[RELEASE] Artist Slideshow 1.3.0 addon (with skin and addon integration)

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,058
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 22
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1156
NEW BETA AVAILABLE

v.1.6.8~beta3
- fix for crash when using smb path

Available from my beta repo channel at:

https://github.com/pkscout/repository.be...-1.0.2.zip

or via direct download from:

https://github.com/pkscout/repository.be...Ebeta3.zip
find quote
najibni Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #1157
hi,
How to toggle to music visualisation
only if no remote image from internet if found
while playing music
in transparency! skin

Huh NjB Sad
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1158
hi pkscout - since last nite, the addon constantly updates like every 15 mins.(via window notification). i just wanna bring to ur attention. is this an isolated problem w/ me? i just updated from AS 1.6.8 BETA1 to AS 1.6.8 beta3, but problem still persists. thanx for the addon.
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,058
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 22
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1159
(2014-07-27 23:20)alexp4re Wrote:  hi pkscout - since last nite, the addon constantly updates like every 15 mins.(via window notification). i just wanna bring to ur attention. is this an isolated problem w/ me? i just updated from AS 1.6.8 BETA1 to AS 1.6.8 beta3, but problem still persists. thanx for the addon.

I'm not seeing it here on my end (my Windows machine is set to update from my beta repo). I pushed 1.6.8 into the repo last night, so there is an update out there, and it sounds like your XBMC is trying to update and then failing. I'd try the following:

1- uninstall Artist Slideshow (don't worry, your settings and artwork will be preserved)
2- do a force refresh of my beta repo
3- reinstall Artist Slideshow

You should have 1 6.8 at that point. If you don't or you keep getting the update message, please enable debug logging and post a link to the log so I can take a look.
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1160
(2014-07-27 23:32)pkscout Wrote:  
(2014-07-27 23:20)alexp4re Wrote:  hi pkscout - since last nite, the addon constantly updates like every 15 mins.(via window notification). i just wanna bring to ur attention. is this an isolated problem w/ me? i just updated from AS 1.6.8 BETA1 to AS 1.6.8 beta3, but problem still persists. thanx for the addon.

I'm not seeing it here on my end (my Windows machine is set to update from my beta repo). I pushed 1.6.8 into the repo last night, so there is an update out there, and it sounds like your XBMC is trying to update and then failing. I'd try the following:

1- uninstall Artist Slideshow (don't worry, your settings and artwork will be preserved)
2- do a force refresh of my beta repo
3- reinstall Artist Slideshow

You should have 1 6.8 at that point. If you don't or you keep getting the update message, please enable debug logging and post a link to the log so I can take a look.

I was unable to uninstall the addon, bcuz xbmc didnt allow due to skins relying on it. i manually deleted the addon. installed ur repo w/ version 1.6.8, which did the trick. somehow the beta versions required updating, but it didn't go thru ergo the constants updates. THANKS for your help. it's a great addon!
find quote
pwriesnik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1161
Hey!

I'm on gotham 13.2 beta 3, trying to get this addon to work with local images. It works fine with remote images, but they are sometimes messed up (different artists with the same name get mixed up), that's why I want to use my locally stored extrafanart. I have all my images in folders as /media/Music/foo/extrafanart.
No matter what skin I am using, the extrafanart doesn't get displayed when selecting a Slideshow as background. Looking at the log-file, I get the error message

ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting foo/extrafanart

But both the directory and the images are there. Did I mess up any settings or is this a bug? As said, the message is always the same on different skins supporting artist slideshows.

Thanks in advance.
find quote
pwriesnik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1162
(2014-08-07 10:22)pwriesnik Wrote:  Hey!

I'm on gotham 13.2 beta 3, trying to get this addon to work with local images. It works fine with remote images, but they are sometimes messed up (different artists with the same name get mixed up), that's why I want to use my locally stored extrafanart. I have all my images in folders as /media/Music/foo/extrafanart.
No matter what skin I am using, the extrafanart doesn't get displayed when selecting a Slideshow as background. Looking at the log-file, I get the error message

ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting foo/extrafanart

But both the directory and the images are there. Did I mess up any settings or is this a bug? As said, the message is always the same on different skins supporting artist slideshows.

Thanks in advance.

Fixed, had set the wrong path in the addon-settings! Works like charm with local images only.
find quote
jo26 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1163
Hello, I have a problem with this add-on. When I choose "English" for "Preferred language for Artist Information", I have ONLY english information. So, for a french artist who doesn't have any english bio, I have no information. And when I choose "french", I have only informations when a french bio exists.
What I would like to have is a french bio when possible I am french), and the english one when it exists ans the french doesn't.
Is it possible ? I have Gotham installed whith confluence skin and Artist Slideshow 1.6.5.
I am nearly sure it was OK with xbmc 12
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,058
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 22
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1164
(2014-08-08 22:58)jo26 Wrote:  Hello, I have a problem with this add-on. When I choose "English" for "Preferred language for Artist Information", I have ONLY english information. So, for a french artist who doesn't have any english bio, I have no information. And when I choose "french", I have only informations when a french bio exists.
What I would like to have is a french bio when possible I am french), and the english one when it exists ans the french doesn't.
Is it possible ? I have Gotham installed whith confluence skin and Artist Slideshow 1.6.5.
I am nearly sure it was OK with xbmc 12

AS definitely doesn't do language fallback, and I don't think I've changed that code in any substantial way recently. I do see a way to use English as the fallback. I just need to think about whether to make that the default behavior or an option in the settings. If anyone else has thoughts about this, I'd be happy o hear them.
find quote
Ronny3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1165
Hello pkscout,

thanx for the v.1.6.8 this is a very good Version from "Artist Slideshow" with Bio for my Language. : Nod: : Blush:
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-10 19:44 by Ronny3.)
find quote
Ronny3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1166
Hello pkscout,
Today...i am become no Bio for my language...i don't understand this. Huh
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-12 19:09 by Ronny3.)
find quote
Ronny3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1167
Quote:options to download artist bio and other additional information from the audiodb.com with fallback to last.fm (skin must support display of this information)

Hello pkscout,

sorry... my english is not so good...have you a Version with another Way for my Language? Huh


options to download artist bio and other additional information from last.fm with fallback to the audiodb.com (skin must support display of this information)
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,058
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 22
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1168
NEW BETA AVAILABLE

v.1.6.9~beta1
- update to current requests module (requests2 depreciated)
- updated to v3 of fanart.tv API

Neither of these updates provides any new functionality, but both are needed to make sure AS keeps working as it has. Because the update requires a different Requests module, you MUST install this beta from my beta repo. If you don't you might not trigger the downloaded of the needed Requests module. Once this is shipped, the XBMC repo update process will make sure you get the right version of the Requests module, so those of you not using my beta channel don't need to worry.

I will be releasing another beta to add the option to use a personal fanart.tv API key. Getting a personal API key requires you create a login on their site, and here are the advantages to having a personal API key:

1- more current results (with a personal API key you get results that are 48 hours old versus 7 days without a personal key)
2- if you subscribe as a VIP member, with your personal API key you will get results that are only about 10 minutes old.

I would encourage everyone to consider donating to fanart.tv, theaudiodb.com, or htbackdrops.org. Without the images and information on these sites Artist Slideshow basically wouldn't exist.
(This post was last modified: Today 06:11 by pkscout.)
find quote
Post Reply