[WINDOWS][PATCH]Bitstream output of HD audio formats

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Votes - 4.76 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
serieofilo Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Post: #1291
Umm ... I've tried to demux the video/audio of this file using 'ffmpeg.exe' and I get a similar error:

Code:
C:\> ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -vcodec copy out.h264 -acodec copy out.aac

FFmpeg version SVN-r25099, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 the FFmpeg developers
  built on Sep 11 2010 03:32:41 with gcc 4.4.2
  configuration: --extra-cflags=-I/usr/i686-mingw32/include/ --extra-ldflags=-L/
usr/i686-mingw32/lib/ --extra-cflags=-U__STRICT_ANSI__ --extra-cflags=-D_MT --en
able-memalign-hack --arch=x86 --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=i586-mingw32msv
c- --enable-runtime-cpudetect --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-w32threads
--enable-libmp3lame --enable-libvorbis --enable-libopencore_amrwb --enable-libo
pencore_amrnb --enable-libfaac --enable-avisynth --enable-static --disable-share
d --extra-libs=-lfaac
  libavutil     50.26. 0 / 50.26. 0
  libavcore      0. 9. 0 /  0. 9. 0
  libavcodec    52.88. 0 / 52.88. 0
  libavformat   52.78. 4 / 52.78. 4
  libavdevice   52. 2. 2 / 52. 2. 2
  libavfilter    1.38. 3 /  1.38. 3
  libswscale     0.11. 0 /  0.11. 0
Assertion failed: s->chapters[i]->start <= s->chapters[i+1]->start, file libavfo
rmat/utils.c, line 2119

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.

So, I've downloaded the latest build of FFmpeg at http://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/ (git-9849515 - 2012-04-21) that includes libavformat 54.3.100 and bingo! I have two files (video + audio) separated. I'll try to remux using MKVToolnix to see if XBMC can use it.

Desktop & HTPC System:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66GHz || 4 x 2GB DDR2-1066 Kingston @ 1066MHz
Sapphire HD 6450 1GB || Dell UltraSharp 2009W @ 1680x1050 (using DVI) || Philips LCD 42PFL8404H @ 1920x1080 (using HDMI through Yamaha SR-301)
Yamaha YHT-S401 (SR-301 Receiver + NS-BR301 Speaker)
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-22 10:39 by serieofilo.)
find
DanielaE Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 30
Location: Germany
Post: #1292
(2012-04-21 22:14)Roman_V_M Wrote:  Here's Russian translation for the latest Eden including strings from HD audio build
Thanks a lot - merged to code base

ciao, Dani

AMD Fusion E-350/Win 8/custom XBMC, Yamaha RX-V1900, Pioneer DV-LX50, custom speakers
find
DanielaE Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 30
Location: Germany
Post: #1293
(2012-04-22 01:05)serieofilo Wrote:  File: libavformat/utils.c
Line: 2195
Expression: s->chapters[i]->start<=s->chapters[i+1]->start
Congratulations - it looks like you've hit a strangely authored media file where a chapter starts after the next one.

Sorry, but discussing this is completely off-topic in this thread.

ciao, Dani

AMD Fusion E-350/Win 8/custom XBMC, Yamaha RX-V1900, Pioneer DV-LX50, custom speakers
find
serieofilo Offline
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Post: #1294
(2012-04-22 10:51)DanielaE Wrote:  Sorry, but discussing this is completely off-topic in this thread.

Sorry, you're right! I'll try to post into the right thread. Sorry for the inconvenience I've caused. If some moderator wants to delete these posts, please do it ...

Desktop & HTPC System:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66GHz || 4 x 2GB DDR2-1066 Kingston @ 1066MHz
Sapphire HD 6450 1GB || Dell UltraSharp 2009W @ 1680x1050 (using DVI) || Philips LCD 42PFL8404H @ 1920x1080 (using HDMI through Yamaha SR-301)
Yamaha YHT-S401 (SR-301 Receiver + NS-BR301 Speaker)
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000
find
golddk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1295
All format using DirectSound is working but not Wasapi only old format is ok, have e-350.
find
DanielaE Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 30
Location: Germany
Post: #1296
This is the current state of XBMC development - a 12.0 alpha with all of the changes and additions from the april merge window - with may current HD audio patch on top of it:
XBMCSetup 12.0 alpha1 (april merge window) master+HD-Audio

Advisory notes:
  1. library and settings formats may have changed from Eden final. I recommend to run 12.0 alpha 1 separate from your everyday installation by means of portable mode (i.e. '-p' option applied)
  2. stability may be reduced due to alpha status. Use at your own risk. Don't kill me if your disk gets formatted.

ciao, Dani

AMD Fusion E-350/Win 8/custom XBMC, Yamaha RX-V1900, Pioneer DV-LX50, custom speakers
find
Venares Offline
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #1297
DanielaE, forgive me if this has been covered before.
Everything works great accept I seem to require around a -250ms delay on any bitstreamed audio.
Standard PCM/2channel sources play fine?

