[WINDOWS][PATCH]Bitstream output of HD audio formats

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Votes - 4.76 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1351
Glad to hear it - just test each in isolation of the other and see if one or the other is causing your issues. That way you'll have a better idea of the root cause.
find
henrikyo Offline
Fan
Posts: 321
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1352
Just a update i asked some pages ago in this thread


Had great success with the mac mini (base 2011 model with intel 3000 hd to bitstream to my pio vsx921)

Now if the stupid ir reciever in the mac mini worked in windows so i could use my haromy all would be great. However that doesnt work, so i have to wait 30 days for my ir reciever to arrive. Oh well. Great work. Switching to windows soon enough.

Btw i tried both enabling and disabling dxva, but i couldnt see any lag/stutter or weird artifacts anywhere. Just remembering someone told me i had to disable dxva to get it work properly

TV: UE55F8005
XBMC: Mac mini 2012 with windows 8.1
SOUND: Sonos playbar + Sonos Sub + 2x Rear Play: 3
find
OtisPresley Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1353
(2012-05-03 10:51)henrikyo Wrote:  Just a update i asked some pages ago in this thread


Had great success with the mac mini (base 2011 model with intel 3000 hd to bitstream to my pio vsx921)

Now if the stupid ir reciever in the mac mini worked in windows so i could use my haromy all would be great. However that doesnt work, so i have to wait 30 days for my ir reciever to arrive. Oh well. Great work. Switching to windows soon enough.

Btw i tried both enabling and disabling dxva, but i couldnt see any lag/stutter or weird artifacts anywhere. Just remembering someone told me i had to disable dxva to get it work properly

That all depends on what format the video is in that you are watching with a Sandy Bridge GPU. The problem is with H.264 video decoding. You get some serious blocking on the screen during playback with DXVA2 enabled. You can get around this with FFDShow because they added support for Intel QuickSync, but I am not sure if ffmpeg ever did or not. I confirmed that this issue still exists in DDDamian's 4/25 build, testing with Iron Man 2 that was just remuxed into a single M2TS file; it has H.264 video and DTS-HD audio. I get no audio with DTS-HD in that build, but I am sure that will be fixed as it is the first post-Eden build.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-03 13:51 by OtisPresley.)
find
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #1354
@OtisPresley - two devs are working with Intel on that right now Smile
find
OtisPresley Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1355
(2012-05-03 14:36)DDDamian Wrote:  @OtisPresley - two devs are working with Intel on that right now Smile

That is great news! It currently works fine with software decoding, but it taxes the CPU way more.
find
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #1356
(2012-05-03 10:51)henrikyo Wrote:  Btw i tried both enabling and disabling dxva, but i couldnt see any lag/stutter or weird artifacts anywhere. Just remembering someone told me i had to disable dxva to get it work properly
Try the video sample posted by Tman12, you'll see what we meant......brief green pixelation during resume

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find
PatrickBateman Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,677
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 17
Location: Another Earth
Post: #1357
Hmmm...

Ok, im having issues on one of my htpcs.
I'm using Daniela's build on the front page.
Windows 7
Hdmi (ion)

When I pause movies, on resume they are either out of sync, stuttery or have no audio. I have to rew/ff a few seconds to get it o "jolt" it's self back into joint.

Multi chnl PCM centre Chanel dialog comes through my rear chnl, when my audio config is set to 7.1 in xbmc settings. Changing this to 5.1 in xbmc resolves this, Even though I dont have. 5.1 setup (8.2).

PCM audio (when change resolution and sync to audio clock are enabled) drop out and disconnect after 2 or 3 seconds? This problem cn be resolved by disabling sync to audio clock and the movie plays fine?

Just posting this to get eyes on it, no log as of yet, no sample cut from the movie yet to post for you guys to test.

Anyone experincing similar?

That said,
It's still incredible and other than the odd hiccup I can't really fault this awesome work don't in here Smile
find
moravec Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Kanton Bern
Post: #1358
Yes, after pause audio stutters. I just toggle language and then it is ok again...

