Release: Mac OS X Statusbar App for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pecinko Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,819
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 51
Location: Prague / Belgrade
Post: #16
Yup, just X or some icon instead of xbmc logo would be nicer, imho.

Many thanks for app!

My skins:

Amber
Quartz

find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #17
(2012-03-20 10:36)piodio Wrote:  +1

Thank you. I lIke it.
But icon is little big. There is not enouhg space on my 13" screen. Sad

Hehe, on my 27-inch there is enough space for a whole family of xbmc-statusbar apps Smile

I like the xbmc logo very much.

You could open the app-package (rightclick on the app and then show package contents (or something like that))

Then open
Contents/Resources

There are two files (xbmc-inv.png and xbmc.png)
If you're familiar with photoshop or any other graphic editor you can edit these icons. Wink


I did that with a few apps before. There was one with a red logo.. looks strange.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-20 12:01 by lenn1.)
find quote
piodio Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
(2012-03-20 12:00)lenn1 Wrote:  There are two files (xbmc-inv.png and xbmc.png)
If you're familiar with photoshop or any other graphic editor you can edit these icons. Wink

My status bar is always crowded.
OK, I just resized them with preview.app. Looks much better Smile
find quote
amirite Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #19
This is an awesome little app! It's already in my startup items.

What about adding a reboot function? I mean, there are hundreds of functions that would work wonderfully on this thing. But being able to reboot would be quite convenient.

Actually... What about adding a settings screen to this we we could add our OWN functionsConfused The XBMC commands are easy enough to find, and you could just add a bunch of fields to type in your own commands customized to your HTPC. A little complex, yes, but it would make this app infinitely useful! Just an idea.

Thanks for releasing this!
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #20
(2012-03-20 19:55)amirite Wrote:  This is an awesome little app! It's already in my startup items.

What about adding a reboot function? I mean, there are hundreds of functions that would work wonderfully on this thing. But being able to reboot would be quite convenient.

Actually... What about adding a settings screen to this we we could add our OWN functionsConfused The XBMC commands are easy enough to find, and you could just add a bunch of fields to type in your own commands customized to your HTPC. A little complex, yes, but it would make this app infinitely useful! Just an idea.

Thanks for releasing this!

Thank you!

Reboot function - done! Just re-download.

I'll think about the other part Wink

EDIT:

added a small-icon option in the preferences menu.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-20 21:00 by lenn1.)
find quote
mediumdry Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
(2012-03-20 20:22)lenn1 Wrote:  added a small-icon option in the preferences menu.

Thanks! If possible, could you make it just the X in the size of the big icon? It's a bit cluttered still.

I still have a few questions though. Does it work with IPv6? Does it also work if I change the http port and username/password?
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #22
(2012-03-21 11:13)mediumdry Wrote:  
(2012-03-20 20:22)lenn1 Wrote:  added a small-icon option in the preferences menu.

Thanks! If possible, could you make it just the X in the size of the big icon? It's a bit cluttered still.

I still have a few questions though. Does it work with IPv6? Does it also work if I change the http port and username/password?

Yes the small icon isn't a beauty..

No, it won't work with IPv6 - I can't even imagine why somebody would use that in a home network.

There is no traffic over http and no user/password. It communicates over tcp port 9090.
To answer your question: Yes it'll work if you change it.

see:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=JSON-RPC_API#TCP


EDIT:

changed small icon to an X
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-21 13:02 by lenn1.)
find quote
mediumdry Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
(2012-03-21 12:39)lenn1 Wrote:  No, it won't work with IPv6 - I can't even imagine why somebody would use that in a home network.
Simple.. it's the only way for me to address services by DNS name so that I can reach them from inside and outside my network. Unfortunately I have to NAT my internal network in IPv4, so I'd have to either boomerang route by going to my external v4 IP address or I'd have to use different names for services when I'm inside or outside my network or use twofaced DNS.

IPv6 let's me bypass all that and do things right. I can't wait until IPv6 is everywhere and I don't have to work around the silly kludges that let IPv4 remain.</offtopic> Smile

(2012-03-21 12:39)lenn1 Wrote:  changed small icon to an X
Great, thanks!
find quote
_moe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
you are a genius, I'm try this when I get home from work
find quote
drkhrse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #25
Thanks a bunch for this! Big Grin I took the time to make small icon images that look a bit nicer. http://i.imgur.com/4lrXX.png (small icon) and http://i.imgur.com/4NKkI.png (small icon inverse). The images are centered on the menu bar and should be sharper.

Screenshot:

[Image: 7FhuH.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-04 00:50 by drkhrse.)
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #26
really nice! I'll use that!

update:

done!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-04 15:06 by lenn1.)
find quote
drkhrse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #27
thanks lenn1. I also updated the larger xbmc images too. http://i.imgur.com/7S9hN.png [Image: 7S9hN.png] (big) and http://i.imgur.com/0Cgi6.png [Image: 0Cgi6.png] (big inverse)
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #28
nice, looks much better !

update:

new icons (from drkhrse)
find quote
bionicgeekgrrl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: West Mids, UK
Post: #29
Great. Looks nice with the small icon.

If you could add ability to change track/pause/play/rate when music is playing that'd be nice, save needing to use a remote when using the Macbook Pro.
find quote
lenn1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #30
ok, i have to look through the JSON-RPC dev pages to figure out if that's possible.

Play/Pause Next etc. is definetly possible.


UPDATE:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4407475/XBMC-Statusbar.zip

i added:
Play/Pause
Next
Previous
Stop

It's a really quick n dirty update, i didn't test it with audiofiles. The weather is way too nice to sit around the house!
I'll check your comments tonight.
[Image: XBMC-Statusbar2.png]

UPDATE:
ok it should work with audiofiles now.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4407475/XBMC-Statusbar.zip
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-03 14:30 by lenn1.)
find quote