:n00b: Can i install XBMC on my LG TV?(55LW5600) Thank you in advance.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
DD4S Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Gentleman,

i am looking to intall XBMC on my tv. Is this possible? the tv is DNLA certified unfortunately the software that came along with it is HORRIBLE. i would love to use xbmc on my tv to view all the content from my media serer. is this possible?

thank you very much.

ps: this has nothing to do with XBMC but is there a way to speed up my connection between my server and my tv? i tried streaming a 1080p movie and it lagged every 15 seconds.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-12 22:09 by DD4S.)
find quote
patseguin Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,410
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 8
Post: #2
I think you would need a computer as a front end to connect to your TV, but experts can probably answer than I.

Server: Synology Diskstation 1511+ with 8x 3TB drives and DSM 5.0
Main HTPC: Home built Intel core i3, 8GB RAM, Corsair 128GB SSD, nVidia 630GTX, Rii micro keyboard remote, Pioneer VSX-53, Panasonic VT30 65" 3D TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
Bedroom HTPC: Zotac-ID 41 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, Rii micro keyboard remote, Samsung HW-E550, Sony Google TV, OpenElec 4.1.2
find quote
DD4S Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
patseguin Wrote:I think you would need a computer as a front end to connect to your TV, but experts can probably answer than I.

thats what i am thinking but i was hoping there was different way, some sort of hack.
ill keep my fingers crossed. thanks for your input though. Smile
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #4
No you can not install XBMC onto your TV. Your speed issue is most likely a DLNA server issue trying to convert the 1080p movie into something your TV can playback. I'm just guessing at that one since I do not know the entire setup.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote
DD4S Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
kricker Wrote:No you can not install XBMC onto your TV. Your speed issue is most likely a DLNA server issue trying to convert the 1080p movie into something your TV can playback. I'm just guessing at that one since I do not know the entire setup.

well this is unfortunate.
i have an old pc what i want to turn into a HTPC. Is there a good tutorial for that around here?
thank you.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-13 00:22 by DD4S.)
find quote
kricker Offline
Team-XBMC QA Specialist
Posts: 3,450
Joined: Apr 2004
Reputation: 20
Location: Knoxville, TN
Post: #6
Read the XBMC wiki for how to use XBMC. Read about the XBMC live distro and see if the hardware you have is supported, or install your OS of choice then install XBMC. Make sure your old hardware is even capable of connecting to your TV in a proper manner.

Read this before using these builds.
XBMC win32 SVN builds
Changelog
find quote