XBMC 11.0 Eden: RC 2 available now

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 3.2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #31
jmarshall Wrote:Do you have the old settings file and can reproduce to help us out?


Yep. I'm sequentially copy and pasting stuff over:

But for some reason this just stops: (it's probably a skin thing).
http://pastebin.com/vWqmNiSi

I got most of my settings back. It goes wonky when I start trying to put in Neon stuff. So it's probably something with that. This'll work until final I guess :0

--

I had to drop my whole .xbmc folder since keyboard and remote didn't work either. :-\

---

Adding files back one by one.

Added back sources.xml - Works

Added back my advanced settings - No bueno. Comes up with a mouse on a black screen.

---

Even if I cut that down to nothing but the MySQL info, it doesn't work. As soon as I delete advanced setings, it's all happy again. So this is kind of a bigger deal breaker than just having to reenter all my info.

The difference between RC2 working and not working is this:
Code:
<advancedsettings>
    <videodatabase>
        <type>mysql</type>
        <host>10.0.0.50</host>
        <name>xbmc_video</name>
        <user>xbmc</user>
        <pass>xbmc</pass>
    </videodatabase>
</advancedsettings>

I'm giving up for tonight and netbooting my backup.

add mysql. nothing. delete mysql. hurray. I even went back and did a completely normal ./configure with nothing after it.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-05 09:43 by darkscout.)
find
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #32
And now it just locks up trying to browse through the Files view on my shared drive:

Code:
04:33:18 T:140508654692288   DEBUG: OnKey: return (f00d) pressed, action is Select
04:33:18 T:140508654692288   DEBUG: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory (nfs://server.local/tank/TV/)
04:33:18 T:140508654692288   DEBUG:   ParentPath = [sources://video/]
04:33:18 T:140508654692288   DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogBusy.xml) ------
04:33:18 T:140508654692288   DEBUG: Alloc resources: 0.01ms (0.01 ms skin load)
04:33:48 T:140508264740608   DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 140508264740608 terminating (autodelete)
04:33:48 T:140508273133312   DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 140508273133312 terminating (autodelete)
04:33:48 T:140508033636096   DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 140508033636096 terminating (autodelete)
04:42:46 T:140508033636096   DEBUG: Received request to serve unknown md5 'DeviceDescription.xml'

Is all the debug log shows. It's been stuck at 4:33 am now for 10 minutes. UI is completely non-responsive.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find
jmpa Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
My XBMC allways fail the search of the trackers name when i put a CD audio... I tried a lot of CDs, all without success.
find
Timse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Star  black fullscreen
Post: #34
when i try to watch a tv stream (live tv) in full screen, there is no video, but in the menu's i can see the video in the background.
any ideas what to do? i't happens in eden beta 3, rc1 and rc2. didn't try with beta 1 and 2
i'm on a win7 msi, i5 hm-55 chipset.

hope you will help, i'm new with xbmc..
find
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #35
So, gdb or anything else I could enable to help debug this because right now I'm just having startx launch xterm and playing my movies with mplayer (and so it's useless for the rest of my house).

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #36
If it's mysql stuff then yes, running XBMC from gdb might help, but the debug log should fairly clearly say what's going on anyway.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #37
jmarshall Wrote:If it's mysql stuff then yes, running XBMC from gdb might help, but the debug log should fairly clearly say what's going on anyway.

Nope, debug logging on it just locks up after the splashscreen. If I had the mouse turned on I get to see that playing around the screen.

Same goes for NFS file mode not responding. I'll hit enter to go to the share and it just stops. I woke up this morning thinking maybe it'd have fixed itself and the last messages were the ones I posted.

Unless there's a super, dump everything, debug mode I can turn on.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #38
Depending on the skin, at the splashscreen the mysql stuff will be trying to update is my guess. (Probably a corrupt table or somesuch). Checking in mysql itself might be an idea - you'll see xbmc_video60 which is empty (or close to it).

The debug log will clearly say this (assuming debug logging is on, ofcourse!) As you can't get into the GUI to enable it, you can enable it via advancedsettings.xml - <loglevel> - IIRC even debug logging off it'll still say something (LOGERROR's I think?)

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #39
I'm still on the stock Confluence since I just keep blowing away it every time. I'll try and make a new mysql database. But right now I can't even get to File mode after adding stuff.
---

Ok. I'm home. If ANYONE figures this one out. You win a bunch of prizes.

I'm running Debian Sid with everything updated. I did a './bootstrap;./configure;make -j 8; sudo checkinstall make install'. to generate a .deb.

Installed it.

Normally I have one of these 2 lines in my .xinitrc.
Code:
#exec /usr/local/bin/xbmc --standalone  >>/tmp/xbmc1  2>> /tmp/xbmc2 3>> /tmp/xbmc3
#exec /usr/local/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin

It currently boots to a black screen.

I added 'exec xterm'.

If I type in either of those commands [either to xterm on the computer or via ssh with DISPLAY exported] to launch xbmc, it locks up. Blackscreen nothing in the debug log and I have to kill it.

