Automatic Subtitle Selection based on Audio Language?
Hello, I'm new to XBMC but haven't seen this idea/feature discussed anywhere yet:

Is there anyway in XBMC to dynamic select whether (or which) subtitles will display based on the language of the selected audio file?

For example, if I'm playing a movie from an MKV file with an english audio track, I don't want any subtitles to display (beyond forced subs, which XBMC supports). However if I'm playing a movie with a Japanese audio track, I want English subtitles automatically enabled if available. Is this possible today or with Eden?

The Windows DirectShow splitter LavSplitter has a very clever syntax for managing these subtitle selection scenarios in DirectShow players. It would be awesome to see something similar implemented as advancedsettings.xml options in XBMC.

Edit: Added a FeatureRequest ticket for this feature. Check it out here: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/12775 and comment on it if you are interested.
was there ever any feedback on this?
It's been added to the latest nightly builds, and will be there for v12 (Frodo) final.
Forced subtitles is maybe supported by XMBC but not in a .MKV container.

I am not able to force a certain subtitle to an audio track. If I am wrong it would be cool if somebody can tell how to do...

(2012-06-26, 09:12)moravec Wrote: Forced subtitles is maybe supported by XMBC but not in a .MKV container.

I am not able to force a certain subtitle to an audio track. If I am wrong it would be cool if somebody can tell how to do...
It does and works perfectly in my set-up.

First thing you might want to do is check that the 'forced' subs track has been correctly flagged - download mkvtoolnix (if you don't already have it) and open mkvmerge from the package, then mkvmerge\file\header editor and load your file. You can then check whether the file has the correct forced flag set - if not change it.