XBMCbuntu display/resolution issues (laptop w/ vga out)

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wrick01 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
this is still an issue for me. I need tu use the windows program, which is much harder on resources Sad

noone has a clue for me ?

the latest release still does not give me the option for the correct resolution...
find quote
Slash7 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
i think 1360x768 is made for 75hz not 60hz
if your monitor support 1360x768 75hz it should be fixed

its just what i did
i was 1360x768 60hz
and when i set it to 1360x768 75hz it was fixed
and thank god there is resolution protection Big Grin (i tried it higher but the monitor said it doesnt support 1360x768 85hz)

NOTE that refresh rate in Hz also plays role in where and how the picture stands on the moniter
so 1360x768 60hz there would be screen offset
but 1360x768 75hz the picture should be where it should be
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-10 12:08 by Slash7.)
find quote
wrick01 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
(2012-11-10 12:03)Slash7 Wrote:  i think 1360x768 is made for 75hz not 60hz
if your monitor support 1360x768 75hz it should be fixed

its just what i did
i was 1360x768 60hz
and when i set it to 1360x768 75hz it was fixed
and thank god there is resolution protection Big Grin (i tried it higher but the monitor said it doesnt support 1360x768 85hz)

NOTE that refresh rate in Hz also plays role in where and how the picture stands on the moniter
so 1360x768 60hz there would be screen offset
but 1360x768 75hz the picture should be where it should be

Thanks for the tip !

How would I go and adjust this ? It isn't in my choices in the menu....
find quote
GBB1 Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium
Post: #19
This could be useful for you guys if you're using linux:
- http://brechtgijbels.blogspot.de/2012/01...ntrol.html
- http://willem.engen.nl/projects/disper/
It helped me out a lot, I just put 'disper -S' iin my startup folder of Ubuntu and all magic happens Smile
find quote
sukanime Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: indonesia
Post: #20
Hi, i just want to report this.
I have Laptop Asus X201E, and i have OpenELEC 3.0.2 in it, but i wanna try XBMCbuntu.
I download the "xbmcbuntu-12.00.Intel-NVIDIA.iso" , put it on my Flashdisk using Unetbootin.
I Boot, and choose Sandy Bridge, if i choose another, it will lockup my system, with only Black Screen an cursor icon in the middle.

Then i connect my LCD TV with FUllHD resolution, i just get 1360x768 only.
When i try to change it to 1920x1080p, i just get 3/4 display too.

And i try to install it, i choose Sandy Bridge, when i have finished install it, i will only get Black Screen with Cursor Icon in the middle, and i cannot do anything else.
It lock up my system, the only way it's to press Power Button.

And i cannot connect to my Wifi, i hope i new release will include with Network Manager Front End
this add on http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130816

I hope it will be fixed in new release.
find quote
Post Reply