Christian
find
DanielaE Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 30
Location: Germany
Post: #1359
A quick test on my rig didn't exhibit any audio stutter after long or short duration pauses (tested with DD, DD+, DTHD, DTS-MA). I will try to run more tests when time allows.

ciao, Dani

AMD Fusion E-350/Win 8/custom XBMC, Yamaha RX-V1900, Pioneer DV-LX50, custom speakers
find
simpic Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1360
Hi,

Same issue here on the audio after a pause. I get bad pops coming through the speakers. If I navigate a few seconds back on the scroll bar it's all fine again.

As a second point...

Is there anyway I can confirm that my amp (Denon AVR 1911) is passing the switching signal to the TV to change it's refresh rate to match the video output i.e 24hz for 23.976 playback?

Bluray rips at 1080 are looking particularly jittery in panning scenes. They are perfect when played via MPC-HC. I could just set up the advanced setting XML again to use the external player when 23.976 content is played but I have got quite used to the internal player controls and the wife thinks they are user friendly as well in comparison to MPC-HC.

Regards,

Simpic
find
gregnukem Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1361
Hey bluray,

It's been a while since you suggested certain setting for me to try out. Here is your post: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1071729.

To reiterate, if I try to playback DTS-HD MA or Dolby True-HD, I need to press Play/Pause many times quickly to get the sound through to the AVR. When the sound is there, it's there - no distortions/skips. But if I switch the track and then back to any of the HD tracks I have to abuse the Play/Pause button again Confused

Well, I tried those setting along with changing many other settings (like HDMI control and Lip Sync in the AVR, reinstalling sound/video drivers etc.), but nothing changes the described behavior.

I've really run out of ideas. What else could I do?

P.S. Also, just noticed that XBMC crashes if I try to play 5.1 WavPack files (24/96 rips from DVDA) that work fine in Foobar2000. If it matters, 2.0 WavPacks play fine (though outputting only 16-bit of course).
find
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,105
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 21
Post: #1362
(2012-05-07 09:51)DanielaE Wrote:  A quick test on my rig didn't exhibit any audio stutter after long or short duration pauses (tested with DD, DD+, DTHD, DTS-MA). I will try to run more tests when time allows.

I can reproduce it pretty easily, I wonder if there are some issues with 24P sync and the make/model of AVR being used somehow making this problem harder or easier to replicate.

If you want me to do any diagnostics on this, like recreating and providing logs, etc, let me know.
find
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #1363
(2012-05-08 10:01)gregnukem Wrote:  I've really run out of ideas. What else could I do?
You can try these-

1. Install the latest Intel driver- Check your system for the latest updates
2. Install- Intel Management Engine Interface Driver]Intel Magagement Engine Interface Driver
3. Try to playback some movie afterward....

-If you still have the same problem after you did #1-2-3, you can try it with Realtek "High Definition Audio Codecs"......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find
DanielaE Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 30
Location: Germany
Post: #1364
(2012-05-08 17:13)voip-ninja Wrote:  I wonder if there are some issues with 24P sync and the make/model of AVR being used somehow making this problem harder or easier to replicate.
I propose this procedure:
  • the test file must be from this location: http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/high-d...ailers.php
  • the report includes info about graphics card and audio driver
  • the report includes info about the audio decoder / AVR
  • optionally the report points to a debug log (I'm no fan of logs)
  • optionally the report includes info about an Eden or post-Eden build without the reported issue, using the same setup and test file
May be we get a clue about problematic hardware or software combinations.

ciao, Dani

AMD Fusion E-350/Win 8/custom XBMC, Yamaha RX-V1900, Pioneer DV-LX50, custom speakers
find
Nimo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 3
Location: Germany
Post: #1365
in actual build (alpha) i have the same problem with pause and stuttering too. i tested with dts-hd ma, dts 5.1, dd 5.1 and 2ch mp3. same problem. the only thing what helps is rewind a bit and press play. i use the latest intel driver.

A/V: Sony KDL52W5500|Yamaha RX-V471|Elac Cinema XL Center|4x Elac Cinema 2 Sat|REL Strata II|Elac Sub 101 ESP
HTPC: Realan E-Q8|ASRock Z77E-ITX|iMon inside mod|i3-3225+HD4k|8GB 2133 RAM|60GB Vertex3|120W Pico PSU|Harmony 650|p8 USB-CEC|Win7 x64|XBMC 12alpha|Skin CE v2 SVN
Server: Raid 5 - 8x 2TB WD AV-GP|Win7 x64|HighPoint 2680
find
Thread Closed