[WIP] PVR Client Addon for XBMC for EPG and full control of Dreambox and DBox2

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Votes - 4.47 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jdembski Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 12
Post: #676
(2012-10-22 18:30)gorgone Wrote:  here 0.3.4 build (with MVS2012)
KLICK

THX! I knew I forgot something Wink

VU+ / Enigma2 PVR Client: Documentation | Development | Discussion
find quote
Leatherface Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #677
(2012-10-22 17:17)PKOneTwo Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 17:06)Leatherface Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 05:21)ibramadhan Wrote:  I dint mean to correct anyone, but if im not mistaken the DM500s is an enigma 1 set top,
and this addon only suports enigma 2,
So No your DM500s is not supported by this addon.

+1 for Enigma 2 name change.
For Enigma1 boxes you can add a tuxbox share with tuxbox://root:dreambox@192.168.0.10 or something like that.

Just for FYI: tuxbox is not the same.
- no PVR
- Channel change doesn't work fast (or sometimes at all)
- no Channel Info / EPG or whatsoever
Ofcourse it's not the same but better than nothing.
The other option is running vtuner on the box and a linux computer with vtuner connected dm500s tuner so you will get a virtual tuner.
And after than install tvheadend and HTS PVR addon in XBMC and you will have PVR functionality.
That works for Enigma2 boxes also.
find quote
PKOneTwo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #678
(2012-10-22 20:31)Leatherface Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 17:17)PKOneTwo Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 17:06)Leatherface Wrote:  For Enigma1 boxes you can add a tuxbox share with tuxbox://root:dreambox@192.168.0.10 or something like that.

Just for FYI: tuxbox is not the same.
- no PVR
- Channel change doesn't work fast (or sometimes at all)
- no Channel Info / EPG or whatsoever
Ofcourse it's not the same but better than nothing.
The other option is running vtuner on the box and a linux computer with vtuner connected dm500s tuner so you will get a virtual tuner.
And after than install tvheadend and HTS PVR addon in XBMC and you will have PVR functionality.
That works for Enigma2 boxes also.

Yeah and the whole luxury of "just getting it to work" is gone. Plus i doubt (didn't try it) that the way you described (with virtual tuner) the whole XBMC (PVR, changing channels, EPG) will work flawless (at least not as fast as the direct way). And biggest plus: you would need a linux OS (most folks don't).

Anyway: i mentioned that, because maybe some folks don''t know that.

PS: if you ask me tuxbox is almost nothing, so no, it's not better than nothing.
With E1 changing channels doesn't work sometimes. And i don't think lot of folks are interested in just watching a stream, but the whole PVR, EPG experience itself. But that's just me.
find quote
gorgone Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #679
it would be nice to have a full reset for all downloadet stuff
es wäre schön ein full reset knopf zu haben der alles geladene löscht ohne es von hand tun zu müssen
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-23 03:45 by gorgone.)
find quote
Leatherface Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #680
(2012-10-22 23:14)PKOneTwo Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 20:31)Leatherface Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 17:17)PKOneTwo Wrote:  Just for FYI: tuxbox is not the same.
- no PVR
- Channel change doesn't work fast (or sometimes at all)
- no Channel Info / EPG or whatsoever
Ofcourse it's not the same but better than nothing.
The other option is running vtuner on the box and a linux computer with vtuner connected dm500s tuner so you will get a virtual tuner.
And after than install tvheadend and HTS PVR addon in XBMC and you will have PVR functionality.
That works for Enigma2 boxes also.

Yeah and the whole luxury of "just getting it to work" is gone. Plus i doubt (didn't try it) that the way you described (with virtual tuner) the whole XBMC (PVR, changing channels, EPG) will work flawless (at least not as fast as the direct way). And biggest plus: you would need a linux OS (most folks don't).

Anyway: i mentioned that, because maybe some folks don''t know that.