If I run 'gdb /usr/local/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin' then type 'r' to run it. Everything works just fine.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-06 02:51 by darkscout.)
find
darkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,145
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 12
Post: #40
Should I start a new topic for this? It is weird (and annoying) as a bug can get.

[Image: aeKO.jpeg]
Code:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `xbmc_%`.* TO 'xbmc'@'%';
IF you have a mysql problem, find one of the 4 dozen threads already open.
find
nero12 Offline
Donor
Posts: 164
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #41
"Lastly, we’re still a few days away from being ready for the next round of XBMCbuntu, but, as always, we’ll update you as soon as possible. Thanks for bearing with us! With your reports, we’re getting closer every day!"

what is this referred to ? i use XBMCbuntu...any new releases i just use the update command to update to latest xbmc.

What "next round" update is referred to?
find
VonMagnum Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #42
The overscan position issue is definitely fixed here on my AppleTV Gen1 units. I've upgraded both now to RC2.

Issues I've encountered so far in RC2 (may or may not be related to RC2 as some were found when I updated my movies database):

1> A few movies (I think around 3 out of 600) are not showing the "SD" logo when added to the database and show NO VIDEO when they are played in XBMC. They play fine with the AppleTV interface itself and are .M4V H264 files with stereo and Dolby 5.1 tracks.

Two I know for sure offhand were The Disney remastered version of the Black Hole (converted with Handbrake 0.9.3 and 867x368 resolution) and Pale Rider (Clint Eastwood) (862x368 also with Handbrake 0.9.3. Both were converted in the same month (weeks apart). Other than that, I'm not sure what else they have in common. Other movies were converted in the same batches and all are fine in AppleTV's own interface and iTunes. For example, Death Race (from 2008) has the exact same resolution and specs as The Black Hole and was converted the same day in the same batch. It works fine in XBMC.

Anyone else have this issue happen with some of your movies? I'm talking like 3 out of almost 700 movies so it's rare, but they do work fine in other programs.

2> Movies previously scanned into the database from an earlier XBMC version (at least as far back as Dharma, maybe earlier) show "2.0" for audio when they actually have both 5.1 and 2.0 (to be able to play on AppleTV's own interface), but if you "refresh" them in Eden, they then show "5.1" instead, which makes more sense.

Is there a way to "refresh" the entire list short of deleting the entire database and starting over? (i.e. I have lots of manually corrected title entries). Doing a startup "update" or manual scan for new titles or "cleanup" doesn't do the same thing as refresh, but I've only seen the "refresh" option on single movies when selected for more information.

3> It seemed like "Pictures" loaded many extra large photos incredibly fast compared to Dharma in previous beta versions. Sometimes they now seem to load as slow, if not slower than Dharma. The icon list definitely scrolls slower and seems to default to a much more expansive view to fit more on the screen at once so that may be why it scrolls slower, but that is the same as previous betas. I don't know if Eden might be doing some kind of updating or loading in the background that's only giving me the impression that it slowed down. I have Weather Plus working again one one unit and it does update a lot more information so it could be responsible for all I know.

4> One of my two Gen1 AppleTVs were updated through most of the recent betas to try them out and the other one was updated straight from Dharma with no betas in-between. The latter unit did not have Weather Plus installed by default like the other AppleTV and when I try to add it, I get an error notice that it failed to install with no other explanation given. I assume the one that does have it had something installed in a previous version that worked with the update whereas the straight Dharma to Eden RC2 install missed something somehow, but I don't know what.

5> Lyrics still don't work here on AppleTV. All my music files have lyrics already installed in the file itself as an ID Tag. As near as I can tell, the lyrics add-on doesn't read that but tries to look it up on some Internet site as a scraper and it mentions something about having some option activated in order to use it. I'm not sure what that is on the AppleTV. I don't know why it would have to look up anything when the files already have the lyrics embedded within them using proper IDTags. ITunes and even my IPod Touch can read and display them just fine.
find
dnairb Offline
Donor
Posts: 99
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #43
nero12 Wrote:"Lastly, we’re still a few days away from being ready for the next round of XBMCbuntu, but, as always, we’ll update you as soon as possible. Thanks for bearing with us! With your reports, we’re getting closer every day!"

what is this referred to ? i use XBMCbuntu...any new releases i just use the update command to update to latest xbmc.

What "next round" update is referred to?

This refers to the .iso file which can be burnt to a CD or used to create a USB stick to install XBMC Eden on a computer.
find
gobbledigook Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Timse Wrote:when i try to watch a tv stream (live tv) in full screen, there is no video, but in the menu's i can see the video in the background.
any ideas what to do? i't happens in eden beta 3, rc1 and rc2. didn't try with beta 1 and 2
i'm on a win7 msi, i5 hm-55 chipset.

hope you will help, i'm new with xbmc..

i've had this occasionally with beta 3? is the same for some video streams playbeck as well ie iplayer 4od - i just go to 'now playing' and it is there.

what skin do you use? what live tv? is it tvcatchup? i think the addon prob needs a little updating.
find
Oracy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
Has anyone found that after updating to RC2 that the audio would fail to initialize? It was working fine on beta 3, but something went awry with the release candidates.
find
Thread Closed