Is there some way to delay ONLY bitstreamed audio?

And thank you for such a wonderfull mod Big Grin
find
HeresJohnny Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Germany
Post: #1298
Holy XBMC, Batman! My disk got formatted and aliens ate my buick!
find
leghorn01 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Smile  RE: [WINDOWS][PATCH]Bitstream output of HD audio formats
Post: #1299
(2012-04-28 09:33)HeresJohnny Wrote:  My disk got formatted and aliens ate my buick!
Now my rig is going hyperactive!Wink
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-28 19:10 by leghorn01.)
find
Streamerke Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1300
Unfortunately this is not working at all for me...

I have an Onkyo TX-SR707 capable of every HD audio format and this was already proven with my Popcorn Hour player. I have played movies with DTS-HD MA and TrueHD.

Unfortunately when I enable the addtional settings supplied by the patch then I get a movie in slow motion and no sound as soon as I run a movie with TrueHD or DTS MA. At the bottom the error message "Failed to initialize audio device - Please check your settings".
find
Salem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1301
(2012-04-28 21:41)Streamerke Wrote:  Unfortunately this is not working at all for me...

I have an Onkyo TX-SR707 capable of every HD audio format and this was already proven with my Popcorn Hour player. I have played movies with DTS-HD MA and TrueHD.

Unfortunately when I enable the addtional settings supplied by the patch then I get a movie in slow motion and no sound as soon as I run a movie with TrueHD or DTS MA. At the bottom the error message "Failed to initialize audio device - Please check your settings".

I have the same Onkyo unit, no issues. I've seen that message before a long time ago, though. I can't remember exactly, but I think I didn't have the HDMI output on the HTPC enabled through Windows. Setting it as default didn't make a difference for me, as XBMC will allow me to choose the HDMI output so long as it is enabled.

Oh, and if you have an ION GPU or GeForce 9400/9300, you're out of luck.
Anyway, perhaps of no help, just chiming in.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-28 21:56 by Salem.)
find
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #1302
(2012-04-28 21:41)Streamerke Wrote:  Unfortunately this is not working at all for me...

I have an Onkyo TX-SR707 capable of every HD audio format and this was already proven with my Popcorn Hour player. I have played movies with DTS-HD MA and TrueHD.

Unfortunately when I enable the addtional settings supplied by the patch then I get a movie in slow motion and no sound as soon as I run a movie with TrueHD or DTS MA. At the bottom the error message "Failed to initialize audio device - Please check your settings".
Have you update your GPU driver? Did you select the proper HDMI audio output in Windows 7 control panel? Did you select the proper HDMI audio output and select "WASAPI: Onkyo (High Definition audio......)" in XBMC settings/system/audio output? Did you enable DXVA2 and select DXVA as Render Method in XBMC settings/video/playback?

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find
Streamerke Offline
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1303
I have the latest GPU driver installed. Yes I have the correct HDMI output in my VISTA control panel. Yes I did choose the correct HDMI output in XBMC. When I play a TrueHD movie and I unflag the setting "TrueHD capable receiver" then I do get output.

No I did not enable DXVA2 as it creates problems on playback of some of my content.

I'll do a test again tomorrow to make sure I try all possible settings and I'll come back after that. Thanks for your help so far!
find
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #1304
(2012-04-29 04:19)Streamerke Wrote:  Yes I did choose the correct HDMI output in XBMC.
You need to make sure that you selected "WASAPI: TX-SR707 (High Definition audio......)" in XBMC settings/system/audio output

(2012-04-29 04:19)Streamerke Wrote:  No I did not enable DXVA2 as it creates problems on playback of some of my content.
After you selected DXVA2, did you selected DXVA as Render Method in XBMC settings/video/playback and disable everything else in it?

If the video playback is unstable, you can disable "Use fullscreen window rather than a true fullscreen" in XBMC settings/system/video output....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find
steelman1991 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,419
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #1305
(2012-04-29 04:19)Streamerke Wrote:  I have the latest GPU driver installed. Yes I have the correct HDMI output in my VISTA control panel. Yes I did choose the correct HDMI output in XBMC. When I play a TrueHD movie and I unflag the setting "TrueHD capable receiver" then I do get output.

No I did not enable DXVA2 as it creates problems on playback of some of my content.

I'll do a test again tomorrow to make sure I try all possible settings and I'll come back after that. Thanks for your help so far!
Not 100% convinced that HD Audio bitstreaming works with Vista. Unflagging the setting, provides decoding by xbmc with the LPCM track being passed to your receiver (the exact same output, just not bitstream and won't light up your receiver to show TrueHD). Unchecking the DTS option should provide similar results but on DTS core sound only.
find
Thread Closed