[ Request ] How access Apple TV2 from outside using internet?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
iptv4free Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I want to change some files or SHH to Apple TV2 from outside remotely. Is there any program to be used to access Apple TV2 like using local network and SHH. I don't want to use static IP. Any help is very welcome.
find quote
dizzyikea Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Grimsby
Post: #2
You could install a vpn server on a pc on your network or maybe on your router if you have nice firmware. Vpn on to network then ssh as normal

It would be much easier to use port fowarding but that would need static ip you didn't want

Solar Powered Server Xubuntu 13.04 Sickbeard+Sabnzbd+Couchpotato+Headphones+mysql running @ 20 watts
Home Clients ATV2, Ouya, Xubuntu and Windows 8 all 12.2
Moblie Clients SGS3, SG Note II both 12.2
Dark Knight RT-AC66U merlins build

[Image: widget]
find quote
ftafartout Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thank you for the reply.
Is there any more help how I can find VPN software or any other info to SSH an Apple TV2 from outside using internet. I need better solution without Static IP
find quote
dizzyikea Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Grimsby
Post: #4
What will host the VPN, which os or router?
Non static internaly or externally?

Solar Powered Server Xubuntu 13.04 Sickbeard+Sabnzbd+Couchpotato+Headphones+mysql running @ 20 watts
Home Clients ATV2, Ouya, Xubuntu and Windows 8 all 12.2
Moblie Clients SGS3, SG Note II both 12.2
Dark Knight RT-AC66U merlins build

[Image: widget]
find quote
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #5
1) Why not use static IPs?
2) Port forwarding is much easier.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find quote
iptv4free Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
The question is. How we can SHH to the Apple TV2 connected to the router not internet modem. It is easy, if the box is connected directly to the modem. in this case we can get the public IP event if is dynamic. The problem how we can do the same thing if the box is connected to the router wired or wireless. Any instruction will help all of us
find quote
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #7
Your last post made absolutely no sense.

You use port forwarding.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find quote
virgahyatt Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Carmichael, CA
Post: #8
1 you want to set a dhcp reservation on your router for the apple tv.
2 you forward the port you are going to use for ssh to the reserved address.
3 you will need a dynamic dns service such as dyndns.org.
4 you will need either a computer on the same network as the apple tv or sometimes the router will have an option to update the dns service with your current ip.
5 use your new domain as the address your ssh'ing into.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-25 07:11 by virgahyatt.)
find quote