Cable Adapter " that looks like this:

The 2-pin molex on the cable connects to the 4-pin molex power on the picoPSU and the SATA cable to one of the SATA ports on your motherboard. The other end plugs into the bluray drive.

I usually get mine from monoprice.com or Amazon.com, e.g.: http://www.monoprice.com/products/produc...1&format=2

Oh really, never saw those slim sata connectors before. Thanks for the tip! But would I need the 120psu bluray is talking about or I would be fine with a pico90?
Thanks guys so much! Smile
find quote