Starting to Love XBMC !
Hello Everyone,
I need some help from some of you XBMC experts. I’m new to XBMC so please forgive me if some of my questions sound dumb. I just learned about XBMC a few weeks ago, and from what I’ve read and looked at – This is one of the COOLEST!!! Software I have ever come across. I will be building my own HTPC so I want make sure I get everything correct from the start. The #1 thing I want to use XBMC for is to back-up my very large DVD collection onto four or five 2TB hard drives, and then be able to view/play them thru that cool XBMC interface. I know it can do much more, but I just don’t need all the other cool stuff at this time – maybe the photos section later. I will also install a Blue-Ray/DVD Burner drive with DVD upscaling to 1080p into my HTPC. That way whenever I buy a new DVD I can just rip an ISO image onto the hard drives with the others. This way I can keep my physical DVD collection safe from children and scratches. Now my questions…

1st What is the correct way to arrange my movies on my hard drive? Should I put each movie ISO in a separate folder and name the folders whatever the movie name is, or should I just put my entire movie ISO’s loose on the hard drives and name each ISO file whatever the movie name is?

2nd When I do the scrape thing to get all the movie covers and other information from the internet, where will that data be stored? I want to be able to save it in case something goes wrong I won’t have to do the long download again.

3rd What is the best OS to install XBMC onto? I gave OpenElec xbmc a test drive on an old laptop I have, and I liked it a lot – very small about 100MB, and very fast boot-up. But after I get inside I can’t see how to make it connect to the internetHuh I love windows 7 64bit but the boot-up takes longer.

Thank you,

TechDaddy
Star 
TechDaddy Wrote:Hello Everyone,