Dependencies, 'damaged' etc

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,239
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #1
I've got a requires in my addon.xml:

Code:
<requires>
    <import addon="xbmc.python" version="2.0"/>
    <import addon="script.artistslideshow" version="1.3"/>
  </requires>

...I figured this would cause peoiple installing my add on to automatically get the script.artistslideshow (which is in the official repo), but it appears instead they just get a message saying my add on is 'damaged'...

Is that expected behaviour? Shouldn't it cause the artist slideshow add on to be downloaded automatically? Or if already installed, the version checked and a check for updates triggered if version is less than 1.3?

That seems logical to me....but I may be misunderstanding the way 'requires' works...

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,612
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #2
You tried version 1.3.0 ?

Ow and version 1.3.0 is ONLY availble for user running XBMC Eden11.0 RC1 and up.
They are using the Eden repo. The XBMC version before that were using the pre-Eden repo

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-18 04:26 by Martijn.)
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,239
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #3
Yeah it (my addon) works well with 1.3, that's not the issue - the issue is that as the author of Addon A that depends on Addon B, I want to be able to specify that Addon B version 1.3 is downloaded and that what I thought 'requires' would do - pull in the required dependencies on the user's system. But instead if they don't have it, or have an old version, it tells them my add on is damaged...which doesn't seem right to me...

My XBMC stuff:
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,612
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #4
I mean have you tried adding the zero behind 1.3?
1.3 -> 1.3.0

Could be that it breaks because of that. Normally dependency works exactly how you want it to work

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,239
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #5
Ah, sorry, I get it. Stupid me, no I haven't - I will, thanks!

My XBMC stuff:
find quote