[RELEASE] Artist Slideshow 1.3.0 addon (with skin and addon integration)

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
KevinSartori Offline
Donor
Posts: 322
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 2
Location: Connecticut, USA
Post: #1171
Hey, Kyle.

Thanks for the quick update! I downloaded the ZIP file and had XBMC 13.2 (Windows 7 x64) install from ZIP. The new version of Artist Slideshow didn't work for me, so I started all over by manually deleting the script.artistslideshow folders in the Addons and Addon_data folders and then copying the contents of script.artistslideshow-1.6.9~beta2.zip over to the Addons folder. After I rebooted and enabled the new options, I played Janis Joplin and saw fanart and thumbnails. Everything looks good!

Well, almost. I tested two artists that I added images for over at Home Theater Backdrops, Jeff Tymoschuk and Jill Jones. Neither of these two artists have any other pics on htbackdrops.org or any at all on fanart.tv. When I played music by these two artists, the 1:1 thumbnails showed up (Jeff Tymoschuk at 340x340 and Jill Jones at 360x360), but the 16x9 fanart didn't show up. Jeff Tymoschuk has one at 1200x676 and Jill Jones has one at 841x473.

I'm not sure if this is by design or not. In the changelog above, you only mention artist thumbs, but not SD resolution fanart. But in the Artist Slideshow settings, the new option is called "download all images regardless of resolution," which sounds like it would include SD fanart.

I don't mean to look a gift horse in the mouth, but could SD fanart be included as well? Is that possible?

Thanks again!
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,067
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1172
(2014-08-24 23:25)KevinSartori Wrote:  Hey, Kyle.

Thanks for the quick update! I downloaded the ZIP file and had XBMC 13.2 (Windows 7 x64) install from ZIP. The new version of Artist Slideshow didn't work for me, so I started all over by manually deleting the script.artistslideshow folders in the Addons and Addon_data folders and then copying the contents of script.artistslideshow-1.6.9~beta2.zip over to the Addons folder. After I rebooted and enabled the new options, I played Janis Joplin and saw fanart and thumbnails. Everything looks good!

Well, almost. I tested two artists that I added images for over at Home Theater Backdrops, Jeff Tymoschuk and Jill Jones. Neither of these two artists have any other pics on htbackdrops.org or any at all on fanart.tv. When I played music by these two artists, the 1:1 thumbnails showed up (Jeff Tymoschuk at 340x340 and Jill Jones at 360x360), but the 16x9 fanart didn't show up. Jeff Tymoschuk has one at 1200x676 and Jill Jones has one at 841x473.

I'm not sure if this is by design or not. In the changelog above, you only mention artist thumbs, but not SD resolution fanart. But in the Artist Slideshow settings, the new option is called "download all images regardless of resolution," which sounds like it would include SD fanart.

I don't mean to look a gift horse in the mouth, but could SD fanart be included as well? Is that possible?

That was unintentional (this is why I do betas). htbackdrops categorizes images as 16x9, 1:1, or other. I hadn't realized there was an "other" category, so I wasn't asking for those images. I just posted 1.6.9~beta3 to my beta repo with that fix. I checked with Jeff Tymoschuk, and I get both images now when I select "download images regardless of resolution."

P.S. I forgot to mention one thing in my last post. Because AS doesn't age out the artist image list for two weeks, you probably need to delete the ArtistInformation folder in the user data/addon_data/script.artistslideshow folder if you want updated artist images immediately. Or at least the folder for the particular artist in question.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-25 00:03 by pkscout.)
find quote
KevinSartori Offline
Donor
Posts: 322
Joined: Dec 2003
Reputation: 2
Location: Connecticut, USA
Post: #1173
Excellent! That did it!

