Release: Mac OS X Statusbar App for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Exclamation  Release: Mac OS X Statusbar App for XBMC
Post: #1
Hi,

i wrote a little statusbar app for Mac OS X . I think a picture is worth a thousand words.

[Image: XBMC-Statusbar.png]

Features:
- Eden only
- Update and clean your video library after you pushed some files over the network or deleted some.
- Reboot, Suspend or Shutdown your System
- Wake on LAN your XBMC if you set it up.

This little app helped me a lot and i think there are some of you who need something like that, too.

Download:

Download XBMC-Statusbar
Quote:Setup:

Click on Preferences and enter your IP and Mac address (optional) from your XBMC.

On your XBMC:
In System/Settings/Network/Services activate Allow programs on this system to control XBMC for localhost access only and Allow programs on other systems to control XBMC for access from other computers as well.



I've no clue about licencing. If there's something wrong just tell me. I just wanted to share.

Sorry for my poor english. I hope you guys like it.

Greetings lenn1.

UPDATE:

Required:
Mac OS 10.5+

UPDATE:

+ 32&64 Bit Support

UPDATE:

+ Reboot Function added
+ smaller Icon option in preferences Menu
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-21 13:04 by lenn1.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,671
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
awesome
Wiped up a quick XBMC Wiki page for it. Feel free to change the page however you see fit: XBMC Statusbar

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-17 22:46 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #3
Thank you!

There are potentially a few bugs. I will fix them the next days.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #4
Neat - nice work Smile

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
T800 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,000
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #5
I like this idea.
Worth noting that it's 10.7 only.
Just tried it on my mac and it says it's 10.7 Lion only so it won't run on my 10.6.5.

Living Room i3 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 120GB SSD • HD 7750 • 2x TBS8922 tuners • Aeon Nox 4.0
Bedroom A6 3500 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 40GB SSD • HD 6550 • Aeon Nox 4.0
Servers unRAID server for Movies (22TB) • unRAID server for TV Shows/Music (11TB)
HTPC http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=99831
unRAID Server http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=106786
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #6
(2012-03-18 01:56)T800 Wrote:  I like this idea.
Worth noting that it's 10.7 only.
Just tried it on my mac and it says it's 10.7 Lion only so it won't run on my 10.6.5.

I will change that! - Thank you for your feedback!


EDIT:


Okay, i changed it to 10.5+. You should re-download it and try it.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-18 11:01 by lenn1.)
find quote
deanmv Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 877
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 10
Location: UK
Post: #7
Looking for something just like this! Will download it later when at home. Looks great though!

Set Up
Raspberry Pi running Raspbmc - XBMC 12.2
40" Samsung ES6800 LED Smart 3D 1080P TV
Onkyo HTS3405 5.1 DD True HD and DTS-HD Surround Sound
ReadyNAS Duo with 4TB (2 x 2TB X-RAID) Western Digital Caviar Green using NFS
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
Be careful ! - 2x click "Clean library" will freeze/crash your XBMC.

You have to wait until its done before you click again on it!

It's a XBMC Bug - i already sent it to the trac.
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #9
This is pretty sweet. Wish I could use it but I don't own a mac. Congrats anyway, it looks amazing.

Anyone want to build something similar for Windows or Linux? I could see this as a pretty sweet rainmeter skin (in windows).

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #10
I could do that for Windows, too.

But more like a this:
[Image: tray_icon.gif]

WOL was the biggest "problem" - I'll see what i can do for you, sir Wink
find quote
htpc guy Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,182
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 7
Location: Near St. Louis Mo
Post: #11
Great to hear.

I like to use Rainmeter on my desktop (just google if you don't know what it is). Any chance on leaving some hooks so I can do this with Rainmeter. That way the user can make a "Skin" that looks anyway they want.

How to use Git
| AMD Athlon II X3 Triple Core Processor 2.9 GHz |GIGABYTE GA-MA785GM-US2H Mobo 2GB DDR2 Ram | MSI N430GT |
| Logitec Harmony One Remote| 52" Sharp Aquos LED TV | Demon AVR-X1000 |
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #12
I startet a system tray application like the Mac app.
Just the code for wake on lan and an icon is missing.

What do you need for rainmeter? I'll not read the whole documentation for that.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-19 21:10 by lenn1.)
find quote
T800 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,000
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #13
(2012-03-18 10:51)lenn1 Wrote:  
(2012-03-18 01:56)T800 Wrote:  I like this idea.
Worth noting that it's 10.7 only.
Just tried it on my mac and it says it's 10.7 Lion only so it won't run on my 10.6.5.

I will change that! - Thank you for your feedback!


EDIT:


Okay, i changed it to 10.5+. You should re-download it and try it.

Tried again and this time it said it wasnt supported on this type of mac. Im trying on an old MacBookPro intel core duo 32bit.
I will try it on my imac or other MacBookPro tomorrow.

Living Room i3 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 120GB SSD • HD 7750 • 2x TBS8922 tuners • Aeon Nox 4.0
Bedroom A6 3500 • W7 Ultimate x64 • 40GB SSD • HD 6550 • Aeon Nox 4.0
Servers unRAID server for Movies (22TB) • unRAID server for TV Shows/Music (11TB)
HTPC http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=99831
unRAID Server http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=106786
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #14
(2012-03-20 01:46)T800 Wrote:  Tried again and this time it said it wasnt supported on this type of mac. Im trying on an old MacBookPro intel core duo 32bit.
I will try it on my imac or other MacBookPro tomorrow.

I changed it to 32&64 Bit. Just try it again Wink
find quote
piodio Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 1
Post: #15
+1

Thank you. I lIke it.
But icon is little big. There is not enouhg space on my 13" screen. Sad
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-20 10:42 by piodio.)
find quote
Post Reply