PS: if you ask me tuxbox is almost nothing, so no, it's not better than nothing.
With E1 changing channels doesn't work sometimes. And i don't think lot of folks are interested in just watching a stream, but the whole PVR, EPG experience itself. But that's just me.
vtuner works perfectly on a local network atleast but not so good over internet that's my experience but that's probably because i only have 100/10 connection it should work good with a 100/100 connection. With a search on google i found this discuission for example about it https://www.lonelycoder.com/redmine/boards/5/topics/117
It works even better because you will have working Teletext subtitles there and you can grab EPG from own sources etc because tvheadend will act as a backend for a tvcard.

About tuxbox client if the box have problems changing channel sometimes it's probably in your end and if you have that problem then a enigma1 pvr client will not make a miracle. if it can't change/open stream same thing will probably happen in Enigma1 PVR client also so it won't be a solution for that problem atleast.
But the other PVR functionality will ofcourse make things better.
But if you ask me someone else with a Enigma1 box should make a Enigma1 PVR.
jdembski only have a Enigma2 box and it's a lkot that need to be fixed first before trying to make anything else to work.Just leave this addon as a Enigma2 PVR addon. But for now vtuner + tvheadend is your only solution if tuxbox client isn't enough or buying a new box with Enigma2.
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-23 09:22 by Leatherface.)
find quote
daskamel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #681
hello

nice to hear that something happend with xbmc and pvr. can someone tell my something about the quality of the stream and the changeover time by channel changing.

thank you
find quote
PKOneTwo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #682
(2012-10-23 09:04)Leatherface Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 23:14)PKOneTwo Wrote:  
(2012-10-22 20:31)Leatherface Wrote:  Ofcourse it's not the same but better than nothing.
The other option is running vtuner on the box and a linux computer with vtuner connected dm500s tuner so you will get a virtual tuner.
And after than install tvheadend and HTS PVR addon in XBMC and you will have PVR functionality.
That works for Enigma2 boxes also.

Yeah and the whole luxury of "just getting it to work" is gone. Plus i doubt (didn't try it) that the way you described (with virtual tuner) the whole XBMC (PVR, changing channels, EPG) will work flawless (at least not as fast as the direct way). And biggest plus: you would need a linux OS (most folks don't).

Anyway: i mentioned that, because maybe some folks don''t know that.

PS: if you ask me tuxbox is almost nothing, so no, it's not better than nothing.
With E1 changing channels doesn't work sometimes. And i don't think lot of folks are interested in just watching a stream, but the whole PVR, EPG experience itself. But that's just me.
vtuner works perfectly on a local network atleast but not so good over internet that's my experience but that's probably because i only have 100/10 connection it should work good with a 100/100 connection. With a search on google i found this discuission for example about it https://www.lonelycoder.com/redmine/boards/5/topics/117
It works even better because you will have working Teletext subtitles there and you can grab EPG from own sources etc because tvheadend will act as a backend for a tvcard.

About tuxbox client if the box have problems changing channel sometimes it's probably in your end and if you have that problem then a enigma1 pvr client will not make a miracle. if it can't change/open stream same thing will probably happen in Enigma1 PVR client also so it won't be a solution for that problem atleast.
But the other PVR functionality will ofcourse make things better.
But if you ask me someone else with a Enigma1 box should make a Enigma1 PVR.
jdembski only have a Enigma2 box and it's a lkot that need to be fixed first before trying to make anything else to work.Just leave this addon as a Enigma2 PVR addon. But for now vtuner + tvheadend is your only solution if tuxbox client isn't enough or buying a new box with Enigma2.