I never noticed the "Other" category at HT Backdrops! I've been uploading 16x9 ratio pics under the "Music Artist Backdrops (16:9)" category, but it turns out that any pics not specifically 1920x1080 or 1280x720 were re-categorized as "Other." Even resolutions in between (for example 1753x986) get re-categorized as "Other." FWIW, I took a look at the 1:1 pics I uploaded and 235x235 and up were accepted for "Music Artist Thumbnail (1:1)" but the next lowest resolution pic (193x193) and lower were all re-categorized as "Other." I bet the minimum resolution for "Music Artist Thumbnail (1:1)" is 200x200.

Thanks again, Kyle, for the request fulfillment and the quick fix! Now that's what I call service! Wink
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1174
(2014-07-27 23:32)pkscout Wrote:  
(2014-07-27 23:20)alexp4re Wrote:  hi pkscout - since last nite, the addon constantly updates like every 15 mins.(via window notification). i just wanna bring to ur attention. is this an isolated problem w/ me? i just updated from AS 1.6.8 BETA1 to AS 1.6.8 beta3, but problem still persists. thanx for the addon.

I'm not seeing it here on my end (my Windows machine is set to update from my beta repo). I pushed 1.6.8 into the repo last night, so there is an update out there, and it sounds like your XBMC is trying to update and then failing. I'd try the following:

1- uninstall Artist Slideshow (don't worry, your settings and artwork will be preserved)
2- do a force refresh of my beta repo
3- reinstall Artist Slideshow

You should have 1 6.8 at that point. If you don't or you keep getting the update message, please enable debug logging and post a link to the log so I can take a look.

addon updated itself to 1.6.9-beta3. now i'm gettin script error. just wanna bring this error to attention. is this a known problem w/ this update? will there be a fix? thanks.

win 7 x64, xbmc 13.2 gotham, aeon mq 5
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,067
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1175
(2014-08-25 05:15)alexp4re Wrote:  addon updated itself to 1.6.9-beta3. now i'm gettin script error. just wanna bring this error to attention. is this a known problem w/ this update? will there be a fix? thanks.

win 7 x64, xbmc 13.2 gotham, aeon mq 5

No errors on my development machines. Can't look into it if you don't post a debug log.
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1176
addon updated itself to 1.6.9-beta3. now i'm gettin script error. just wanna bring this error to attention. is this a known problem w/ this update? will there be a fix? thanks.

win 7 x64, xbmc 13.2 gotham, aeon mq 5
[/quote]

No errors on my development machines. Can't look into it if you don't post a debug log.
[/quote]

hi. i was only able able to get logs in 2 parts. here it is. thank you for looking.
http://pastebin.com/qSeLV83q
http://pastebin.com/CjSp7tzT
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,067
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1177
OK, I think I found it. The error only crops up in certain configurations, and neither of my development machines had the right group of settings. I just uploaded beta4, and it should fix that.
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1178
(2014-08-25 08:30)pkscout Wrote:  OK, I think I found it. The error only crops up in certain configurations, and neither of my development machines had the right group of settings. I just uploaded beta4, and it should fix that.

This update did the job. everything works fine again. i think it also fixed the karaoke synchronization problem that i was trying to work out w/ the developer of another addon. THANKS A LOT!!
find quote
GnFlala Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1179
i really do not understand. AS was working and now it is not. XBMC 13.2, amber skin. artists slideshow setting in amber enabled. Guess i have to provide logs also.

Can you give me a hint on how to capture logs?

Thanks in advance

Solved. There is some huge problem with CU LRC lyrics.
While this addon is installed (no matter if it is enabled or disabled) lyrics are showing on screen. Artist Slideshow only starts if i change skin to any other one, and then return back to amber.

If it will help you somehow, please tell me to reproduce this and send you some logs. (Also please tell me what and how to find the logs).

Again thank you for this great addon.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-26 14:54 by GnFlala.)
find quote
alexp4re Offline
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1180
(2014-08-26 14:00)GnFlala Wrote:  i really do not understand. AS was working and now it is not. XBMC 13.2, amber skin. artists slideshow setting in amber enabled. Guess i have to provide logs also.

