XBMC Intro Movie

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Video  XBMC Intro Movie
Post: #1
I picked up After Effects the other day and I am beginning to learn the program. No better way to learn then by creating an intro movie for XBMC. I will use this thread to post videos for anyone to use.

I'm sure there is no "Right" way to use the videos so I'm just going to suggest two methods. One is a beginner method and the other is for advanced users only.



Easy Method: Using XBMC-Intro Addon:
If your skin supports it, you can use the XBMC Intro Movie addon by Frost.
Currently only a few skins support this addon. As far as I know its limited to Glass, Aeon-Nox, Neon and Breeze. I'm not going to test every skin. If you need to know if this addon will work for you then please ask in the appropriate thread.

Benifits:
  • Easy to configure
  • Comes with intro videos pre installed
  • Ability to define a custom location for intro videos
  • Option to dissable the Default, Static XBMC splash screen


Advanced Method: Modding a skin
Use Advancedsettings.xml to turn off the default XBMC splash screen.
Code:
<splash>false</splash>

Add the following to your skins's home.xml
Code:
<onload condition="Window.Previous(startup)">XBMC.PlayMedia(special://skin/introMovie.mov)</onload>
*note* I have no idea what the effect of this would be if you all ready use the playlist on xbmc start so don't complain because I'm warning you now.Laugh

*edit*Ronnie has suggested putting this line of code in startup.xml as an alternative. Do whichever works best for you.*edit*


Benifits:
  • Should work with any skin


Now for my custom Intro Videos....

Intro Movie 1: XBMC Logo Wipe in / Shatter



Download (Right Click > Save As)




Intro Movie 2: XMBC Logo Energy Wipe



Download (Right Click > Save As)

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-27 04:47 by htpc guy.)
find quote
TechLife Offline
Donor
Posts: 580
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Location: Aurora, CO
Post: #2
That's cool, man. Nicely done!

*If I helped, please +rep below*
Windows Media Center PVR add-on (pvr.wmc) and Server (ServerWMC)
The XBMC team, plug-in devs, skinners, etc. do this for us for FREE in their spare time because they want to. Think about that for a second before you start bitching...
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #3
Pretty sweet Cool

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
mad-max Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,479
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 57
Location: Germany
Post: #4
Agree, that's sweet...
Looking forward to more video clips...

mad-max

[Image: obi3o55x.jpg]
[Image: 7c8w3bu8.png]

- - - Tribute to Metallica - - -

If I managed to help you, please click my reputation
find quote
zag Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,739
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Location: UK
Post: #5
How about some sound?

HTPC - XBMC Gotham, OpenELEC, Harmony Smart Remote, Intel Haswell NUC, 40gb intel SSD, Core i3, 4gb RAM
Storage - 2 x qnap 8tb 419p+ NAS
Display LG 46" LCD + Casio Bulbless projector [PICS]
[Image: widget]
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #6
zag2me Wrote:How about some sound?


Can't please them all.Laugh

Good sound effects don't come cheap. I used to use soundsnap.com but they moved to a pay only model. Anyone know where I can find good sound effects?

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,823
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #7
Nice, but I never see the splash screen - OpenELEC is too quick.
find quote
Gr8rtek Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: D/FW, Texas
Post: #8
Andrew Kramer and the folks over at VideoCoPilot.net have some excellent AE add-ons and a wide variety of tutorials on using After Effects and the wide range of plug-ins available. I'm pretty sure at one point I downloaded some stock audio clips from their site, but I don't know if anything like that is still available or not.

Nice work on the intro movie ... look forward to additional samples!
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 917
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #9
I want it :-)

EDIT: I got it :-)
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-29 07:09 by aptalca.)
find quote
Jezz_X Offline
Team-XBMC Skinner
Posts: 5,289
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 57
Location: Earth
Post: #10
Hitcher Wrote:Nice, but I never see the splash screen - OpenELEC is too quick.

actually openelec remove the xbmc splash screen in code last I looked
find quote
DejaVu Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,159
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #11
Want to add this to my ATV2 running confluence skin.
Where can I find the home.xml to edit?

Looked in - /private/var/mobile/Library/Preferences/XBMC/addons
but skin.confluence is not in there. Sad

--EDIT
Nevermind. Found it stashed @
/private/var/stash/Applications/XBMC.frappliance/XBMCData/XBMCHome/addons/skin.confluence/720p

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
Maraschino - Web based HTPC Organiser. Keep track of all your web based programs all in one place.
Home Page - Repo - Bug Tracker - Support Forum.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-29 08:22 by DejaVu.)
find quote
microcrackle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
WOW, this is amazing.
(This post was last modified: 2012-09-07 11:54 by microcrackle.)
find quote
sraue Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 900
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 14
Location: Switzerland, Solothurn
Post: #13
Jezz_X Wrote:actually openelec remove the xbmc splash screen in code last I looked

no its not removed, but completly reworked (the vga= "hack" should not be needed anymore)

greetings, Stephan

[Image: userbar-openelec-001.gif]
[Image: project_thin_badge.gif]
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #14
microcrackle Wrote:WOW, this is amazing.


Glad everyone likes it!

Hopefully I will have some time in the next few days to work on some more. I'll post them in the first thread so keep an eye out.Cool

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 917
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #15
hmm,

I turned off the splash screen through advancedsettings.xml (that worked)

and I put that line in home.xml of T!

I placed the mov in the main addon folder of T! (under the user folder, addons and skin.transparency)


I get no video Confused

Is there a specific spot where that line has to go in T!'s home.xml? (I put it right underneath <controls> )

or is the video supposed to be in a different location?

Btw, I am using 11b2 with T! on win 7

Thanks
find quote
Post Reply