That's the case. We are all waiting for XBMC getting to final and see how a E1 plugin can be made.
If you scroll back a bit you'll see already asked jedembski and he told us why it won't work with E1 and what is needed (it's no XML).
Concerning tubox: i think t will. I beliebe tuxbox funcationality built in xbmc or tuxbox plugin in E1 receiver (either one of them) doesn't work right.
Means: problem is there. But a plugin uses http interface, meaning: channel change is done as if ou would do it over http page of your box (thats works fast reliable and well).
Therefore: same thing would not happen with E1 PVR plugin!
Besides: as you mentioned earlier: vtuner ect. works on linux pc (so this only concerns a little amount of people) and i for myself am not a fan of 2 backends and virtual tuners: dind't work reliable enough and a lot more "complicated" than an "easy going just install plugin way". As i said, thats just my opinion.
find quote
jdembski Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 12
Post: #683
(2012-10-23 12:43)PKOneTwo Wrote:  Means: problem is there. But a plugin uses http interface, meaning: channel change is done as if ou would do it over http page of your box (thats works fast reliable and well).
Therefore: same thing would not happen with E1 PVR plugin!

Actually on enigma2 you have to issue a special command so that the enigma-box zaps to a channel. That's why I added the "Zap before channel switch"-option to the addon. If you only have a single tuner box then this is a really mandatory feature.

But I agree with you - a proper enigma1 PVR plugin would take care of this...

One question to all experts here: Are enigma1-boxes still sold out there? I thought enigma2 was already quite old...

VU+ / Enigma2 PVR Client: Documentation | Development | Discussion
find quote
jdembski Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 12
Post: #684
(2012-10-23 12:43)PKOneTwo Wrote:  If you scroll back a bit you'll see already asked jedembski and he told us why it won't work with E1 and what is needed (it's no XML).

Hmm, I just checked the TuxBox-Code within XBMC and was very surprised that it also parses the output from enigma1 boxes as XML. I then searched the internet again and found this (sorry, this is only in german):

http://wiki.tuxbox.org/wiki/Ehttp_api_do...Funktionen

So it looks like there is an XML interface after all!

Unfortunately, there are no real examples for these commands shown there:

- Fetching all timers: http://dbox/xml/timers
- Fetch the epg for the channel with the {service reference}: http://dbox/xml/serviceepg?ref={service reference}
- Boxinfo: http://dbox/xml/boxinfo
- Fetch all service: http://dbox/xml/services

And also there is no indication on what those functions to add, delete or change timers return on success / failure.

If you could sent me some examples then I could check whether I could clone this addon and amend the necessary parts in the code. But someone else would have to test this as I don't have any real enigma1 box to test this.

VU+ / Enigma2 PVR Client: Documentation | Development | Discussion
find quote
PKOneTwo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Jan 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #685
(2012-10-23 15:23)jdembski Wrote:  
(2012-10-23 12:43)PKOneTwo Wrote:  Means: problem is there. But a plugin uses http interface, meaning: channel change is done as if ou would do it over http page of your box (thats works fast reliable and well).
Therefore: same thing would not happen with E1 PVR plugin!

Actually on enigma2 you have to issue a special command so that the enigma-box zaps to a channel. That's why I added the "Zap before channel switch"-option to the addon. If you only have a single tuner box then this is a really mandatory feature.

But I agree with you - a proper enigma1 PVR plugin would take care of this...

One question to all experts here: Are enigma1-boxes still sold out there? I thought enigma2 was already quite old...

that's the issue with tuxbox in XBMC, it lacks the feature of zapping...
in my case i can quit start a channel, quit it, but when i start another channel: nothing, just busy

And to answer your question: let's say there are still a lot boxes like dm500s around (half of them orginal, the other half other manufacturers but clones) and thgey are till being sold (used ones and clones). and as far as i know you can still do a lot with E1 boxes like dm500s (except for the fact that you don't have HD)


(2012-10-23 15:48)jdembski Wrote:  
(2012-10-23 12:43)PKOneTwo Wrote:  If you scroll back a bit you'll see already asked jedembski and he told us why it won't work with E1 and what is needed (it's no XML).

Hmm, I just checked the TuxBox-Code within XBMC and was very surprised that it also parses the output from enigma1 boxes as XML. I then searched the internet again and found this (sorry, this is only in german):

http://wiki.tuxbox.org/wiki/Ehttp_api_do...Funktionen

So it looks like there is an XML interface after all!

