"Scan for new content" option not visible
I've been using XBMC for several months with no issues and have been using the "Scan for new content" option every time I added movies to my NAS. Haven't done any updates in a while since it has been working without issues (according to the system infor summary it was compiled Jun 23 last year). Since the beginning of this week however the "Scan for new content" option in the submenu does not appear anymore and have no idea why it has gone missing. I always use this function as I don't want XMBC to scrape my whole NAS, but just my movies folder (Update library is therefore not usable).

Does anyone have an idea why this option has disappeared and how this can be fixed?
I doubt it has changed.

If you can't get any context menus to appear, the battery in the remote may be getting flat.

If it is missing from the context menu:

Go to Videos -> Files.
Use the .. until you see your sources.
Highlight the source you want to update.
Press and hold menu.
Update source.

You really should update the to beta version. The one you are using is a fossil.
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install org.xbmc.xbmc-atv2
Even update library is not doing anything. I am using Mac mini using AFP.
Even mind reading is not working. I am using crystal ball and tea leaves.

Post a log file or nothing is going to happen.
I'm using xbmc on ATV2 iOS 4.2.2 (2203).

Since upgrading from Eden to Frodo Beta 1 (Git:20121125-aae04d99)
"Scan for new content" is no longer part of the context menu.

Only "Update library" is left, which is less practical for certain use cases.

Any chance that this entry disappeared by mistake and can be included again?
Romanes eunt domus
Are you using the default skin ?? Maybe something changed between builds and you are using a skin mod of some kind.

Just an idea as I happened to be in a situation like that Smile
I'm using Transparency and proudly can state that the idea came to me to check confluence before posting, yes