Can you give me a hint on how to capture logs?

Thanks in advance

Solved. There is some huge problem with CU LRC lyrics.
While this addon is installed (no matter if it is enabled or disabled) lyrics are showing on screen. Artist Slideshow only starts if i change skin to any other one, and then return back to amber.

If it will help you somehow, please tell me to reproduce this and send you some logs. (Also please tell me what and how to find the logs).

Again thank you for this great addon.

i kno what u mean. i had same problem. was workin then wasn't. pkscout updated to beta3 gave me script error, bcuz of my config. settings he said. the recent update to beta4 fixed it for me.

if u want to provide log see here. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Log_file/Easy
i don't think u specifically stated what your problem was. pkscout needs to know & a full log in order to help you out.

as far as turning AS on or off, go to settings and disable or enable 'run service as.'

good luck.
find quote
GnFlala Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1181
(2014-08-26 15:31)alexp4re Wrote:  
(2014-08-26 14:00)GnFlala Wrote:  i really do not understand. AS was working and now it is not. XBMC 13.2, amber skin. artists slideshow setting in amber enabled. Guess i have to provide logs also.

Can you give me a hint on how to capture logs?

Thanks in advance

Solved. There is some huge problem with CU LRC lyrics.
While this addon is installed (no matter if it is enabled or disabled) lyrics are showing on screen. Artist Slideshow only starts if i change skin to any other one, and then return back to amber.

If it will help you somehow, please tell me to reproduce this and send you some logs. (Also please tell me what and how to find the logs).

Again thank you for this great addon.

i kno what u mean. i had same problem. was workin then wasn't. pkscout updated to beta3 gave me script error, bcuz of my config. settings he said. the recent update to beta4 fixed it for me.

if u want to provide log see here. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Log_file/Easy
i don't think u specifically stated what your problem was. pkscout needs to know & a full log in order to help you out.

as far as turning AS on or off, go to settings and disable or enable 'run service as.'

good luck.

Well the problem was that the addon was not working. I also have it tell me with text what is going on in the background (images downloading, artist images not found, etc.).
It was working (along with CU LRC Lyrics), then suddently it stopped. No text info to tell me what is going on or something.

That is the problem and that is what i said in the 1st post.

It is solved without CU RLC lyrics (keep a mark here that disabling, and stopping running as a service the Lyrics addon did not solve the problem). The solution was to uninstall completly CU LRC Lyrics, reload the skin or restart XBMC, and here you go Artists slideshow is working again.

I cannot explain it better. If the developer thinks that reproducing this problem and creating logs while this problem is active, i would be happy to do it, but i will not do it if he does not asks me to, since my problem is solved, a solution (well at least according to me has been posted, specially since i do not use Lyrics addon), and i do not find it productive to just send logs to a developer for no reason. Unless he asks for them and he wants to find something.

Anyway, thank for the great addon
find quote
keyboarder2k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1182
Hi,

the add-on workes well, but now I started using "tvtunes" on the skin "nebula". Everytime a theme starts playing, the artist slideshow notification is shown - even when "None" is selected in the addon settings.

XBMC: XBMCbuntu 13.2
Skin: Nebula
Hardware: Zotac ID41 (Intel Atom D525, nVidia ION, 4GB RAM, 60GB Intel 320 SSD)
Video/Sound: via HDMI and harman/kardon AVR-270 on Samsung UE46ES7090
Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate with Hama MCE profile
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,067
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #1183
(2014-08-26 17:36)keyboarder2k Wrote:  Hi,

the add-on workes well, but now I started using "tvtunes" on the skin "nebula". Everytime a theme starts playing, the artist slideshow notification is shown - even when "None" is selected in the addon settings.

This one I do need to see a debug log. Please make sure to also go into the AS settings and enable debug logging. When you send the log, please note the time around which you saw the behavior.
find quote
Post Reply