MCE remote works fine except for repeating arrow keys (left, right, down, etc)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
quiller Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
First time poster, hopefully I'm not asking a terribly common or stupid question.

I've recently switched from using XBMC primarily on Ubuntu back to Windows and overall have been amazed by how easy the setup has been. I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate on an Acer Aspire Revo (R1600) with an MCE remote. Most of the remote functionality works out of the box without any issue, but there's a pretty big obstacle: the directional arrow keys like up, left, down and right don't repeat unless I press another key first. I haven't done any configuration outside of plugging in the IR receiver, but I did download Showkey20 and noticed that it doesn't register multiple key presses in succession, either.

I've tried searching the forums and everywhere online but haven't had much success getting anything specific. If anything, more people seem to have problems with keys repeating too fast rather than not at all!

FWIW, the same hardware and remote worked perfectly with XBMC running Ubuntu 10.04, and then I started the upgrade path and everything started breaking. By the time I got to 11.10 (latest version), I decided to give Windows a try.

Quick edit: I just discovered that if I press and hold the same arrow key, after a short delay the selection responds and starts moving. But pressing e.g. up with several seconds delay between each press does nothing.
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-31 07:07 by quiller.)
find quote
paccone Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
same issue : /

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1070735
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #3
What remote are you using? Is it one of the remotes listed in http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Remote_Control_Reviews

If the arrow buttons don't repeat outside of XBMC that suggests some problem with the remote. If you open a large text file in e.g. Notepad the arrow buttons should navigate in Notepad just like the arrow keys on the keyboard. Do the arrow buttons repeat in Notepad?

JR
find quote
argh! Online
Fan
Posts: 356
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Change your key repeat speed in keyboard settings. I had to set mine pretty low.
find quote
yd82 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
You can try EventGhost + MCE remote, I am using it and totally satisfied.
find quote