Slingbox on XBMC - Here's How

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
For those trying to integrate Sling Player into XBMC (Linux or Windows), I just figured out a very nice solution.

1) Install Advanced Launcher
2) Create a “Stand Alone Launcher” and point it to your browser executable file. Chrome works great (for XBMCBuntu: /usr/bin/chromium)
3) For Arguments, use: -kiosk "http://download.slingmedia.com/player/embedded/v14/austinapp.swf" This will open Chrome in full screen directly onto Sling flash application (the same used on their Facebook App, buy bypassing Facebook)
4) For cosmetic sake, use a nice thumbnail, maybe this one:
5) You’re all set. You only need to log in the first time, and you can set “Auto Connect” on the app settings.

Now every time you select SlingPlayer on XBMC, it launches in glorious full screen, no need to log in, no need to select Slingbox, no nothing. To exit and go back to XBMC, Alt+4 is the only option I see so far, but there has to be a more elegant way to do it.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,165
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
XBMC v11 (Eden) beta has built in Slingbox support, too: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Slingbox
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Yes, but as far as I know (correct me if I'm wrong) it does not work with Slingbox Pro-HD because the stream is encrypted. It only works with lower-quality Slingboxes, like the Slingbox Solo.

This method allows for real HD streaming...
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,165
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #4
uspino Wrote:Yes, but as far as I know (correct me if I'm wrong) it does not work with Slingbox Pro-HD because the stream is encrypted. It only works with lower-quality Slingboxes, like the Slingbox Solo.

This method allows for real HD streaming...

Ah, good to know. Will add this to the wiki page.
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
One caveat: small HTPCs with ION video chips do not seem to have enough power to play the video at a reasonable frame rate. It looks like either XBMCBuntu or the Flash plug-in do not provide video harware acceleration to the Chrome browser.
find quote
bashywash Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
anyway to get this working with ATV2?
find quote
simon_rb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #7
I have a revo 3700 ION and I'm guessing that will struggle. Is there not support for hardware acceleration via chrome?

Damn shame as I'd love to set this up in my home!

Cheers
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Hardware acceleration is a must. I haven't found a way to make it work smoothly on ION systems with Live XBMC (Linux does not appear to support acceleration for Flash). This address also gives access the latest Flash plugin with hardware acceleration, but again is a no-go on Linxu:

http://slingplayer.slingbox.com/embedded...player.php
find quote
simon_rb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
(2012-03-06 22:55)uspino Wrote:  Hardware acceleration is a must. I haven't found a way to make it work smoothly on ION systems with Live XBMC (Linux does not appear to support acceleration for Flash). This address also gives access the latest Flash plugin with hardware acceleration, but again is a no-go on Linxu:

http://slingplayer.slingbox.com/embedded...player.php

Does this work on windows?

Cheers
find quote
UofM_Matt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
With my Eden live installation, the browser won't go full screen (only half the screen) and their is no audio (I'm audio over HDMI). Anyone able to get it to "just work" as described by the post?
find quote
uspino Offline
Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2012-03-18 02:31)simon_rb Wrote:  
(2012-03-06 22:55)uspino Wrote:  Hardware acceleration is a must. I haven't found a way to make it work smoothly on ION systems with Live XBMC (Linux does not appear to support acceleration for Flash). This address also gives access the latest Flash plugin with hardware acceleration, but again is a no-go on Linxu:

http://slingplayer.slingbox.com/embedded...player.php

Does this work on windows?

Cheers

It works great on Windows because the embedded player uses hardware acceleration by default as long as you have the latest version of Flash. Linux is a different story - no HA on Flash.
find quote
bernabap Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2012-03-06 22:55)uspino Wrote:  Hardware acceleration is a must. I haven't found a way to make it work smoothly on ION systems with Live XBMC (Linux does not appear to support acceleration for Flash). This address also gives access the latest Flash plugin with hardware acceleration, but again is a no-go on Linxu:

http://slingplayer.slingbox.com/embedded...player.php

What you mean with "a no-go on Linux" ?
You was the first one to show me how to easily use my slingbox from linux. Thanks!
This is working perfect with firefox and chrome on my LMDE system.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-30 20:59 by bernabap.)
find quote
Negativecreep0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
How do we go about changing channels and such?
find quote
Goattee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2012-02-14 16:38)uspino Wrote:  Alone Launcher” and point it to your browser executable file. Chrome works great (for XBMCBuntu: /usr/bin/chromium)
3) For Arguments, use: -kiosk "http://download.slingmedia.com/player/embedded/v14/austinapp.swf" This will open Chrome in full screen directly onto Sling flash application (the same used on their Facebook App, buy bypassing Facebook)

I am using the release version of Eden. Advanced Launcher does not allow the full length of your suggested Argument string. It seems to stop at /v1.

Am I missing something?

By the way, does this approach display the on screen remote?
find quote
Sdeep24 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Does this work with mac? I can't navigate to just the .app file, as it keeps going deeper into the package contents.
find quote
Post Reply