XBMC EDEN Beta 3 DD(Passthrough) Problems

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Mobo Asus A8N-E Toslink onboard nvidia ck804 chip, can play all non DD content. But I cannot seem to be able to play any DD content. My audio out settings are Optical/Digital, 5.1, y, y, y, custom(default:CARD=CK804), and the passthough ive tried all sorts of different settings to no avail.

If i change to analog it will play all content (DD converted but messed up)

I have unmuted spdif in alsamixer and checked it all out looks fine.

Code:
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 0: Intel ICH [NVidia CK804]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [NVidia CK804 - IEC958]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Code:
aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
default:CARD=CK804
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804 - IEC958
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
dmix:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=CK804,DEV=2
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804 - IEC958
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=CK804,DEV=2
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804 - IEC958
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=CK804,DEV=2
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804 - IEC958
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=CK804,DEV=0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=CK804,DEV=2
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804 - IEC958
    Hardware device with all software conversions

Any idea as to what i am doing wrong?
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-22 08:59 by xbmc_warrior.)
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I disabled ac3 and dts capable receiver and now dd is converted to pcm 2.0, dont know whats up the Yamaha receiver does 5.1 dd and dts just fine from other sources.

At least it have working for now.

When i play a movie with DD and those enabled, it appears as thought the receiver is getting something but does not understand the signal.

I also disabled that other card(HDA Nivdia) from grabbing slot 0 so now my CK804 is on slot 0

I am at a loss as to why no DD
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
And now without changing anything menu sounds are now working...hmmmmm

Edit: Must have just missed this when i rebooted after putting my sound dev in slot 0...
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-22 09:03 by xbmc_warrior.)
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Dunno what if going on with my setup but further testing has yielded the same results.

Ive send test files using aplay -D to plughw:0,2 (iec958) same thing the receiver attempts to lock onto the DD signal then drops it with no sound coming from the speakers.

Anyone got any ideas?
find quote
alan1977 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
No solution here but i have had a very similar sounding problem
Ubuntu 11.10 with xbmc eden 3
Can only get stereo over the spdif no matter what i do
booting to xbmcbuntu on a seperate partition made it all work, seamlessly
not a solution but proves it works

My next steps are to compare xorg configs and go from there, im clutching at straws as im new to all of this unfortunately
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
ive searched everywhere and i can't seem to find a solution to this. Can anyone point me in the right direction, Ive got all sound working except for DD and DTS, it only puts out PCM sound if i deselect that the receiver is not capable...
:confused2:Sad
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
ive also installed mplayer and ran a test ac3 with the same results, the receiver PCM light turns off briefly but no sound. Sad
find quote
xbmc_warrior Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Turns out my onboard audio device was not capable of passthrough. Purchased a $30 Asus card XONAR DG. Works like a charm.

XBMC Rocks, Great software........
find quote
alan1977 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
not sure how relevent my solution is but see below

ok think i have got somewhere
key issue was in alsamixer 4 outputs were listed (wrong)
me being a noob couldn't really get around the guides id read repeatedly
so, i botted to xbmcbuntu on a seperate disc and everyhting was good
rooted through the filesystem and found the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
which xbmcbuntu had generated upon install
compared that against my live system and saw

options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0 probe_mask=0xfff2

this is documented in many guides to setting up geforce 210 family cards

copied this to my real system, rebooted and now alsamixer shows one output, im not home to confirm but will try tonight to see if thats working
find quote