Transfering ALL XBMC Settings to a new Computer

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mightydimo Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have finally decided to have a dedicated XBMC computer and i want to know how i can import ALL my settings to my new computer... That includes, movies, music etc as well as all the plugins and setting associated with that... Is there a way?
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,236
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #2
All your settings and your library are stored in your userdata folder (see http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=UserData) and you can simply copy this to the new PC.

But ...

Your library will contain the full file names of your films and music, and copying the library is only useful if the locations of your media are the same on the new PC as they were on the old PC. For example, if all your films were in C:\Videos on the old PC you have to copy them to C:\Videos on the new PC. If all your films are on a NAS or some other network storage this avoids the problem.

So the procedure is:
1. install XBMC on the new PC
2. copy the userdata folder from the old to new PC
3. copy all the mdeia from the old to new PC keeping the directory names the same
4. run XBMC and it should all work

JR
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #3
Hopefully one day a skilled SQL guy can do a script or front-end to accept a "moved-from/moved-to" input and update the filepath table in the db Nod

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
mightydimo Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Thanks for that... Yes it would be nice to have things simplified... I wouldnt mind making a small donation to the project should it help...
find quote
natethomas Offline
Team Kodi Community Manager
Posts: 3,645
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 63
Location: Kansas
Post: #5
You could, alternatively, export all your data into individual nfo files. While you'd still have to go through the finding and scraping process on your new machine, you wouldn't have to do any re-looking up of info or fixing names.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,391
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 258
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #6
Path subs would also work (XBMC v11 only): http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Path_substitution
find quote
pumkinut Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 970
Joined: May 2006
Reputation: 9
Post: #7
This is why I've started mounting my shares via fstab. I create my directories in /media and then mount my network shares there. As long as all my front ends have the same mount points, I'm golden.
find quote