Unfortunately, there are no real examples for these commands shown there:

- Fetching all timers: http://dbox/xml/timers
- Fetch the epg for the channel with the {service reference}: http://dbox/xml/serviceepg?ref={service reference}
- Boxinfo: http://dbox/xml/boxinfo
- Fetch all service: http://dbox/xml/services

And also there is no indication on what those functions to add, delete or change timers return on success / failure.

If you could sent me some examples then I could check whether I could clone this addon and amend the necessary parts in the code. But someone else would have to test this as I don't have any real enigma1 box to test this.

No problem, ich spreche auch deutsch (komme ja selbst aus DE) :-)
That was the thing: i thought (i remember you telling me this by yourself in another thread) that E1 boxes doesn't have XML interface.
So basiclly your saying that tuxbox should have XML output, that XBMC is apparently parsing, right?

If you manage to adapt the addon, i'll be glad to test it. Have an E1 box dm500s.
And compiling 1-2 times a day XBMC.

---------------
Question aside: does anyone know if all tuxbox plugins integrated (mostly as plugins) in E1 images are all the same or some light-derivates (perhaps without any XML feature)?!?
find quote
Leatherface Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #686
This addon need support for Teletext for example before thinking of supporting old boxes.
Someone with a Enigma1 box should take the code and make a Enigma1 version of it instead.
find quote
jdembski Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 12
Post: #687
(2012-10-24 00:35)Leatherface Wrote:  This addon need support for Teletext for example before thinking of supporting old boxes.
Someone with a Enigma1 box should take the code and make a Enigma1 version of it instead.

As the addon does not handle the demuxing (like VNSI or tvheadend), there is nothing I can do about it right now. Before implementing the demuxing, the addon would need to provide the raw mpeg-ts stream to XBMC instead of providing just the stream url. This is also needed for Timeshift support.

Unfortunately, all my tries to achieve this were unsuccessful. After changing the implementation so that it uses the "XBMC->ReadFile / XBMC->OpenFile"-addon-functions I can still watch Live-TV and Recordings, but seeking just doesn't work. Looks like the

XBMC->SeekFile
XBMC->GetFilePosition

functions that can be used from within the addon do not handle the http-stream well; they are working fine when being used on a "real" file. I'm wondering what's different to what the PVRManager is using when he is opening a recording from a strStreamURL, because seeking is working there for the http-stream.

If someone has the knowledge about this and can point me to the correct direction then this would be nice - otherwise then this is simply not going to happen anytime soon :/

Edit: If someone wants to have a look at my attempt: https://github.com/jdembski/xbmc-pvr-add...45862f5329

VU+ / Enigma2 PVR Client: Documentation | Development | Discussion
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-24 17:30 by jdembski.)
find quote
Leatherface Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #688
Explain for me why VLC can display subtitles with exatly same stream then?
The only thing you need to do is same thing as in VDR and HTS clients.
find quote
jdembski Offline
Fan
Posts: 501
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 12
Post: #689
(2012-10-24 20:58)Leatherface Wrote:  Explain for me why VLC can display subtitles with exatly same stream then?
The only thing you need to do is same thing as in VDR and HTS clients.

If you think it is so easy to "do the same" then please go ahead an do it. Patches are welcome.

VU+ / Enigma2 PVR Client: Documentation | Development | Discussion
find quote
Leatherface Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #690
Can take a look on it some day and see if i can do something.
Maybe you're right it needs some fixes in XBMC but i still think it's strange that VLC can handle same TS untouched streams without problem and after watching in the other plugins that supports Teletext they have added code to handle Teletext streams in the PVR addon what i can see.
Anyway i still think that you're doing a good job so keep doing that Smile
I see you're playing with tstest now i hope you get it working,
(This post was last modified: 2012-10-25 11:10 by Leatherface.)
find quote
Post Reply