[RELEASE]XSqueeze - Squeezebox player, music chooser and visualiser for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nick w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1186
Bossanova,
Is there an easy way to force the script to use set details than variables from the settings xml?

Thanks
N
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 6,243
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 103
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #1187
Just edit the script.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1188
I can't really follow all those audio settings like that to be honest.

E.g. is passthrough on or off?

<passthrough default="true">false</passthrough>
<passthroughdevice default="true">ALSA:hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0</passthroughdevice>

And yeah, as nickr said - in default.py it's easy to find the bit where it calls the subprocess to start the external player. Just hack a line in there with whatever string you want.

But it's not that, there's plenty of people using that mechanism fine. You still haven't mentioned what delays you are using etc. If you can get xbmc to release the device, then (assuming you transposed the command line arguments correctly) - the player will start.

But might as well yes do a full debug log again too
find quote
nick w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1189
Bossanova and NickR.

I think i owe you both a beer.

I saw your post about passthrough and realised i hadnt changed it to true...
Tried that and it didnt work.

So i copied Bossanovas audio out details...
Changed to my card details and it worked... But i had odd noises when navigating the menu so i changed:
<streamsilence default="true">0</streamsilence>
TO
<streamsilence default="true">1</streamsilence>

And now i am up and running. Looking at now rolling out to the 5 xbmc installs in the house!

Thanks chaps, thanks so much! brill plugin Bossanova!

<audiooutput>
<ac3passthrough default="true">true</ac3passthrough>
<ac3transcode default="true">false</ac3transcode>
<audiodevice default="true">ALSA:hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0</audiodevice>
<channels default="true">1</channels>
<config default="true">2</config>
<dtshdpassthrough default="true">false</dtshdpassthrough>
<dtspassthrough default="true">false</dtspassthrough>
<eac3passthrough default="true">false</eac3passthrough>
<guisoundmode default="true">1</guisoundmode>
<normalizelevels>false</normalizelevels>
<passthrough default="true">false</passthrough>
<passthroughdevice default="true">ALSA:hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0</passthroughdevice>
<processquality default="true">30</processquality>
<samplerate default="true">48000</samplerate>
<stereoupmix default="true">false</stereoupmix>
<streamsilence default="true">1</streamsilence>
<truehdpassthrough default="true">false</truehdpassthrough>
</audiooutput>
find quote
nick w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1190
RIGHT

I have it now working.
But the sacrifice is gui sounds...
StreamSilence needs to be 0 otherwise the app doesnt work
<streamsilence default="true">0</streamsilence>

Changing it to
<streamsilence default="true">1</streamsilence>

Gives me GUI navigational sounds but the plugin fails to connect to a player....

Is there a way to get GUI sounds to work with the plugin?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-14 21:49 by nick w.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 6,243
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 103
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #1191
Wouldn't have a clue. I hate GUI sounds and the first thing I ever do on an xbmc install is switch it off!

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
nick w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1192
(2014-04-14 21:54)nickr Wrote:  Wouldn't have a clue. I hate GUI sounds and the first thing I ever do on an xbmc install is switch it off!

Haha

I am now heading that way. Using Yatse it has a small noise when navigating.

Thanks for your help Nick...
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1193
Well, that was epic. Glad you got there.

Gui sounds are always a bugger, as is stream silence - and they're really not necessary for most. That's why it's in the wiki to turn all that sh*t off.

Anyway, happy squeezing...
find quote
xpress92 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1194
Hi guys, i have read all of yours posts, i tried everything you tried and i have always the same problem on my pi, both on raspbmc and openelec: "couldn't connect to player". I don't understand. On my pc with openelec gotham nightly build it works but not on my pi. I precise i don't use the two xbmcs at the same time.
Here is my config:

pi with raspbmc gotham release
philips tv
onkyo hdmi receiver.

My LMS is on a PC on my local network, and i use Ipeng on Ipad in my kitchen

Here is my log
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=174953

Thanks for your help.
find quote
nick w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1195
(2014-04-16 10:41)xpress92 Wrote:  Hi guys, i have read all of yours posts, i tried everything you tried and i have always the same problem on my pi, both on raspbmc and openelec: "couldn't connect to player". I don't understand. On my pc with openelec gotham nightly build it works but not on my pi. I precise i don't use the two xbmcs at the same time.
Here is my config:

pi with raspbmc gotham release
philips tv
onkyo hdmi receiver.

My LMS is on a PC on my local network, and i use Ipeng on Ipad in my kitchen

Here is my log
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=174953

Thanks for your help.

Have you checked your guisettings.XML.. Look at my settings above. GUI sounds much be turned off. It sounds like the same issue as I had.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-16 11:35 by nick w.)
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1196
The problem on the Pi is usually the lack of also and/or the sound driver thingies (see wiki) - I retired my Pi a while ago, just too wimpy, so I am not that up on the current state of things.

Your log is not a debug log, as well.

Have you tried running squeezelite from the command line to see what you get? Should be your first port of call really.
find quote
xpress92 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1197
I use the plug XBMC log uploader. Where can i find it the full debug log?
And no I don't test the command line. I'm going to do that immediatly... After finding the command line into the post.:-)
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1198
See the xbmc wiki about debug logs, and for squeezelite command line: http://code.google.com/p/squeezelite/
find quote
xpress92 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1199
Ok. Sorry for the log, i don't read the wiki in integrality, but now, i know How to find the full log. For the command line, I've used this one "./squeezelite-l" for listing output device, but I have "no such file or directory" in return. I'm sorry, I'm a newby in Linux. Do I switch between directories before typing the command line?
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1200
Honestly, if you're not sure how to 'cd' etc, you're going to want to master the very basics first:
http://linuxcommand.org/learning_the_shell.php

Once you can run squeezelite -l we can get this going...
find quote
Post Reply