Weather Icons

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Xive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Egypt
Question  Weather Icons
Post: #1
Hello,
I tried my best to put this topic in its right section so i hope someone will know this; I have made/designed some custom weather icons package and i want to use it instead of the default XBMC weather icons.

I noticed the icons are being cached in AppData/Roaming/XBMC/cache/weather in 128x128 and 64x64 folders so i have replaced whats inside with my package and it worked, But the original icons keeps coming back periodically; overwriting my custom icons.

I have been searching everywhere for the original icons path with no luck,
I'm guessing the icons are actually on the internet somewhere and there is a script that download it to the cache folder and overwrite whatever in the 128x128, 64x64 folders.

If that is the case where is that script located so i can edit it to read only my icons, if not what can i do to stop the original icons from coming back !

P.S: I'm using Eden-Beta

Thanks.

I wrote a program to program my program ! - programception.
(This post was last modified: 2012-07-08 14:46 by Xive.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,986
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 158
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #2
And I hope you will share them when you're finshed Wink

To use custom icons your skins needs to support these. For example you can point at a location where the weather condition icons are stored.
Cashing in XBMC takes about 24 hours for them to refresh.

I have the original animated icon pack if you want.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Xive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Egypt
Post: #3
@Martijn: Thanks for the reply, i have opened the default.py of the weather addons in /addons but nothing to lead to the icons.

I Thought about hard-coding it in the Includes_Weather.xml (Aeon Skin) but the image had:
Code:
<info>Window(weather).Property(Current.ConditionIcon)</info>
property, I could replace that with <texture> tags that leads to my icons only if i could process the condition to decide which icon to put Frown

Thanks again tho Smile

I wrote a program to program my program ! - programception.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 9,094
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #4
Xive Wrote:I have been searching everywhere for the original icons path with no luck

they're included in xbmc:
C:\Program Files\XBMC\media\weather.zip

you could replace the zip file with your own (keeping the folder structure intact).

of course, you would need to do this each time you install a new version of xbmc.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-XBMC members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Xive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Egypt
Post: #5
@ronie: Ahhh there it is ! Big Grin
I have replicated the same zip with my icons, just need xbmc to refresh its cache now, hope it won't reset tomorrow Smile

Thanks!

I wrote a program to program my program ! - programception.
find quote
errornumber419 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Wisconsin
Post: #6
If you set it to read only maybe that will keep them around?

Might give you an error when you update or it might just skip them.
find quote
Xive Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Egypt
Post: #7
errornumber419 Wrote:If you set it to read only maybe that will keep them around?

Might give you an error when you update or it might just skip them.

Nope i did what ronie said - replacing zip while keeping the folder structure intact - and it didn't change back Wink

I wrote a program to program my program ! - programception.
find quote