DVB-S tuner + XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Roha999 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
hi all
i want to watch satelite tv on my xbmc and firs i need dvb-s usb reciever.

will such one work http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/brand-new-DVB-...297wt_1396 ?

my system : Asrock ion 330ht + ubuntu 10.10 2.6.35-22-generic, xbmc+prv + tvheadend

thanks
find quote
robo989 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
I'm looking into this also, not going to derail your thread by any means.

But just to let you know that if this is for freesat in the UK, you will need a DVB-S2 tuner for channels like BBC HD, BBC 1 HD and Channel 4 HD. It's very likely that other channels will move over to S2 as time goes by, but for the money that looks like a good by on the surface. I have no idea about anything other than the S2 channels thing though Smile
find quote
Roha999 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
robo989 Wrote:I'm looking into this also, not going to derail your thread by any means.

But just to let you know that if this is for freesat in the UK, you will need a DVB-S2 tuner for channels like BBC HD, BBC 1 HD and Channel 4 HD. It's very likely that other channels will move over to S2 as time goes by, but for the money that looks like a good by on the surface. I have no idea about anything other than the S2 channels thing though Smile

thanks for info, but now i no need DVB-S2
i will try buy this one and test with xbmc
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,190
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 63
Location: Munich
Post: #4
I have a QBox S2 and I am quite happy with it. In the meantime there is already a newer version. Not sure about this pretty old model you mentioned.
find quote
bertybassett Online
Senior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 4
Post: #5
sorry to post a link to my own product but this works with XBMC 100% and I could watch ITVHD and BBC HD and I can give you the guides to get it working.

Tried a few cheap S2 boxes and I couldn't get anything out of them


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190636889012?s...1558.l2649

If you want it then I'd consider selling it for £40 out side of eBay.

Note to admins if this breaks the rules please inform me and I will remove the post from here.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-07 14:07 by bertybassett.)
find quote